We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OK hotel, Great location”
Review of The Herbert Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Herbert Hotel
Ranked #79 of 230 Hotels in San Francisco
Reviewed 24 October 2007

Our rooms was fairly small and dark, but they had tried to cheer it up with bright Ikea furniture. Unfortunately we were next to the hotel's air conditioning unit, so it was a bit noisy too.

Still, none of this mattered because the location was absolutely perfect! Right the main tourist street with the cable car line outside our front door!

Other good points - the room and bathroom were spotlessly clean, the shower was powerful and the bed comfortable. The room also contained cable TV, coffee maker and hairdryer.

The foyer was a bit messy because it was being refurbished (along with the on-site cafe) but we didn't mind. The staff at the front desk were fairly cold and surly but the cleaners were very cheerful and friendly.

Overall, we would recommend this to anyone wanting a clean, cheap room in a fantastic location. We would stay here again.

  • Stayed: October 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank KatAndJohnC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,361)
There are newer reviews for The Herbert Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,027 - 1,033 of 1,361 reviews

Reviewed 19 October 2007

I booked my rooms via booking.com about 2 months in advance. We checked on 29 September at noon and were told that the room would be ready in an hour. Hence we left our luggages with the staff, who helped us store it in the basement whilst we headed out for lunch. When we returned an hour later, we got the keys to our rooms, as promised.

The great thing about this hotel is its location. Situated in the heart of Union Square, you are walking distance to the hustle and bustle that San Francisco has to offer. We were a party of 4 who stayed 3 nights in 2 connecting that shared a toilet on the 7th floor (top floor). The room, though on the small side, had sufficient space to lay our large luggages on the floor, but it didn't leave us that much space . The decor was simple and colourful and the room adequately furnished with a writing table, a chest of drawers and a small closet. Our wish was that the double bed could be bigger, as it was slightly smaller than Queen size.

Before my stay, I was rather apprehensive about the hotel, having read the mixed reviews on tripadvisor, but eventually I didn't have a choice as all hotels in SF city seemed to have been booked up for the weekend. I'm glad I stuck to it, as we found it to be real value for money, considering the location.

Being in the heart of Union Square, it is understandable that it would be noisy throughout the day. We could hear the sound of sirens (police, ambulance, fire dept) throughout the night, especially on Saturday. On Monday, we were awoken by the noises from the road works downstairs. As I am a light sleeper, I overcame the noise with ear plugs.

As for cleanliness, the rooms was clean and tidy. The only complaint we had were the towels. We found small stains on the white towels and requested to have them changed. Unfortunately, the new towels that we got were also stained. Eventually, we learnt to live with it, even though it made us slightly uncomfortable.

Overall, we were happy with our stay at Herbert Hotel and would recommend it to friends who were travelling on a tighter budget but still wished to be near the heart of the city.

  • Stayed: September 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bummerjen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2007

Upn checking in to the Herbert a man walked in to the lobby and stole my luggage, after "Claudia" the manager assured us it would be fine and she would watch it. We were offered no discount and were stuck staying there for the night. When we called to book the room, we were told we would get discount parking and a discount at the diner next door...all were lies! There were semen splatters on the walls and carpet and the whole place was so dusty and dirty I ended up using my own sleeping bag.(I have pictures) I asked Claudia for the hotel insurance info and she refused to give it to me. She also refused to give me corporate number. They will be hearing from me in court!! Do not stay at this dump, it's disgusting!!!

  • Stayed: September 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank maralexa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SFPHI, Manager at The Herbert Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 October 2007

We understand this guest’s frustration having her luggage stolen, however her recount of the event is misleading. She was present at the lobby with her luggage behind her while the manager was behind the desk checking her in when somebody walked in from the street and stole her luggage. This is a regrettable and sad event but the hotel has standard industry policies on how to handle such situations that must be followed. The police were called immediately and with the help of the video camera system, the police were able to apprehend the suspect an hour later. The guest’s luggage was returned, but she claimed that her jewelry was missing. Per the hotel policy the guest was asked to provide a written statement describing her loss so the hotel owner could present it to the insurance company but she refused to do it. The description of the room is not accurate and one should consider the situation under which it was made.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2007

My boyfriend and I stayed here for 2 nights recently and were pleasantly surprised. For only $95/night in the summer in Union Square in San Francisco the Herbert Hotel was a great deal. The room was very nice with a lot of character - exposed brick wall, ceiling beams, cute Ikea furniture and the bathroom looked newly renovated and was clean and like new. We were on the 5th floor and above Powell street, so it was quite noisy, but for the price we paid we didn't mind using ear plugs. The staff at the front desk were very nice and friendly. You are right in the middle of all the shops, on the Powell street cable car line and literally 1 block from Union Square. I reccomend this hotel to anyone who likes a good deal & to stay right in the middle of all the action!

  • Stayed: August 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank Chezz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2007

Spend more money and stay somewhere else!

It was our first day in the US and we had to stay at the Herbert Hotel in SF. The hotel was horrible. The bath was full of hair. They did not tidy up the room the next morning (we stayed 3 nights in total). There was no remote control for the TV.
The sheets were full of holes and blood.
It was even worse. It was so loud (police sirenes all night long).
The reception stuff was more than unfriendly. The shower did not work.
And worst - they gave our room key to somebody else while we WERE in the room! They forgot that the room was already booked! So while we were in bed, we were very shocked, when somebody suddenly entered!

So, stay away and go elsewhere. Only positive point about the hotel is the area. It is walking distance to Union Square and the Powell&Hyde cable car.

  • Stayed: May 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sunshinebabe25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2007

This is an adorable little hotel (I think it has only 32 rooms) located in the heart of Union Square. If you love shopping and don't mind the noise, then the Herbert Hotel is a good choice. I mean, you are right across the street from H&M, French Connection, Macy's, Urban Outfitters, etc...

In addition to location, the rooms were just too cute! Decorated with IKEA furniture, it was like a flashback to my college dormitory days. Though not too much closet space and the bathroom was smaller than the one at home, the room was still comfortable and not that cramped as some people warned me about.

We stayed here one day and the rate was just $85! That's a great deal considering where we were located and that we were only there for one night.

Finally, I know some past guests had pretty strong words about the service here, but I thought the service desk was very friendly and helpful. They were able to provide us with parking info and make arrangements for taxi service. Nothing extraordinary, but far from lacking.

  • Stayed: April 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank edo408
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2007

Had the opportunity to stay at the Herbert Hotel.... should of passed it up!! Room was o.k.. First one was occupied by someone else and the second room had a broken window. Did not feel very secure when we could not lock it!! Manager said they didn't open all the way ( had a jumper!!) Little did he know they DID open all the way... OOPS!! Room was located on the sixth floor. Lots of noise, but we managed with that. Could not check the view out through the dirty window. Broken shower faucet and not alot of amenities. Elevator could of been cleaned up a bit. Staff also lacked customer service. Too much time talking on the phone and not helping the customers such as us.... wasting our time!!!
Conveniently located, but still lots of other places around that looked better. Found the hotel by calling ahead and knowing it was joined to Betty Boops. Liked the food at Betty Boops(breakfast). Service lacked. People waiting in line for tables because service was slow. Would not recommend The Herbert Hotel. Look around in the area first !!

  • Stayed: January 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pbmm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
SoMa
The Mosser
The Mosser
#89 of 230 in San Francisco
2,354 reviews
Union Square
Hotel Union Square
Hotel Union Square
#96 of 230 in San Francisco
1,788 reviews
Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
#14 of 230 in San Francisco
5,274 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Union Square
Hotel Bijou
Hotel Bijou
#130 of 230 in San Francisco
791 reviews
Union Square
Handlery Union Square Hotel
Handlery Union Square Hotel
#73 of 230 in San Francisco
4,016 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Herbert Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Herbert Hotel

Address: 161 Powell Street, San Francisco, CA 94102-2291
Region: United States > California > San Francisco > Union Square
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#64 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#79 Family Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range: £75 - £858 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Herbert Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Herbert Hotel is a small historic hotel located on the Powell Street Cable Car line at legendary Union Square, San Francisco, California. Newly designed and renovated, the hotel offers style, location and affordability unmatched in the city center. Conveniently located in the heart of the city, the Herbert is a short walk from San Francisco's many attractions. Restaurants, shops galleries and theaters are just outside our door. Moscone Center, Chinatown, the Museum of Modern Art and the world's most fabulous stores are a short walk away. Our 99 guest rooms are newly designed and renovated. All of our rooms come with high speed internet access. We offer suites and single rooms at affordable prices as well as double and triple connecting rooms that are ideal for families. Offering modern hotel amenities and a classic San Francisco hotel, The Herbert is ideal for families as as well as business and leisure travelers. Enjoy the comfort of clean and well-equipped accommodations at a fraction of the price of typical downtown San Francisco hotels. Make a reservation today! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ctrip TA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Herbert Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Herbert Hotel San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing