We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location but small rooms” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Herbert Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Herbert Hotel
Ranked #81 of 227 Hotels in San Francisco
Memphis, Tennessee
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great location but small rooms”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2014

the location was incredible. being next door to the fanciest walgreens on earth made our lives a lot easier. we grabbed cheap (and really tasty) bagels every morning and were able to pick up other necessities (and alcohol!) we ran out of too. its right in the middle of union square which is nice. its closed to the bart station and the trolley car turnaround. walking distance from chinatown and, if youre like us, walking distance from a lot of other things too.

the room was pretty small but gave you a feel of staying in a new york city apartment. we stayed in late may and the lack of AC only bothered us one morning when it got stuffy. nothing opening the window couldnt fix. the biggest issue was the noise. we could hear every word the people in the room next door spoke. that was a little uncomfortable

Room Tip: be sure to request a room with a private bath. some rooms have shared bathrooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Erin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,261 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    329
    522
    270
    87
    53
See reviews for
182
516
144
159
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (191)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2014

We needed a place to stay overnight in San Francisco. We had asked some of our friends that live in San Francisco about a location that would be convenient and they said Union Square. I did a search for Union Square hotels and came upon the Herbert Hotel. It was less than $300 for the night which I guess was reasonable for the location? This is definitely a boutique hotel.

Here is what you need to know: There is a cable car station right across the street. This is a very happening part of town so don't be surprised if you hear street musicians all day from your hotel. If you are driving in and planning on parking your car at the hotel, you can't. There is no parking garage attachment. You can always opt to use the BART, taxis, or cable car trolley. If you are driving in, there is a parking garage less than a block away and the parking rates are very very reasonable for the weekend. You can take the trolley down to Fisherman's Wharf and catch quite a bit of scenery along the way. There is a Walgreens right next door - but be aware this will be the fanciest Walgreens you've ever gone into. It's very convenient.

On Taylor Street (one or two blocks away) is a restaurant called Taylor Street Coffee Shop. It only has 10 tables or so but it is a great spot for breakfast. This place is known for the Millionaire's Bacon. You can have it on a sandwich, in an omelet, or just a side order of it...and it's worth the $6 bucks for the side order! It's unlike any bacon you will ever have...

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chyng H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

jJust stayed at the Herbert Hotel off Union Square in SF. Staff was very helpful. Recommended Bartlett Hall across the street for dining. Our stay at the Herbert was wonderful . Union Square was wonderful as usual for shopping . Leo Leider

Room Tip: I would suggest a room on the seventh floor just to get a better view of the city.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Manonthego81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Allis, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2014 via mobile

Let's be honest, when it comes to 'value' that's a toughy! I'm from Wisconsin and you can get a whole lotta hotel for the same amount of money. This place, your getting location only, which was perfect. It was a tiny little standard room. I hate the fact that the sink was at the foot of the bed and not in the bathroom. Call me OCD but I kinda like to wash my hands prior to exiting. The room itself was clean. A bed, a chair, a tiny table. No clock! Weird! Oh, a flat screen tv. Only 1 pillow per guest sucks! Invest in pillows! I was achy during the day from the flat sleep. The staff was nice. The Herbert is a good bet for first time visitors to SF. Close to the BART, a cable car stops right in front, a block to the square, more restaurants than you can get to, short walk to China Town, it was great. Tiny little room, but who goes there to hang around in a room all day? Overall, the hubby and I were happy with our stay there.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ForRealGlobeTrottin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2014 via mobile

The Herbert Hotel was a great home for me. The location is perfect; cable car, Market Street and Powell street are just one minute walk. Very friendly staff. I really did love this hotel. I would not hesitate to stay here again.

Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Yaşar A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gold Coast
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2014

We stayed here as part of our road trip honeymoon in September 2013. The hotel was very well appointed, especially for the price. The location was perfect for exploring the city as it sits right on the tram line and only one block's walk to the BART station and Union Square shopping. We always felt safe walking the surrounding streets at night too, with PLENTY of eating opportunities within an easy walk. Right next door is a Walgreens.

Our room was on the 7th floor, overlooking busy Powell Street. It was very clean, bed was comfy and was actually much more spacious than we expected for an inner city hotel with the low price we paid. The only slight issue was no air-conditioning so it got a bit warm in there.

Overall we would definitely stay again and recommend it to anyone who wants a no-fuss but still clean and friendly historic hotel in amongst it all.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LandyAus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Makati, Philippines
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2014

The hotel offers great value for your money. Our room was simple, clean and comfortable. The bathroom was nice. Basic amenities were offered. The location was great and convenient! The only problem is that it is located on a busy street, so we had a hard time sleeping with all the noise from outside.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank xylarhao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
SoMa
The Mosser
The Mosser
#96 of 227 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,258 reviews
Union Square
King George Hotel
King George Hotel
#83 of 227 in San Francisco
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,374 reviews
Union Square
The Grant Hotel
The Grant Hotel
#127 of 227 in San Francisco
3.5 of 5 bubbles 968 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Union Square
Hotel Stratford
Hotel Stratford
#104 of 227 in San Francisco
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,279 reviews
Union Square
Hotel Union Square
Hotel Union Square
#102 of 227 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,567 reviews
Union Square
Hotel Bijou
Hotel Bijou
#125 of 227 in San Francisco
3.5 of 5 bubbles 737 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Herbert Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Herbert Hotel

Property: The Herbert Hotel
Address: 161 Powell Street, San Francisco, CA 94102-2291
Region: United States > California > San Francisco > Union Square
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#16 Best Value Hotel in San Francisco
#64 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#79 Family Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Herbert Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Herbert Hotel is a small historic hotel located on the Powell Street Cable Car line at legendary Union Square, San Francisco, California. Newly designed and renovated, the hotel offers style, location and affordability unmatched in the city center. Conveniently located in the heart of the city, the Herbert is a short walk from San Francisco's many attractions. Restaurants, shops galleries and theaters are just outside our door. Moscone Center, Chinatown, the Museum of Modern Art and the world's most fabulous stores are a short walk away. Our 99 guest rooms are newly designed and renovated. All of our rooms come with high speed internet access. We offer suites and single rooms at affordable prices as well as double and triple connecting rooms that are ideal for families. Offering modern hotel amenities and a classic San Francisco hotel, The Herbert is ideal for families as as well as business and leisure travelers. Enjoy the comfort of clean and well-equipped accommodations at a fraction of the price of typical downtown San Francisco hotels. Make a reservation today! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your The Herbert Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Herbert Hotel San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing