We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dumpy old hotel!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Fitzgerald Hotel
Ranked #170 of 230 Hotels in San Francisco
Reviewed 4 April 2014

Room was small no place to put anything. It was expensive. The bathroom was tiny, like old cruise ship bathrooms. Matress was lumpy. This was a place
I would not stay a second time. There is nothing luxury about this place but the price

Room Tip: don't stay there
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank lindysu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ilaria L, Manager at The Fitzgerald Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2014

Dear Lindysu,

we apologize you felt the room did not meet your expectations. From your review, I guess you have booked a Petite Double, which is, indeed, a small room as the name says and as it is indicated on our website, where we provide full measurement of the room. The price we offer for our Petites Doubles is below standard San Francisco downtown hotel rooms for reasons concerning the room size. We will, however, check upon upon the mattresses, and make sure that no lumpy one are left in our rooms: thank you for that.
Thank you for staying with us , and we do apologize if this has not been the best experience, and we sincerely hope it did not affect your overall vacation.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (393)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

140 - 146 of 393 reviews

Reviewed 18 March 2014

Do not trust what you read on the hotel's website. This is emphatically NOT a "luxury, boutique" hotel. It is not artful, luxurious, or intimate as the website claims. It is a poorly maintained, mediocre hotel. Tiny cramped lobby; tiny, ancient, slow elevator barely big enough for two people and one piece of luggage each. Cramped room, so small the door to the bathroom only opened half way before it hit one of the two double beds. Old, cheap furnishings (my wife said it was reminiscent of the furnishings she had in her first apartment after college). The mattress was so hard we had to put the comforter under the bottom bed sheet to try to add some softness. Like sleeping on lightly padded plywood. Bathroom had stained grout on the tile, mold in the corners, stains on the mirror, dysfunctional shower head... (I have submitted pictures to document the poor quality and maintenance of the room.) And this was a better room than the first one they put us in. The original room was blazingly hot and the only window for ventilation opened onto a noisy street. At our request, they moved us to the third floor on the back side of the hotel. Three friends of ours got a room here, too, and they complained about the heat and noise. The hotel's breakfast consisted of a bunch of loaves of bread, a toaster, peanut butter and jam, and coffee and tea. There was a small refrigerator and microwave in the room, fortunately. I can only recommend this hotel if you can get a room for $100/night or less and you don't really care about quality or comfort. It's only asset is location. They do have a nice wine bar.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from Post Street if you are sensitive to street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Paul H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ilaria L, Manager at The Fitzgerald Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 March 2014

Dear Paul H,
we are sorry you did not have a good experience at the FItzgerald Hotel. As you have mentioned in your review, boutique hotels have usually a particular style which is different from city to city, and that varies from one boutique hotel to another: the Fitzgerald hotel does have its own unique style, which is a classic post-Victorian San Francisco one, with a furnishing and an elevator that are meant to recall that time. We understand that some customers may not like it, but that is also what makes the Fitzgerald hotel different from the others. Also, since we are downtown, there is nothing much we can do about the noise, but we will follow up on your suggestion and try to see whether we can do some work to better isolate the building from street noise. With respect to the poor maintenance, I have printed out your review and passed it on to our staff who is already working on fixing the issues you were mentioning: thank you very much for that. We hope your experience won't prevent you from staying again with us next time you are in San Francisco, and until then we will work to make sure that most of the issues you have found will be resolved. Thank you again for staying with us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2014 via mobile

The location is central and by SF standards, it isn't outrageously expensive. But the clientele is international, arriving at all hours. The 3pm check-in is inconvenient for people arriving from the other side of the world at 5am--especially when the hotel has been notified.

Yes, there is wifi. But every gay site is blocked as "pornographic". And this is San Francisco! As an adult, I do not need this kind of Puritan censorship.

I'll go elsewhere in future. This is not thR best in American hospitality.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nipsco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ilaria L, Manager at The Fitzgerald Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 March 2014

Dear Nipsco,
we are sorry to hear you were not satisfied with your stay at the Fitzgerald. We try to do our best to excel in customer service, but sometimes there is nothing one can do to avoid some inconveniences: check-ins start from 2pm as it is written in each guest's confirmation email; we do receive requests from customers who would like to check-in earlier, and that is no problem if we do have a room clean at the time of their arrival. However, if the hotel is full from the previous night, then those rooms need to be clean, and since check-out is 12pm, rooms get cleaned between 12 and 2 pm. We apologize again if that caused problems. We understand guests are coming from all parts of the world, and travelling can be very tiring! Also, there is currently no blocks on gay websites, only one for adult ones: we have a lot of families coming around and we try our best to keep our internet as safe as possible. We are sorry you felt censored, our views are as liberal as the rest of the people in San Francisco.
If you ever feel like giving us another chance, feel free to come! This time we will make sure that everything is as you are expecting it to be! Thank you for staying with us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2014

We stayed here while on our first trip to San Francisco and greatly enjoyed our stay. The hotel staff are very nice and answered all our questions about the area; if you have any questions ask Eric, he was epic! It was in a perfect location, especially considering the price. Would recommend to friends and plan on coming back!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank StevenR1337
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2014

We spent there 9 nights. The location is excellent. Good value for your money. The rooms are small but cozy. The breakfast becomes boring after a while, so find a place nearby. Hotel stuff members are great.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Peter H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2014

Several times a year, my husband and I spend 3 to 4 days in San Francisco and we always return to the Fitzgerald Hotel. It's a charming European style boutique hotel in a great location with the added bonus of breakfast included and best of all, a history of excellent room rates and guest services. That said, this past Christmas season I almost broke tradition and went with a different area hotel due to a price increase that no longer made it competitive, an idea that honestly made us a little sad as this truly is a home away from home. Decided to call the Fitzgerald one more time and was so glad I did. The ever gracious and professional Marina who always remembers us was able to offer us a terrific room at a repeat customer rate. Once there, Marina greeted us with sincere joy even inviting me to sample some treats from the staff Christmas party. Such a personal touch in a city where so many hospitality professionals seem to think it is their duty to be uber cool snobs, made me wonder why I had even entertained the thought of staying somewhere else where we'd be just another face contributing to the San Francisco visitor economy. I am planning a trip to the City in a few weeks and we will definitely stay at the Fitzgerald where we will look forward to Marina's ever warm welcome and attentiveness during our stay. In the competitive hospitality industry, one person really can make a difference.

Room Tip: I have never stayed in a "bad" room at this hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DNJarvis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ilaria L, Manager at The Fitzgerald Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 March 2014

Dear DNJarvis,

thank you very much for coming back to our boutique hotel. We are glad you enjoyed your stay every time, and glad to know our staff was able to give you another good experience. We agree with you that being professional is not the only quality that makes a good service, and that there is nothing like feeling welcomed when you step into a hotel, and being recognized when you come back! Thank you again. Marina will be very happy about your thoughts, and we do feel very proud to have her on our team!

Best,

Ilaria

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2014

Traveling through San Francisco, California and staying at the Fitzgerald Hotel on Post Street, two blocks from Union Square, I stayed in Room 501 on the fifth floor and checked out on February 7th, 2014

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kengoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Union Square
Union Square Plaza Hotel
Union Square Plaza Hotel
#187 of 230 in San Francisco
530 reviews
Marina District
Days Inn San Francisco - Lombard
Days Inn San Francisco - Lombard
#134 of 230 in San Francisco
664 reviews
Union Square
Post Hotel
Post Hotel
#191 of 230 in San Francisco
154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Music City Hotel
#116 of 230 in San Francisco
420 reviews
Chinatown
Grant Plaza Hotel
Grant Plaza Hotel
#164 of 230 in San Francisco
876 reviews
SoMa
San Francisco Inn
San Francisco Inn
#145 of 230 in San Francisco
153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Fitzgerald Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Fitzgerald Hotel

Address: 620 Post St, San Francisco, CA 94109-8222 (Formerly Fitzgerald Hotel Union Square)
Region: United States > California > San Francisco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #170 of 230 Hotels in San Francisco
Price Range: £79 - £145 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — The Fitzgerald Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 49
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Cancelon so you can book your The Fitzgerald Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fitzgerald Hotel San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing