We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Stanford Court San Francisco
Nearby Hotels
Mystic Hotel(San Francisco)
US$195
US$155
MysticHotel.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$576
US$264
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Club Quarters Hotel in San Francisco(San Francisco)(Great Value!)
US$219
US$214
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hotel Rex San Francisco(San Francisco)(Great Value!)
US$202
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hilton Parc 55 San Francisco(San Francisco)(Great Value!)
US$246
US$219
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Courtyard by Marriott San Francisco Downtown(San Francisco)(Great Value!)
US$273
US$251
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
San Francisco Marriott Marquis(San Francisco)(Great Value!)
US$285
US$249
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
US$315
US$266
Westin.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Kimpton Sir Francis Drake Hotel(San Francisco)(Great Value!)
US$238
US$183
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$443
US$362
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (5,035)
Filter reviews
5,035 results
Traveller rating
2,208
1,706
667
269
185
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,208
1,706
667
269
185
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsnob hillgreat locationunion squarecable car linescalifornia streetgrace cathedralmark hopkinsshower headvery nice hotelbusiness tripbed was very comfortableenjoyed my stayfisherman's wharfvalet parkingthe financial districtfew blocksstreet noise
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
3,731 - 3,736 of 5,035 reviews
Reviewed 20 December 2013

Stayed two nights on recent business trip. First room was an "upgrade" corner room that faced cable cars, which are very loud and run from 5:30am to midnight - making it impossible to sleep. Second room had recently housed a smoking guest, although this was a "non-smoking" property.
Carpets worn and dirty. Work-out room didn't have water cups on either morning.
This experience cost me $800 for two nights. Would not stay here again.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mbase5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael B, General Manager at Stanford Court San Francisco, responded to this reviewResponded 26 December 2013

Thank you for you review. I apologize for the disturbance you encountered during your stay with the cable cars. Our exterior rooms, while offer stunning views of the city, are exposed to the bustle of the lively city -- many of our deluxe interior facing rooms are much quieter. We are investigating the smells you found in your room. The Stanford Court has a zero-tolerance smoking policy and will take the appropriate measures to prevent incidents such as these from happening again. Thank you for your valuable feedback. I hope you will give us the opportunity to serve you better in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 December 2013

The Stanford Court Hotel is situated at the top of Nob Hill in a central San Francisco location which is also very near one of the cable car lines. My group flew in and being without a car, we wondered if this would be an issue. The friendly doormen at the hotel were always able to get us a cab in minutes and the concierge was great in helping us hire a car and driver on a couple of occasions.
The staff were wonderful from the front desk to the housekeepers. We asked for robes and different pillows and these were immediately provided. Our rooms were quiet with the exception of a rowdy party next door once which, thankfully, did not last too late into the night. The studio rooms were clean, spacious and included a mini bar type refrigerator. My only issue was that there was only ice on one floor, the first floor. But this was a minor inconvenience and I would definitely stay at the Stanford Court Hotel again. This hotel is a bargain given its' great location.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cphillside
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael B, General Manager at Stanford Court San Francisco, responded to this reviewResponded 26 December 2013

Thank you for your kind comments of our staff. We are happy that you were so pleased with your stay. We look forward to serving you again in the near future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 December 2013

We spent two nights at the Stanford Court, in a well-appointed 7th floor King room with a wonderfully comfortable bed. The room darkening shades did their job for sleeping. There was a small refrigerator for water bottles that would have been better without the shelves so it would have been easier to use it for other food, but it was nice to have. The one cup coffee maker was great for heating up water for hot chocolate, tea, and coffee. No microwave. We had an outside room with a view of the cable cars at the Powell/California intersection below, which was very entertaining. No bother with noise since the cable cars stopped before bedtime. Within walking distance of Grace Cathedral, Chinatown, and Union Square.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lizq56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael B, General Manager at Stanford Court San Francisco, responded to this reviewResponded 26 December 2013

Thank you for your comments. I am so glad that you found the room and amenities to your liking. I hope that you will visit us again on your next trip to San Francisco!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 December 2013

Stayed one night for a Christmas party and was not disappointed. Premier view king room was amazing. Beautiful view of the city. Rooms facing the interior of the hotel are quieter but have no view. Noise from the street was not a problem for us. The room was excellent and the bed very comfortable. The walk back from Union Square is an uphill climb. Would definitely stay again.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the corner of California and Powell could be a bit noisy because of the cable cars, but we were on the 5th floor and the noise did not bother us. Rooms facing the courtyard are quieter but do not have the fabulous view we had.
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lvsurf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael B, General Manager at Stanford Court San Francisco, responded to this reviewResponded 26 December 2013

Thank you for your review! I can’t wait to welcome you back to the Stanford Court!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 December 2013

Very enjoyable stay! Room was spacious and view was awesome. Room was very quiet! The beds were very comfortable!! The staff was very helpful and accommodating. I would recommend this hotel to all my friends and co-workers.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pam B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael B, General Manager at Stanford Court San Francisco, responded to this reviewResponded 26 December 2013

Thank you for your comments! The staff will be pleased to hear your kind words. I hope to welcome you back to the Stanford Court soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews