We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth a return visit. However Pick your Room.”
Review of Stanyan Park Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Stanyan Park Hotel
Ranked #153 of 228 Hotels in San Francisco
GreenLeadersSilver level
Islesford, Maine
Level Contributor
148 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Worth a return visit. However Pick your Room.”
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Ask for a room n the 'Turret', ideally on the second (top) floor. More windows, space, comfort. It's worth the extra money. Breakfast is nothing to write home about. However there's a great coffee house just two blocks away. The hotel is across the street from the south end of Golden Gate Park. A wonderful leafy oasis.

Room Tip: Ask for a large room. In the 'Turret' if possible. Worth the extra money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank painter04646
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

197 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    33
    78
    46
    22
    18
See reviews for
42
69
16
37
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2014

Recently stayed in the "suite" here at a very high price (almost $400/night). It was way off of the main hotel. Felt like I was in a horror movie. Next to the room was a long dark staircase down into ???? When I opened the door it looked like a haunted house. It was large and clean but a little scary. Was waiting for the guy with a knife to jump out. Bars on the windows. NOT appealing. They also gave me a lot of misinformation at the front desk and weren't very helpful when I had trouble parking. By the way, there is NO parking here. That's a huge problem. Questionable people hanging out across the street at the entrance to Golden Gate Park and a nasty bar down the road.

Room Tip: Don't stay in the suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Christine W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these San Francisco hotels

Millis, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
115 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2014

Older hotel with Victorian look. Rooms are small and basic but have nice old fashioned flair to them. I've stayed here twice. Very close to Haight Ashbury district and right across the street from Golden Gate Park. Only negative was the shower plumbing. Hard to adjust to proper temperature. Besides that, Stanyan Park worked for me!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Skeets37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claremont, California
Level Contributor
31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014

Most of the hotels/motels in SF are tourist or business-oriented in SOMA, Union Square, Fisherman's Wharf, Nob Hill and along Lombard (Rt. 101 to the GG Bridge). The Stanyan Park is perfectly located for those of us who have family in residential neighborhoods near Cole Valley, UCSF Medical Center, Upper Haight, Twin Peaks, south side of Golden Gate Park. Saves on parking and taxis (even if you get one to arrive in timely manner). Contrary to other reports we have found it quiet and comfortable with a working elevator for all of the dozen sojourns over the past 5 years...Yes, a little dowdy, call it faded shabby chic Victorian. Very clean. Substantial continental-plus breakfast and, within walking distance of museums, Whole Foods, Academy of Science and Cole Valley's wonderful street scene with easy Muni access to Market Street and downtown San Francisco. It is NOT a marble palace...but an extremely convenient place to sleep and visit relatives....

Room Tip: Facing away from Stanyan Street has less street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Karenmac44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Encinitas, California
Level Contributor
128 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014

The Stanyan Park is a nice Victorian hotel located across the street from Golden Gate Park & at the end of Haight Street, so a great location for tourists. The rooms are small, minimally equipped and very clean. If you opt for a "deluxe" room, you are facing the street & with that you get noise & the chatter from the kids who call the park home. They've created a skateboard area right across the street from the hotel.
Recently the hotel added an afternoon tea & a wine & cheese happy hour to go with the already included "breakfast". Unfortunately these amenities are basic at best: Costco/ SAMs Club food & $2.50 bottles of wine (I saw it at the market across the street).
We go to San Francisco 4 times a year & this hotel is 3rd in our choice of hotels close to our sons house. If the others aren't available, we stay here. It's safe & clean, just don't expect top shelf amenities.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2014

By husband and I stayed at the Stanyan Park for 4 days and the elevator was out the whole time. We are in our 60's and in reasonably good shape but carrying heavy suitcases up 2 flights of stairs is not our idea of vacation. There was only 1 staff person, they could not leave the desk so we were on our own. No one offered to help and we were not offered any compensation on the room which was overpriced by anyone's standards(unless you live in SF or NY.) When the elevator is working, the Stanyan Park is an adequate place to stay close to Golden Gate Park but it could use some maintenance and repair. The breakfast is nothing fancy but quite nice for a "continental" breakfast. I actually WOULD stay here again --if the elevator was working and the price was right, but I'd look around first. I think there must be better choices.

Room Tip: Try to get something away from the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ddw99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
85 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2014

This has the potential to be a lovely, niche hotel. For us runners, it is superbly situated on the corner of Golden Gate Park. It is not their fault that this means it's the corner where all the homeless and hobos hang out, who can be noisy at night. It was kept beautifully clean, and the cleaner was very smiley and friendly which was in contrast to the other staff, who lacked any warmth or even in some cases the ability to smile and say good morning.

Our main beef was breakfast. Carbohydrate choices were mostly stale bagels, packaged waffles and pancakes, grape jelly that had run to liquid, cheerios and packets of processed and flavoured oatmeal. The 'hot' choice was terrible, bacon tasted like it had been cooked a week previously, the sausages were pink and completely unappetising, eggs were hard boiled and cold. One morning I saw two male guests come in pick up the silver covers, take one look and walk out the door..the healthiest option was the fresh fruit and of that there was plenty…If I had had the time I would have walked next door to Whole foods and brought my breakfast there…We will not be back.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JCroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Laurel Inn, a Joie de Vivre hote...
#106 of 228 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 443 reviews
Queen Anne Hotel
#82 of 228 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 626 reviews
The Richmond
Geary Parkway Motel
Geary Parkway Motel
#113 of 228 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 309 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Castro
Parker Guest House
Parker Guest House
#2 of 72 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 905 reviews
The Castro
Beck's Motor Lodge
Beck's Motor Lodge
#23 of 228 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 332 reviews
Rodeway Inn & Suites San Francis...
#158 of 228 in San Francisco
3.0 of 5 bubbles 121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stanyan Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stanyan Park Hotel

Property: Stanyan Park Hotel
Address: 750 Stanyan St, San Francisco, CA 94117-2725
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Francisco > Haight-Ashbury
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#46 Green Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Stanyan Park Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Evoline ltd, Agoda, Priceline and Cancelon so you can book your Stanyan Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stanyan Park San Francisco
Hotel Stanyan Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing