We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location”
Review of The Herbert Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Herbert Hotel
Ranked #82 of 230 Hotels in San Francisco
Reviewed 9 September 2013

San Francisco is an expensive place, and it was reflected in the price of this hotel. The hotel itself was in a great location with neat and clean Euro looking rooms and the staff were friendly. Although this was our most expensive hotel on our USA trip I wouldnt say it was the most luxurious. Definately recommend it for the safe location and close proximity to public transport.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TheHappyWandering1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,375)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

843 - 849 of 1,375 reviews

Reviewed 8 September 2013

Possibly the Best Location in SF. Right Next to the Tram on Powell Street , Muni Stop right outside the door , Subway station about 100 meters. Super Clean rooms , Bathrooms , Not a fancy Hotel , but you get what you are paying for. if you need a nice, cozy , place just to sleep look nowhere else. There is no Restaurant but Walgreen's is located next door so early breakfast or late night munch is no problem.

Room Tip: any room but just not one facing the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sharnjit_Sondh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2013

A reasonably priced hotel just off Union Square. Downside was no safe in the room or security deposit arrangements elsewhere. A staircase runs up the side of the building outside the hotel windows and therefore we found it necessary to keep our valuables with us. Room had no drawers and towels were very small. They only gave 2 guests 2 medium sized towels 1 small hand towel and 1 flannel. Would I stay again? Probably yes as it was very convenient.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sunseeker5112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2013

As long as you aren't expecting too much then this is a good place to stay right in the center of town. Clean, basic rooms on cable car route and next to all shopping and restaurants. There are different room types depending on what you need. We just needed a place to crash for a weekend stay in the city and Herbert was perfect for that - and a lot cheaper than the other hotels nearby.

Room Tip: 702 was over looking powell st but quiet with new windows. exposed brick, no noise from other rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank truck22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2013

Upon arrival at the Herbet at 11.30pm at night, we were happy to see we were located in a central safe location, with a fresh modern decor. This happiness was short lived, as we were told the hotel had been over booked and we had to WALK to another hotel 'only a few blocks away'. We are two young females who had never been to San Francisco before, and were forced to walk to another hotel for one night with our luggage, despite having booked at pre paid in MAY!!! To make matters worse the woman at the desk said the change was made that morning and she didn't know anything about it so we had to pay for a night at the other hotel... After making a fuss she said that the Herbet would cover the cost of the other hotel (rightly so) and so we walked at 12am.

The next morning we were advised we needed to walk back down to the Herbert for the remaining 2 nights. I wish we had Of just stayed at the other hotel.

When arriving our room wasnt ready and after expressing my annoyance to the young man at the Herbet counter he was argumentative, annoyed and disinterested. He said the manager was not available for contact on weekends and that if we wished to put our luggage in the room provided it 'wasn't his problem if it was taken as the room is not locked'. He said he was covering lunch shift and this wasnt his problem, luckily another lovely lady told him to leave and offered us an upgrade to a room with a bathroom...We were also later told we shouldn't have had to walk the previous night, and should have been offered taxi money by the Herbert.

Getting into the room we were happy to see it was clean.. On the surface at least! Strange yellow stains adorned our sheets and our bath had crusty brown mildew on it.. Not to mention the bathroom is adjoined to another room so u can both hear EVERYTHING that is going on.. I could even hear the lightest of coughing and bag rustling.. I feel sorry for The person next door being able to hear toilet times. Uncomfortable bed from which u can view your friend or partner doing their daily sink ablutions since there is no sink in the bathroom.

Overall an overpriced hostel masking as an upmarket hotel! Won't be staying here again and it's a pity as the location is absolutely fantastic!!!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mariearma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carly M, Manager at The Herbert Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 September 2013

We apologize for the inconvenience during your stay. Your comfort is very important to us, and in that type of situation, we try to accommodate our guests in the best way we can. Check in time is at 3 pm so this is why when you arrived at the hotel in the morning the room was not ready, but we can always store your bags until that point. Every bathroom in the hotel has a sink, but we are sorry if there was some confusion there. We hope that every guest has a much more of a gratifying stay than yours was and we have made many changes to make sure this kind of event does not happen again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2013

We stayed here for a few days at the end of July. We were only there two nights but it was really good place to get a feel for San Francisco. The hotel is located on Powell street which is , we were told the 3rd busiest street in the world so you can imagine the atmosphere! Luckily the noise didn't trickle in our windows. The rooms were Quiet and big and clean which is all we wanted. Finally a word on the staff; very friendly and very helpful. They offered advice on where to eat and what to see. We were particularly impressed with a young Irish girl who booked us a shuttle to the airport! We'd recommend this hotel to anyone who have convenient, clean and courteous on their checklists!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Travelkidd L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2013 via mobile

Place is quite nice. The rooms are quite big, maybe just a little to essential, but comfortable. Not sure about the cleaning. Seemed clened, but probably was fake clean. Cannot explain it better. No breakfat at all. Really central and really confortable if you arrive from airport, just a few hundred meters from the metro station and Bart train. The real problem is that the walls are practically inexisetent . You can hear everithing and sleeping is very hard!

Thank Carolina P
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
ParamountManagment, Manager at The Herbert Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2013

We wish your stay would have fulfilled more of your expectations, as we always strive to please our guests. Our rooms are simplistic for two reason, keep the rooms feeling roomy and to keep them as clean as possible. Cleanliness and room condition is extremely important to us. There are several breakfast restaurants within a block of our hotel. We hope that next time you have a more enjoyable stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Union Square
Hotel Union Square
Hotel Union Square
#98 of 230 in San Francisco
1,812 reviews
Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
#17 of 230 in San Francisco
5,312 reviews
SoMa
The Mosser
The Mosser
#89 of 230 in San Francisco
2,366 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Union Square
Villa Florence
Villa Florence
#104 of 230 in San Francisco
1,884 reviews
Union Square
Handlery Union Square Hotel
Handlery Union Square Hotel
#73 of 230 in San Francisco
4,040 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Herbert Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Herbert Hotel

Address: 161 Powell Street, San Francisco, CA 94102-2291
Region: United States > California > San Francisco > Union Square
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#64 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#79 Family Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range: £81 - £887 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Herbert Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Herbert Hotel is a small historic hotel located on the Powell Street Cable Car line at legendary Union Square, San Francisco, California. Newly designed and renovated, the hotel offers style, location and affordability unmatched in the city center. Conveniently located in the heart of the city, the Herbert is a short walk from San Francisco's many attractions. Restaurants, shops galleries and theaters are just outside our door. Moscone Center, Chinatown, the Museum of Modern Art and the world's most fabulous stores are a short walk away. Our 99 guest rooms are newly designed and renovated. All of our rooms come with high speed internet access. We offer suites and single rooms at affordable prices as well as double and triple connecting rooms that are ideal for families. Offering modern hotel amenities and a classic San Francisco hotel, The Herbert is ideal for families as as well as business and leisure travelers. Enjoy the comfort of clean and well-equipped accommodations at a fraction of the price of typical downtown San Francisco hotels. Make a reservation today! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Agoda, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Herbert Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Herbert Hotel San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing