We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Incredible property. Amazing Staff. Great Location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Stanford Court San Francisco
Ranked #50 of 228 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Michigan
Level Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Incredible property. Amazing Staff. Great Location”
Reviewed 11 June 2012

This was the last place we stayed on our 8 day trip to Napa/San Francisco. Prior to arriving I was a little concerned because I'd read some not so great reviews about this hotel. REST assured the concerns I had were completely nullified when we walked into the lobby and was greeted by the amazing staff. We arrived early in the morning and the person who helped us didn't have a room ready yet and said they had a special room they were waiting to have ready so if we wanted a room right away they would find one....we said we would wait and boy are we glad we did. We were put in an incredible room with views of the city and a huge tub and bathroom. The hotel is a historic building in San Francisco on Nob Hill and the rooms are all decorated in the style of when the hotel was originally a mansion. The history of the building is really great.

The concierge folks (all of them) are incredible. Great information and great help in getting around the city. We were there for the Cubs vs. Giants series. One tip we got from one of the bellmen was to go to Walgreens (down the street 2 block) and purchase a 3 day unlimited rides for $21 OR 7 day unlimited rides for $28. It allows you to take the trolley which stops right at the top of the hill outside the hotel going both ways (east/west and north/south). Each ride is $6 if you ride without the pass. It also gives you access to the MUNI which is the subway of sorts. It is NOT the BART that is a separate line. You are also able to ride the cable cars which run along fisherman's Wharf area. After walking up the hill to the hotel one time we invested in the passes and rode up the hill every time after that. :-)

The concierge lounge is great too, and the food and snacks good. It has a great view of the city.

YOU DO NOT need a car at this hotel. We returned our rental to the airport and took the BART back to the hotel and then took the transportation above. It was a fun way to get around the city, and once we figured out which way to turn when we got off we were good to go.

I was able to meet Scott the manager who happened to be from Michigan and had been there just a short time, and he was great. I made sure to tell him how great his staff is and how much we appreciated the hotel. I will certainly stay here again when we return to San Francisco.

The concierge arranged our transportation to the airport via shuttle and helped us get tickets to Alcatraz even though they were sold out. He helped us get into The Cheese Cake Factory when there was an hour wait, and they were there at every turn to help us navigate the city. I highly recommend this property and we WILL be back!

Room Tip: Any room has to be great at this hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HSRTheatre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,258 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,964
    1,467
    529
    186
    112
See reviews for
892
1,500
206
1,098
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (511)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
162 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2012 via mobile

I'm a frequent traveler and used points for this 6 night stay. Let's just say I'm glad I wasn't paying the asking $310/night rate for executive level. We were a family of 4 in one room, which was fairly spacious with two double (not queen) beds. Beds were comfortable but pillow choices limited to two. Flat screen TV was located to the far right of the room while beds faced forward creating the need to look to the right to watch TV. Odd! Also, the room had a small refrigerator plugged into what seemed to be a random plug right in the middle of the room. It was a ratty old mini frig and appeared to be left behind by the previous guest that perhaps requested it. Also, for this level of hotel, the bathroom shower was substandard. Its a shower in an old tub with HORRIBLE water pressure. The height of the shower head was ideal for anyone 5'4" and under. If you are tall and have long hair, you'll surely hate it!

I short, I would have left this hotel after the first night if I was paying for the room. Its a five star hotel with a 3 star room. Don't even waste your money for the executive lounge level. Beer and wine is charged on an honor system and the lounge is closed from Friday noon to Sunday evening.

In terms of location.....great views but be prepared for an arduous walk uphill every time you return to hotel or a $6 cable car ride or taxi.

Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank globegal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Level Contributor
34 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2012

Nice, large king bed room, faced California. Only noise was the cable cars, which we didn't mind. Inside the hotel was very quiet. Very comfortable bed. Hotel is on the top of the hill, great for using the cable cars, as all the lines come by the hotel. Good idea to get a cable car pass, or the walk would be tough. The staff is excellent, friendly, helpful. My only complaint is the charge for wireless in the room - ridiculous. It is available free in the common areas.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sfpaula
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Americus, Georgia
Level Contributor
78 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2012

Beautiful hotel with $46 overnight parking and somewhat off staff. No bathrobe in the $400 a night room. No turn down service, and in the AM (8:30) housekeeping let themselves into my room without announcing themselves. My room was exceptional, overlooking the iconic corner of Powell and California. I think, considering the status and prestiege of the hotel, and location, as well as the price, this hotel could do alot better. With excellent front desk staff like Scott Ober, they probably will. In house housekeeping and wait staff need a refresher course on Marriott Hotel service, however.

No issue with the noise at all.

Maybe use Hotels.com to reserve for a better price, because by the time you are finished paying all the hotel taxes, your bill will be $100 higher than the price the hotel quotes to you.

Room Tip: Maybe use Hotels.com to reserve for a better price, because by the time you are finished paying all...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank suspect309
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
59 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2012 via mobile

Great situation. The hotel staff are wonderful, welcoming and helpful. The room was lovely and clean with a sumptuous large bed. My only comment was that it was a little noisy street side with the cable cars passing from 6am ....but that's part of San Francisco's charm.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sbrown35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WHIPPANY
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2012

Overnight valet parking $55. Great view even from 2nd floor. Not extortionate mini (big) bar prices. Woken by 6am by the street car outside.

Room Tip: Get away from the streetcar
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank snowcarbuncleman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Rosa, California
Level Contributor
139 reviews
106 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 227 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2012

I stayed here for a conference a few months ago. I was really impressed with the size and style of the room. This hotel isn't showing its age like the Mark Hopkins next door. It's very close to the famous Tonga Room, so I highly recommend going there. Also, it's an easy downhill walk to Union Square. The conference rooms are downstairs (I think basement level). It was a nice place for a conference, but the in-house AV team totally screwed up the video projection for our conference when it came time to break the sessions into two smaller rooms after lunch. They spent 45 minutes and never got the projector on. Really unacceptable for the price companies pay for conference rooms and AV service technicians. I did also have trouble getting them to email me a receipt after I'd checked out.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lisa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Nob Hill
InterContinental Mark Hopkins San Francisco
Union Square
The Orchard Hotel
The Orchard Hotel
#12 of 228 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,722 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
#16 of 228 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,105 reviews
Financial District
Omni San Francisco Hotel
Omni San Francisco Hotel
#3 of 228 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,998 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stanford Court San Francisco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stanford Court San Francisco

Property: Stanford Court San Francisco
Address: 905 California Street, Nob Hill, San Francisco, CA 94108-2201 (Formerly Renaissance San Francisco Stanford Court Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Francisco > Nob Hill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#26 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#29 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#33 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#40 Family Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Stanford Court San Francisco 4*
Number of rooms: 393
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stanford Court San Francisco is fresh, fashionable and at the center of everything savvy visitors want to see and do. Enjoy sweeping views of the city, the bay and the majestic Golden Gate Bridge from our convenient location atop historic Nob Hill. Discover the best of San Francisco's charm and character while enjoying our contemporary boutique hotel as your home base.An ideal location, we are conveniently situated in Nob Hill close to premier shopping, dining, and attractions in Union Square. We are steps to the historic cable cars, a short walk to Chinatown, Fisherman's Wharf, Union Square and the Ferry Building.393 newly-renovated rooms and suites, offering cool, contemporary accommodations. Three cable car lines running directly in front of the hotel, waiting to whisk you to San Francisco’s hottest neighborhoods and landmarks ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Stanford Court San Francisco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance Stanford Court Hotel San Francisco
Renaissance Hotel San Francisco
Renaissance San Francisco
San Francisco Renaissance

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing