We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel and location”
Review of Stanyan Park Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Stanyan Park Hotel
Ranked #139 of 230 Hotels in San Francisco
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 8 August 2014

I stayed at the Stanyan Park Hotel several times over the last few months. With a family member in hospital at UCSF. I've been in two suites, which we shared with family members. Rooms with queen beds and their queen deluxe. There is lovely wine and cheese between 5 and 7. Their breakfast is better than a continental. The menu remains the same, and presentation is nice. Since all my stays there have been under difficult circumstances, it was comforting to find familiar faces and the property is close enough to UCSF to walk, though a taxi can be had for 6 bucks. Parking is not included, and that is clearly stated in their description. There is a parking lots across the street, for $20.00 a day and prorated on an hourly rate. I would not have a problem recommending the Stanyan. I was treated with respect and kindness when I needed it most. Staff was very gracious.

Room Tip: The rooms over looking Stanyan street are noisier. The other views I had were not the best, but I wa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank FrenchLinen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (227)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

106 - 112 of 227 reviews

Reviewed 5 August 2014

Ask for a room n the 'Turret', ideally on the second (top) floor. More windows, space, comfort. It's worth the extra money. Breakfast is nothing to write home about. However there's a great coffee house just two blocks away. The hotel is across the street from the south end of Golden Gate Park. A wonderful leafy oasis.

Room Tip: Ask for a large room. In the 'Turret' if possible. Worth the extra money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank painter04646
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2014

Recently stayed in the "suite" here at a very high price (almost $400/night). It was way off of the main hotel. Felt like I was in a horror movie. Next to the room was a long dark staircase down into ???? When I opened the door it looked like a haunted house. It was large and clean but a little scary. Was waiting for the guy with a knife to jump out. Bars on the windows. NOT appealing. They also gave me a lot of misinformation at the front desk and weren't very helpful when I had trouble parking. By the way, there is NO parking here. That's a huge problem. Questionable people hanging out across the street at the entrance to Golden Gate Park and a nasty bar down the road.

Room Tip: Don't stay in the suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
8  Thank Christine W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2014

Older hotel with Victorian look. Rooms are small and basic but have nice old fashioned flair to them. I've stayed here twice. Very close to Haight Ashbury district and right across the street from Golden Gate Park. Only negative was the shower plumbing. Hard to adjust to proper temperature. Besides that, Stanyan Park worked for me!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Skeets37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2014

Most of the hotels/motels in SF are tourist or business-oriented in SOMA, Union Square, Fisherman's Wharf, Nob Hill and along Lombard (Rt. 101 to the GG Bridge). The Stanyan Park is perfectly located for those of us who have family in residential neighborhoods near Cole Valley, UCSF Medical Center, Upper Haight, Twin Peaks, south side of Golden Gate Park. Saves on parking and taxis (even if you get one to arrive in timely manner). Contrary to other reports we have found it quiet and comfortable with a working elevator for all of the dozen sojourns over the past 5 years...Yes, a little dowdy, call it faded shabby chic Victorian. Very clean. Substantial continental-plus breakfast and, within walking distance of museums, Whole Foods, Academy of Science and Cole Valley's wonderful street scene with easy Muni access to Market Street and downtown San Francisco. It is NOT a marble palace...but an extremely convenient place to sleep and visit relatives....

Room Tip: Facing away from Stanyan Street has less street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Karenmac44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2014

The Stanyan Park is a nice Victorian hotel located across the street from Golden Gate Park & at the end of Haight Street, so a great location for tourists. The rooms are small, minimally equipped and very clean. If you opt for a "deluxe" room, you are facing the street & with that you get noise & the chatter from the kids who call the park home. They've created a skateboard area right across the street from the hotel.
Recently the hotel added an afternoon tea & a wine & cheese happy hour to go with the already included "breakfast". Unfortunately these amenities are basic at best: Costco/ SAMs Club food & $2.50 bottles of wine (I saw it at the market across the street).
We go to San Francisco 4 times a year & this hotel is 3rd in our choice of hotels close to our sons house. If the others aren't available, we stay here. It's safe & clean, just don't expect top shelf amenities.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2014

By husband and I stayed at the Stanyan Park for 4 days and the elevator was out the whole time. We are in our 60's and in reasonably good shape but carrying heavy suitcases up 2 flights of stairs is not our idea of vacation. There was only 1 staff person, they could not leave the desk so we were on our own. No one offered to help and we were not offered any compensation on the room which was overpriced by anyone's standards(unless you live in SF or NY.) When the elevator is working, the Stanyan Park is an adequate place to stay close to Golden Gate Park but it could use some maintenance and repair. The breakfast is nothing fancy but quite nice for a "continental" breakfast. I actually WOULD stay here again --if the elevator was working and the price was right, but I'd look around first. I think there must be better choices.

Room Tip: Try to get something away from the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank ddw99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Cova Hotel
#99 of 230 in San Francisco
1,199 reviews
Queen Anne Hotel
#83 of 230 in San Francisco
661 reviews
Hotel Vertigo
#68 of 230 in San Francisco
1,428 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Union Square
The Grant Hotel
The Grant Hotel
#131 of 230 in San Francisco
1,068 reviews
SeaScape Inn-A FairBridge Hotel
#179 of 230 in San Francisco
7 reviews
The Castro
Beck's Motor Lodge
Beck's Motor Lodge
#14 of 230 in San Francisco
443 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stanyan Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stanyan Park Hotel

Address: 750 Stanyan St, San Francisco, CA 94117-2725
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Francisco > Haight-Ashbury
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#46 Green Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range: £119 - £280 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Stanyan Park Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Stanyan Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stanyan Park San Francisco
Hotel Stanyan Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing