We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good location, nice rooms and excellent Wi-Fi.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Stanford Court San Francisco

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Stanford Court San Francisco
Ranked #51 of 227 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Good location, nice rooms and excellent Wi-Fi.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2014

Had a very pleasant stay at the Stanford Court Hotel in San Francisco, it is located at the top of the hill, and so you can get to anywhere either by walking, taking a tram or hopping on a bus. The room was very clean, and nice and bright. The beds were comfortable, and the TV was a reasonable size. We had an inward-facing room, meaning that our view was of the courtyard, however this suited us just fine and there was no noise from outside. Also it should be noted that the wi-fi here really is excellent - very fast with great coverage throughout the hotel, wish more hotels were like this!
This isn't your standard business hotel, it is slightly quirky, which was refreshing, and the hotel is very non-intrusive which can be either a positive or negative depending on what you are wanting (although help is readily available should you need any).
The breakfast is a basic affair, with a selection of cereals and pastries available, although if you want something more substantial there are a variety of nice places to go nearby.
However, one thing I will say is that I didn't think the shower was good enough for a hotel in this price bracket - it was somewhat feeble and should have been much more powerful. For me that's the only thing stopping me giving this hotel a full 5 stars.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank James T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael B, General Manager at Stanford Court San Francisco, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
Thank you for your review. I’m glad that you enjoyed your room and our fast free wi-fi. Thank you for your feedback. I hope that you will visit us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,086 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,891
    1,413
    502
    176
    104
See reviews for
855
1,441
200
1,045
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (502)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2014

Todd was phenomenal.! The friendliest and knowledgeable about San Fran. He helped us with our boarding passes and where to go and knew everything!!!

He treated us like family and we will be back.

He even helped us find some apples for a late night snack. We loved it!!

Room Tip: coffee stand not as friendly
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kathymcsherry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael B, General Manager at Stanford Court San Francisco, responded to this review, 14 August 2014
Thank you for your great review! I’m thrilled that you found everything you needed to have an enjoyable trip at your home at the Stanford Court. I look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blenheim, New Zealand
Level Contributor
250 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2014

Wow - that's pretty much my starting statement. With my career I stay in lots of hotels, but not many of them ever come close to this. For this 5 night stay, my wife I decided to splash out and we're so glad we did.

This is a great hotel which is all about service. We upgraded to a top floor room with view of the harbour, it was big and well equipped. The restaurant is great for late evening desserts or a night cap.

It's well located at the crossing of three cable car lines, and an easy downhill walk to the ferry terminal, Union Square or North Point (the Italian part of the city). We bought a 3 day transit pass for $23 each which was very cost effective when one Cable Car ride is $6 - it made coming and going so easy.

The only note is that because the hotel is situated on the cable car lines and on top of Nob Hill, the outside rooms are quite noisy at night. If that bothers you, you might want to ask for a room facing the courtyard.

Really great place, and I'd love to stay there again if I'm ever back.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank andye10000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael B, General Manager at Stanford Court San Francisco, responded to this review, 14 August 2014
Thank you for your lovely review. I’m happy to hear that you had such a pleasant time during your stay with us. It was a pleasure to serve you. I hope welcome you back in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oceanside
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2014 via mobile

This hotel is in a great location, right across from the cable car stop. Service was excellent, the rooms were clean, although it needs updating, especially the bathrooms. Otherwise, it was a quiet and comfortable place to stay at!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank irenehuggins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael B, General Manager at Stanford Court San Francisco, responded to this review, 14 August 2014
Thank you for your kind review. I’m glad that you had a pleasant stay and I hope you will visit us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
155 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014 via mobile

Not your average business hotel--the Stanford Court is dated and dark, but the super-courteous and attentive staff and SPOTLESS housekeeping make it one of my faves--and I travel professionally! Do have a drink & a nosh in the bar--sooooo funky & fun!

Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Pam M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael B, General Manager at Stanford Court San Francisco, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Thank you for your super kind review. It is so great to hear about the work that our team is doing and the huge and positive impact it makes on our guests and their trips to San Francisco. I hope you will visit us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Antonio, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

First trip to San Francisco and my wife and I really enjoyed our stay at the Stanford Court. From the time we checked in, the staff made the trip very enjoyable. Steve at the front desk was very knowledgable and had great recommendations for places to go and visit as well as dinning options. Location was great in relation to surrounding attractions with enough ambiance and amenities to highly recommend a stay here when in San Francisco.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank texasj0hn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael B, General Manager at Stanford Court San Francisco, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Thank you for your wonderful review of your recent visit. Steve and the rest of the team would like to thank you for your kind words and we wish to welcome you back to the Stanford Court soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
boston,ma
Level Contributor
125 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2014

Located at the top of Nob Hill the location is close to lots of good restaurants, shopping, land marks and right next to the cable car line (noise did not bother us). We had a very comfortable , clean and large room with a great view of the city and bay. The room had a good size sitting area, large bathroom with seperate sink and dressing area. We stopped at the bar for drinks and apps, service was quick and efficient. The front desk and bellmen were all very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank linglingma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael B, General Manager at Stanford Court San Francisco, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Thank you for your review of the front desk and bell staff, they will be happy to hear of your kind comments. I’m glad that you enjoyed your room. Thank you for choosing the Stanford Court, and I hope you will think of us on your next visit to San Francisco.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Nob Hill
InterContinental Mark Hopkins San Francisco
Union Square
The Orchard Hotel
The Orchard Hotel
#11 of 227 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,678 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Financial District
Omni San Francisco Hotel
Omni San Francisco Hotel
#3 of 227 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,825 reviews
Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
#13 of 227 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,018 reviews
Nob Hill
Fairmont San Francisco
Fairmont San Francisco
#20 of 227 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,841 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stanford Court San Francisco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stanford Court San Francisco

Property: Stanford Court San Francisco
Address: 905 California Street, Nob Hill, San Francisco, CA 94108-2201 (Formerly Renaissance San Francisco Stanford Court Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Francisco > Nob Hill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#26 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#28 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#33 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#40 Family Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Stanford Court San Francisco 4*
Number of rooms: 393
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stanford Court San Francisco is fresh, fashionable and at the center of everything savvy visitors want to see and do. Enjoy sweeping views of the city, the bay and the majestic Golden Gate Bridge from our convenient location atop historic Nob Hill. Discover the best of San Francisco's charm and character while enjoying our contemporary boutique hotel as your home base.An ideal location, we are conveniently situated in Nob Hill close to premier shopping, dining, and attractions in Union Square. We are steps to the historic cable cars, a short walk to Chinatown, Fisherman's Wharf, Union Square and the Ferry Building.393 newly-renovated rooms and suites, offering cool, contemporary accommodations. Three cable car lines running directly in front of the hotel, waiting to whisk you to San Francisco’s hottest neighborhoods and landmarks ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline and TravelUp so you can book your Stanford Court San Francisco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance Stanford Court Hotel San Francisco
Renaissance Hotel San Francisco
Renaissance San Francisco
San Francisco Renaissance

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing