We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice Concierge Lounge”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Stanford Court San Francisco
Ranked #50 of 227 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Minneapolis
Level Contributor
22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Nice Concierge Lounge”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2010

Like everyone has said, the location is great at teh intersection of two cable car lines. They sell 3 day cable car passes at the front desk for $20. The Concierge lounge on the sixth floor is recently redone and very nice. Turn down service was a nice touch. The lounge/restuarant mus have been redesigned recently and is great for the frequent traveler as there are nice little nooks to watch a game and have a drink. I would stay here again for the access to the cable cars...

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MNTrotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,172 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,932
    1,442
    512
    180
    106
See reviews for
874
1,470
204
1,072
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (508)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Albany, Oregon
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2010

This is a great location at the intersection of Powell and California which happens to intersect all 3 cable car lines. Very nice smaller hotel. WONDERFUL bed that is all down. Towel warmer, robes, free paper Mon-Fri, Very good shampoos, very clean and recently updated to modern sophisticated decor. This is the reason you stay in a nice hotel. I did not want to leave! Staff very friendly and always a hello and welcome back! Location up the hill was great. Used 3 day pass on the cable car to get around and did not have to walk at all. Lived in the bay area for the 1st 30 years of my life and love to visit and never rode on a cable car. It was blast and so convenient. Only crowed at ends of lines but getting on mid line is no problem. Location was much better than the wharf and Union Square Hotels which are more crowed and homeless riff-raff. This does not exist up the hill...Parking and restaurant are pricey but that is all SF. Had breakfast on Sunday at Aurea and was great and delicious. Had an early Mothers Day with my Mom who still lives in the bay area.SF is a great town to visit and will probably always be my favorite! Got a great price on Priceline and upgraded to view room for 20.00 a night. Never heard a cable car bell the whole 3 nights. NOT an issue!!

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fact150
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, MA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2010

My seven year old daughter and 14 year old daughter stayed with me for five nights at the Stanford, and a friend stayed down the hall from us for four nights. From the moment that we pulled into the hotel driveway, the staff could not have been nicer or more accommodating. We interacted with the valet several times, the front desk, room service, the business office (the only weak link), restaurant staff, housekeeping and the concierage. All outstanding. No issue with cleaniness, sound even in the outside room, hot water, etc. Great recommendation of a breakfast places two blocks away - Roxanne's, and nice complimentary car service within the city. Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gracemaeve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sacramento CA
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 March 2010

Good location. Rooms were not large but nicely appointed. Short walk to coffee shop for breakfast.Good staff .

Stayed February 2009, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank JM_sacramento
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newton
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2010

Fellow travlers. I have found the most quiet, elegant, service orientated hotel in San Francisco---a city known for its upscale hotels. I highly recommend the Renaissance Stanford Court hotel for the following reasons: 1) Breakfast. Why schlep out to start your day--only to stand in line the popular breakfast spots around town when the hotel's restaurant serves carafes of coffee and these wunderbar heavenly light, fluffy lemon souffle pancakes, drizzled with raspberry sauce. My waiter, Ramon is a true professional. He is not over or under you. He knows when to serve and clear. I wouls say service that is personable and professional. Oh, by the way. order the carrot juice. It's a change from blah, blah orange juice. Reason # 2 for loving this hotel----the sound of cable cars while lying in my bed at night. Pure romanticism. The beds are uber large with crisp, snow white clean linens. Reason #3) Mr. Chin. He is stationed in the lobby to assist in any way. His is a kind, gentle man.The Renaissance Stanford Court Hotel is a total, hands-on, service orientated hotel situated in a great location---at the crest of Nob Hill, on California Street. I walked to Grace Cathederal for their Sunday service. Inspirational. So if you are looking for a quiet upscale hotel in the heart of San Francisco, this seasoned traveler give the Renaissance Stanford Court "two thumbs up." Tell them Cape Cod Brendan ---a notable photographer, educator, writer, and artist sent you!

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Nightphotoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southeast USA
Level Contributor
156 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2010

Just an unhappy stay that ended with our switching hotels. Treated rudely by the front desk person at check-in, then again a little later by another. Then given a subpar room (Room 308) without apology. No drawers in the "access" room for clothes, the grout in shower was filthy, the shower tiles were broken, the plastic shower head cost about $5, the soap scum in the tub was layers thick. The reading lamp is knee high and the clothes get hung in the bathroom at 3 feet. And I paid above market rate. Plus I am a regular at Marriott - well no more. The bellman and concierge were terrific.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank RichardSoutheast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belgium
Level Contributor
30 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2010

Stayed 3 nights at the Stanford Court in August 2009. The Hotel is well Located on top of Nob Hill, at the crossing of two cable car lines. Had a room with no view, large enough, very good bed, very quiet at night. Efficient and quick room service.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alxon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Nob Hill
InterContinental Mark Hopkins San Francisco
Union Square
The Orchard Hotel
The Orchard Hotel
#11 of 227 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,700 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
#13 of 227 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,057 reviews
Financial District
Omni San Francisco Hotel
Omni San Francisco Hotel
#3 of 227 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,910 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stanford Court San Francisco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stanford Court San Francisco

Property: Stanford Court San Francisco
Address: 905 California Street, Nob Hill, San Francisco, CA 94108-2201 (Formerly Renaissance San Francisco Stanford Court Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Francisco > Nob Hill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#26 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#29 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#33 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#40 Family Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Stanford Court San Francisco 4*
Number of rooms: 393
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stanford Court San Francisco is fresh, fashionable and at the center of everything savvy visitors want to see and do. Enjoy sweeping views of the city, the bay and the majestic Golden Gate Bridge from our convenient location atop historic Nob Hill. Discover the best of San Francisco's charm and character while enjoying our contemporary boutique hotel as your home base.An ideal location, we are conveniently situated in Nob Hill close to premier shopping, dining, and attractions in Union Square. We are steps to the historic cable cars, a short walk to Chinatown, Fisherman's Wharf, Union Square and the Ferry Building.393 newly-renovated rooms and suites, offering cool, contemporary accommodations. Three cable car lines running directly in front of the hotel, waiting to whisk you to San Francisco’s hottest neighborhoods and landmarks ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Stanford Court San Francisco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance Stanford Court Hotel San Francisco
Renaissance Hotel San Francisco
Renaissance San Francisco
San Francisco Renaissance

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing