We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just for one night”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Stanford Court San Francisco
Ranked #60 of 229 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Los Angeles, California
Level 5 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Just for one night”
Reviewed 14 August 2005

I had stayed at the Omni the night before for two nights, and I have to say for a five star hotel the Renaissance Stanford Court needs some major updating. Our room was fairly small and outdated. For a five star hotel you would think they'd have newer furniture. I didn't like the fact that our room was so far away from the elevator, on the opposite side of the building facing the courtyard, not much view there! The bath was so-so, kind of on the small side. The closet was in the bathroom with the sink area, but the toilet and shower were in a separate room. There was an old TV by the sink which was old and dusty. (didn't bother to use it) There was two turn down service per day. No refrigerator in the room! and there was a charge for internet service per day. However, the concierge was friendly and helpful in planning our trip down to Hearst Castle, and he even booked it for us. Also, the good thing about the Stanford Court is its location, alot more closer to Union Square than the Omni, and three cable cars stop right at its corner. The loading area is inside the court of the hotel which makes loading and unloading very easy because you can park right there and not worry about traffic. The Stanford Court is on one of San Francisco's highest hills and walking down is fun but it is advised you take a cable car back up its 45 degree hills.
Overall, if you don't want to spend too much on a hotel and you like to shop then I would recommend staying here since its pretty close to the shopping area. But there are other hotels closer to the shopping district. If you dont want to pay the hotels outageous parking fee, I'd advise you to park a couple blocks down at the city parking garages for a fraction of the cost. One place is Saint Marys Parking garage on Califonia and Kearny St. for $6.50 on weekend nights.

  • Stayed August 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Dom D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,644 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,079
    1,604
    592
    230
    139
See reviews for
998
1,637
222
1,183
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (526)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 14 August 2005

We got a great deal through Priceline. The hotel is in a great area. It was only 1/2 block to catch the cable car and a few blocks from Union Square. The service in the hotel was impeccable. The bellmen were the best.......very professional and could not be more helpful. The rooms were average...nothing spectacular. At times it was a bit noisy....you could hear the bellmen's whistle early in the morning and the maid vacuuming. The room service menu was a bit pricey. I would definately stay there again because of the price and great service.

Stayed August 2005
Helpful?
2 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ventura, CA
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2005

A wonderful place for a romantic get-away. Don't bring your car. Take BART from SFO or OAK to the Embarcadero Station. Walk 1/2 block to the California Street cable car line. Take it to the top of the world's greatest view and, alas, the hotel is on your left. Great, attentive service. 12,000 restaurants, amazing walks and Giants baseball just a taxi or cable car ride away. I suggest the Cosmopolitan Cafe and Morton's for dinner.

Helpful?
3 Thank SPCTCC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Provo, ut
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2005

Typical 4 star hotel. I expected the hotel to be a bit closer to Union square. It is actuially on top of nob hill neat to the fairmont. Didn't think it was at all "worn" as some of the reviews say. I did notice a bit of noise. I could hear the doorman blow his whistle for a cab. 10 minute uphill walk from Powell BART station. Overall good stay

  • Stayed July 2005, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank pinsey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 25 July 2005

After reading some of the reviews on here I was a little worried about this hotel, but I got a great deal on Priceline. That said the hotel would have been worth the full price of $169 a night! The rooms were medium to large size with a good size all-marble bathroom.
The Stanford Court has excellent service professionals throught the hotel. From the Bellhops to the Concierge to the front desk staff everyone was extremely courtious and attentive.
The Sunday brunch at Fournou's Ovens was excellent. They have great cuisine and complimentary Mimosas. If you are there on a Sunday morning be sure and make reservations for the brunch.
One warning is the parking in this area of town is VERY expensive. It is $45 a night at the hotel which is the going rate at the hotels in the area. I found a deck about a block away for $27. Don't rent a car if you are staying in this area.
If you are looking for a great deal in San Francisco bid for Union Square West and four stars on Priceline.

  • Stayed July 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 4 July 2005

The lobby of the Stanford Court is beautiful - a nice place to hang out & get a feel of what San Fran used to feel like years in the past. After viewing the lobby I expected more grand things in our room and was disappointed. The room was fine - it was clean & nice but it smelled like an antique store; old. The hotel is definitely an older hotel in need of some upgrades. The bathroom looked like it'd last been renovated in the 1960's, but was otherwise clean.

What has room for improvement is the price of all the incidentals at this hotel. The drink prices in the lobby bar, the room service prices and the parking was highway robbery. Beware: They only offer valet parking (there's no self-parking available and according to the front desk, none nearby.) The only alternative is street parking, which is metered. I suppose if we'd have wanted to walk several blocks we could have found self-parking, but since we were in the City to go to the opera and a nice dinner we weren't exactly in walking attire. The total bill for one night of valet parking was $46.74 including tax. If we'd been told it was that much up front we could have found cheaper parking & taken BART or a quick taxi ride back to the hotel and saved money. I know San Fran isn't known for its inexpensive parking, but we felt almost $47/night was just a little much.

Overall, if The Stanford Court were to remodel its hotel it'd seem more reasonable to pay the high prices, but with its current condition we feel they’re a bit overpriced. It's worth noting that we paid a discounted rate for our room, otherwise if we'd have paid $200+ night we would have only given the hotel 1-star.

  • Stayed June 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, CA
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2005

After reading some of the reviews I was ready for the worst but was surprised by the wonderful place this Hotel really was. The staff was professional, very friendly and helpful. The view from the room was breathless. The area was very safe and a close walk to Union Square, Pier 39 and other great areas. This a very relaxing, quiet, classy Hotel and If you are a family with small children (under 12) this may not be the place for you. The Pier 39 area is more 'Family' friendly. But if you want a romantic time, either alone or with loved ones, I highly reccomend this Hotel. Be sure to ask for the Bay View if available. I was a Priceline customer and I vote 5 Stars for sure. This was a Priceline Jackpot and I will be returning to this Hotel on my next SF trip.

  • Stayed July 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Gordon_Giordano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Nob Hill
InterContinental Mark Hopkins San Francisco
Financial District
Club Quarters Hotel in San Francisco
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Union Square
Handlery Union Square Hotel
Handlery Union Square Hotel
#69 of 229 in San Francisco
3,962 reviews
Union Square
The Orchard Hotel
The Orchard Hotel
#15 of 229 in San Francisco
2,778 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stanford Court San Francisco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stanford Court San Francisco

Property: Stanford Court San Francisco
Address: 905 California Street, Nob Hill, San Francisco, CA 94108-2201 (Formerly Renaissance San Francisco Stanford Court Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Francisco > Nob Hill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#26 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#33 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#36 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#40 Family Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Stanford Court San Francisco 4*
Number of rooms: 393
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stanford Court San Francisco is fresh, fashionable and at the center of everything savvy visitors want to see and do. Enjoy sweeping views of the city, the bay and the majestic Golden Gate Bridge from our convenient location atop historic Nob Hill. Discover the best of San Francisco's charm and character while enjoying our contemporary boutique hotel as your home base.An ideal location, we are conveniently situated in Nob Hill close to premier shopping, dining, and attractions in Union Square. We are steps to the historic cable cars, a short walk to Chinatown, Fisherman's Wharf, Union Square and the Ferry Building.393 newly-renovated rooms and suites, offering cool, contemporary accommodations. Three cable car lines running directly in front of the hotel, waiting to whisk you to San Francisco’s hottest neighborhoods and landmarks ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Odigeo, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Stanford Court San Francisco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance Stanford Court Hotel San Francisco
Renaissance Hotel San Francisco
Renaissance San Francisco
San Francisco Renaissance

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing