We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Stop!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Frjtz

Frjtz
Ranked #2,596 of 5,629 Restaurants in San Francisco
Price range: US$30 - US$30
Cuisines: American, Belgian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighbourhood: Mission District
Cross street: 17th St
Transit: 16th street Bart
Description: The taste of Benelux in the heart of the mission. Belgian frites with over 22 dipping sauces, 6 types of steamed mussels, amazing crepes, daring salads and succulent burgers, Frjtz is an amazing oasis of gastronomical comfort, great music, soothing art and an ambiance that will make you a disciple for years to come. A favorite place to bring your date, parents, children and your gay uncle. Oh yeah and we have a nice selection of Belgian beers in addition to delicious wine.
Rio de Janeiro
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good Stop!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 October 2013 via mobile

We had the lunch special and we got an honest and perfectly executed steak. Fair price, nice ambiance, cool decor and the most fun language lesson being played in the bathroom!!

Helpful?
Thank dianamartins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    18
    12
    6
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good food for a night out”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2013

This place is great for getting a warm up bite to eat on the way to the bars in the mission. The food is good and the atmosphere is similar enough to get you into the mood for going out. I had the burger with the fried egg on it and really recommend it. My girlfriend also very much enjoys the gluten free crepes

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank abhishekmukherg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winnipeg, Canada
Level Contributor
155 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“The bathroom alone is worth the trip”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2013

"Quirky" doesn't begin to describe this place. It's weird, but good weird.
The decor is as all over the place as is possible, there is a bed-type lounging area in front of the main window and the bathroom is a trip in itself. Super crazy decor and they were playing a "learn German" instructional tape inside the bathroom when I went. I imagine if you went to this place high it would frikkin blow your mind! :)
We didn't actually have any food here, only coffee, but the menu looks interesting. My wife had nutella hot chocolate. Fun.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank SammyNPaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
103 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“CLEAN UR OWN TABLE”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 November 2012

A co-worker and I decided to have a drink and light eating here.

Wasn't a busy time yet when we went here on a Wednesday evening.

Food looks all good. I had the burger and it was really tasty.

There mollusks were also delicious.

Only thing not good about this place, and it matters that it be mentioned, is that nobody even cleans the tables after someone leaves.

The table close to where we sat even had a beer spill but not one employee cleaned that table nor remove the plates etc.




    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank CASTRO_MAVERICK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
33 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Very nice!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 October 2012

For those who miss our dear departed Ti Couz creperie in this neighborhood, get on this one. Good crepes (chicken and mushroom, and another, the Claudel, with apple, cinnamon and whipped cream, were the ones we tried), killer sandwiches (the Sisley, with chicken, avocado, gorgonzola, cheddar, and pears, was great), and, of course, the fries (hence "frjtz"). We tried the chipotle dipping sauce and the yogurt peanut sauce (the chipotle was the better).

Nice guys behind the counter; nice Belgian beers on tap; interesting decor. Electronica wit more bounce to da ounce. Yes, it's hipster central, but my girlfriend said "I love it even though it's sort of trying too hard." A comfortable place to hang out, fine people, and good grub!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank SFAndrew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Frjtz also viewed

 

Been to Frjtz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing