We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“For the price, pretty good”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Fitzgerald Hotel
Ranked #175 of 228 Hotels in San Francisco
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“For the price, pretty good”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 November 2011

The wildly varying reviews are quite interesting. I suspect it depends on your expectations and how much you paid. I think if I'd paid $219 per night I would be upset as well. However, I paid about $100 per night and was reasonably happy.

The room was very small with just enough room for the double bed and there was no storage space, but the hanging pole had enough room for my clothes for a few days. The bathroom was also small, but the facilities fine.

In general, the hotel seemed a little shabby and in need of some refurbishment, but this seemed typical of the area and for the price was not a problem (if you're expecting the Hilton, then you should expect Hilton prices). The location of the hotel is great - a few minutes walk to the major downtown shopping area and metro station. It is true that the seedier tenderloin is equally close, but you can avoid that and it seemed very safe despite being run down.

The only real gripe I have is the breakfast. They really need to work on this. The dining area in the basement is cramped and the food is basic. They provide some chopped up fruit and various breads and preserves, with coffee and fruit juice. It is really basic and needs better quality foodstuffs and presentation.

All in all, I'd happily stay there again at a reasonable price.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank GAlanS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

363 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    57
    105
    85
    58
    58
See reviews for
35
134
60
49
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 November 2011

We scored 3 nights here for $80 a night! Different to other reviews so needless to say we got a bargain.

My husband and I stayed here & yes the rooms are small & hot but the cleanliness of the room over ruled the size issue. We ended up sleeping with the window open & thankfully it was Nov so not a hot day at all.

The breakfast was very suitable, tea, coffee, fruit, juice, toast & bagels. Perfect start to the day.

Staff were friendly & spoke fluent English so I'm not sure what the problem was with other reviewers.

I have stayed in many different styles of accommodation and have travelled a lot and found no problems with this hotel.

Location was perfect! :)

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Koops31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 October 2011

We had booked to stay at the Dakota hotel (sister hotel next door) but we were moved to the Fitzgerald but it was no problem at all. Staff were friendly and check in was fine. Rooms are clean, but small and hot. We thought the hotel was a brilliant base to explore SF. However rooms have no wardrobe or storage space so at times it was a tight squeeze. Tv channels were very limited but the free internet in the rooms is great. Location is the best thing about this place, perfectly central for exploring all of SF. We walked everywhere, union sq is 5 mins, fishermans wharf 15 min walk, market st 5 min walk, really very central! Very safe and quiet at nights. The free breakfast was simple but a great way to start the day, a choice of breads, bagels, jam,s fruit, coffee, juice and tea. The hotel provide a hotel shuttle which is very cheap and operates every 30 minutes. I would definitely stay again if on a budget, thank you for a great week.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dean C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 September 2011

We arrived at the Dakota hotel (sister hotel next door) and were moved to the Fitzgerald (no idea why). Check in was easy and staff welcoming. Rooms are clean, VERY small and hot but fine for a base to explore the city. No wardrobe and barely any storage space so bare this in mind. Tv only has 12 channels but wifi is brilliant. Location is amazing, central to everything, safe area and quiet at nights. Free breakfast is great, simple bagels, fruit, coffee but a cheap and yummy way to start the day. We took the airport shuttle to the airport and is only $9 and runs every 30 minutes. I thought it was a little pricey for the space and amenities but the location is worth it and nowhere is cheap in San Francisco! I would definitely stay again if on a budget.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jenvive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
36 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 September 2011

I stayed at this hotel while at a conference at Moscone Centre. The location was great and it was a relatively short walk (~10mins) to the conference.
The room was small and near to the stairs and elevator so was quite noisy. I had to use earplugs to get any rest as the walls were quite thin. They are trying to be a trendy boutique-style hotel, but don't quite get there. It was clean, but not great and the furnishings, carpets and bedding looked like they were harbouring years of dust and dirt.
I stayed for four nights and they required full payment upon arrival, which is unusual. I had to email later to ask for a detailed receipt as they did not provide one upon check-out. I definitely wouldn't stay there again on business, but would perhaps stay there if necessary for personal travel.

Room Tip: Try to avoid the being near the stairs or elevator
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Beth604
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these San Francisco hotels

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 September 2011

I'm well used to staying in hostels around the world - being flexible and used to sharing space. But this place tested my patience and ability to adapt. Its a great location no doubt about that, near to Union Square and a choice of transport options, you can easily explore central SF from here. BUT its not a reasonable budget option - I'd rather stay in a hostel where I know where I stand and what to expect. We had bad luck, put in a room designed to have disabled access which meant it was right behind reception on the ground floor - not so handy at 4am when the latest lot of backpackers come in, chatting away. The decor leaves something to be desired and our windows were directly on to the street. It was clean but not exceptionally clean. Breakfast was served in the basement, an assortment of jams, marmalade, nutella and bagels. At least it was included and was filling.

Overall I couldn't recommend this to anyone. I'm convinced there are better options out there.

Room Tip: Don't get the ominously titled Room 101, ground floor right by reception with windows directly o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank amyreist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth, New Hampshire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2011

I read the reviews here and decided I'd give the Fitzgerald a try - despite some rather bad reviews there seemed to be some good ones too. When in SF on business I generally stay down on Geary or O'Farrell but all the places I generally stay were full. It turns out I'm glad they were as I enjoyed my stay at the Fitzgerald.

Location: It's close to Union Square and Market Street, but being up on Post Street is far enough away, by a block uphill, to avoid the real touristy traffic. It's also nice because you stand on the sidewalk on Post and not be bothered every few minutes by the panhandlers. The street also has kind of nice feel to it. Little restaurants, lots of young people, a couple hostels in the immediate vicinity.

Room: My room was great for just me. I booked one of the largest rooms available so it was big enough but I could tell that some of the rooms in the hotel are extremely small so keep that in mind. It was clean. Nice old heavy wood furniture. Comfortable bed.

Staff: Staff was friendly, very pleasant and helpful.

Other guests: A mixed bag. Lots of younger folks, many from Europe. No big noisy partying or anything though.

I really liked the little wine bar in the lobby. Very nice place, excellent selection of wines and little plates of food like cheese and charcuterie.

So - it's not fancy but it's nice. Most of the rooms are tiny but for the price it's doable. Great location. Great for younger or budget travelers. It ain't the Ritz, but that's not what I was looking for. If you fell the same way you'll enjoy your stay here.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank crsofa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Union Square
The Herbert Hotel
The Herbert Hotel
#80 of 228 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,284 reviews
Union Square
Touchstone Hotel - City Center
Touchstone Hotel - City Center
#139 of 228 in San Francisco
3.5 of 5 bubbles 376 reviews
Union Square
Post Hotel
Post Hotel
#167 of 228 in San Francisco
3.0 of 5 bubbles 140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Music City Hotel
#124 of 228 in San Francisco
3.5 of 5 bubbles 359 reviews
Union Square
Hotel Beresford
Hotel Beresford
#138 of 228 in San Francisco
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,103 reviews
Chinatown
Grant Plaza Hotel
Grant Plaza Hotel
#151 of 228 in San Francisco
3.0 of 5 bubbles 818 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Fitzgerald Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Fitzgerald Hotel

Property: The Fitzgerald Hotel
Address: 620 Post St, San Francisco, CA 94109-8222 (Formerly Fitzgerald Hotel Union Square)
Region: United States > California > San Francisco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #175 of 228 Hotels in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — The Fitzgerald Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 49
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotel.de, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Fitzgerald Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fitzgerald Hotel San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing