We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Highly recommend”
Review of The Herbert Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Herbert Hotel
Ranked #81 of 228 Hotels in San Francisco
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Highly recommend”
Reviewed 3 October 2013 via mobile

Great location in the heart of shopping area. Close to all public transportation (BART,tram,cable car,bus). Good price for the hostel in this location. Clean and cosy room. (Double bed with private bath room). Comfortable bed.
But the bad thing is no extra bed in the room and the bed is not big enough for 3 people.
About the noise, I stayed in the room that close to the road but the noise didn't bother me.
I highly recommend this hotel to everyone and for me if I come to san francisco,I surely stay here again and again.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NuNeung
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,292 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    339
    534
    276
    89
    54
See reviews for
191
531
146
161
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (193)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
San Luis Obispo, California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2013 via mobile

Rooms look nothing like the pictures. The place was a bit more run down inside then anticipated but it was fine as we are not picky travellers. Central SF, mins to shops, BART, food, entertainment. Relatively clean, good customer service, safe to walk around late at night. Best bang for your buck. Won't find a cheaper, closer hotel to all that is SF

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sonny V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carly M, Manager at The Herbert Hotel, responded to this review, 3 October 2013
We are glad that you enjoyed your stay. I would just like to add that we are still in the process of making changes to our hotel. This fall we will be redoing hallways with new carpeting, the hotel will have a new paint job, and new furniture will be added in our rooms. We hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
Reviewed 24 September 2013 via mobile

Stayed at this hotel for a long weekend in SF. I was absolutely THRILLED with this hotel's location!! Right down the street from Union Square and right in the heart of great dining and nightlife. I never needed a cab. The room was clean and comfortable and the staff was friendly. With the high prices in SF, I think this hotel is a good value.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Trompster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northern Ireland
Level Contributor
59 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2013

Stayed for eight nights in early September. The hotel is in a fantastic location right on Powell Street and within walking distance to the cable cars, streetcars to Fisherman's Wharf and muni bus. BART station is also minutes walk away. Excellent shops and restaurants are close by.

I had a room with a private bathroom - make sure to request this when booking. The room was lovely and looked to have been recently decorated. Very comfortable bed with small coffee table and large screen tv and walk in closet/ wardrobe. No chest of drawers but that was not a problem. The hotel is perfect if you are just looking for a base and somewhere to sleep whilst visiting San Francisco. The staff were very helpful and friendly and was always greeted with a small upon entering and leaving. There is a Walgreen's next door and Starbucks on the corner for coffee and breakfast. The walls are thin and you can hear tv in the next room. I could hear some street noise but it did not annoy me.

I would definitely stay here again!

Room Tip: Make sure to choose a room with a private bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bajp23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights in August during the first leg of our honeymoon. Figured that we wouldn't spend much time in the hotel other than sleeping so went for a cheaper option, even still was quite expensive for the standard in comparison to UK prices. On our first night our shower had no hot water, upon inspection the staff member offered to refund half the day's rate which was nice and luckily the water warmed up for the rest of the stay, although we had to chase the refund on checkout. Walls are very thin and as our bathroom had an adjoining door to the next room (which was locked) we could still hear a lot of noise and I imagine they could hear us in the bathroom which can't have been pleasant...

The fire alarm awoke us on the first night which meant evacuating the hotel, luckily was a false alarm but still annoying. Good location for trams and car hire outlets. Bring earplugs.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kevinfay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carly M, Manager at The Herbert Hotel, responded to this review, 26 September 2013
Although our hotel has a great location, excellent rates and a helpful staff, I would not recommend it for a honeymoon. We apologize for the fire alarm, this issue was resolved the next day. We do monitor this often as your safety is very important to us. We have also had new windows installed in our rooms close to street noise for a very quiet experience. Aside from these minor inconveniences, we hope you enjoyed your stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 September 2013

Stayed at the Herbert for 5 nights recently, and have a mixed opinion on the hotel.
The hotel is in a great location, literally 2 mins from Union Square. There are many tram and bus stations nearby, so you wont be stuck for traveling round the city. There's a big supermarket next door which sells everything you need.
The room was basic and the bed was comfy. We knew beforehand about the shared restroom and shower room, but the room next to us obviously had a private bathroom, which was only separated from our room by a door, so we could hear our neighbours showering.
The smoke alarm in our room was faulty, and emitted a cracking sound 24 hours a day. Not very good when you're trying to get some sleep. We did ask at reception for the smoke alarm to be looked at and repaired, but it wasn't. The actual hotel fire alarm went off in the middle of one night, meaning the entire hotel had to be evacuated. With a hundred people in the lobby wondering what was going on, the guy at reception didn't utter a word to anyone, only to quietly mumble that we could return to our rooms 20 minutes later.
The hotel itself does a job if you're only staying a couple of nights.
And to think this place cost us more money to stay (for the same number of nights) than the MGM Grand in Vegas...!

Room Tip: Get a room on a higher floor - less noise from the very noisy street outside.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PaulOR78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elwood, Australia
Level Contributor
123 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2013

San Francisco is an expensive place, and it was reflected in the price of this hotel. The hotel itself was in a great location with neat and clean Euro looking rooms and the staff were friendly. Although this was our most expensive hotel on our USA trip I wouldnt say it was the most luxurious. Definately recommend it for the safe location and close proximity to public transport.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TheHappyWandering1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
SoMa
The Mosser
The Mosser
#96 of 228 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,286 reviews
Union Square
King George Hotel
King George Hotel
#84 of 228 in San Francisco
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,410 reviews
Union Square
Hotel Union Square
Hotel Union Square
#103 of 228 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,637 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
#16 of 228 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,108 reviews
Union Square
Cornell Hotel de France
Cornell Hotel de France
#24 of 228 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,630 reviews
Union Square
The Grant Hotel
The Grant Hotel
#126 of 228 in San Francisco
3.5 of 5 bubbles 989 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Herbert Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Herbert Hotel

Property: The Herbert Hotel
Address: 161 Powell Street, San Francisco, CA 94102-2291
Region: United States > California > San Francisco > Union Square
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#18 Best Value Hotel in San Francisco
#64 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#79 Family Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Herbert Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Herbert Hotel is a small historic hotel located on the Powell Street Cable Car line at legendary Union Square, San Francisco, California. Newly designed and renovated, the hotel offers style, location and affordability unmatched in the city center. Conveniently located in the heart of the city, the Herbert is a short walk from San Francisco's many attractions. Restaurants, shops galleries and theaters are just outside our door. Moscone Center, Chinatown, the Museum of Modern Art and the world's most fabulous stores are a short walk away. Our 99 guest rooms are newly designed and renovated. All of our rooms come with high speed internet access. We offer suites and single rooms at affordable prices as well as double and triple connecting rooms that are ideal for families. Offering modern hotel amenities and a classic San Francisco hotel, The Herbert is ideal for families as as well as business and leisure travelers. Enjoy the comfort of clean and well-equipped accommodations at a fraction of the price of typical downtown San Francisco hotels. Make a reservation today! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Agoda, Ctrip TA and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Herbert Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Herbert Hotel San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing