We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A night on the town”
Review of The Herbert Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Herbert Hotel
Ranked #82 of 230 Hotels in San Francisco
Reviewed 15 July 2014

It was my birthday last week & I decided to take my wife out for dinner & have a night away from the kids in San Francisco ( we live in Marin) .

The Herbert Hotel is slap bang in the middle of town right off Union Square so easy walking to great restaurants & clubs.

The service was excellent very friendly & helpful & our room was very clean with a cool contemporary finish including hardwood floors


Highly recommend this boutique hotel especially when on a bit of a budget -great value!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Paul B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,399)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

802 - 808 of 1,399 reviews

Reviewed 13 July 2014 via mobile

We just recently stayed there for four days and we had a great experience the location is unbeatable it is located almost perfect distance from everything cable cars, shopping, food, union square, even the tour bus stop
The service was excellent during our stay we didn't need much assistance but checking out we had a medical emergency and they were extremely helpful with providing a doctor to go to and helping us sort out our bags.. She was also very conceded and was very considerat when we returned that we were ok and we recieved proper treatment really appreciated that
Finally the value for money wa an important aspect it is a simple hotel with few amenities but you get what you pay for the room is always cleaned impeccably and the lay out of the hotels front desk and rooms are very charming

We really enjoyed our stayed the only complaints would come from the exterior of the hotel as in the noise of the night life and the omnipresent homeless

We would highly reccomened staying at the Herbert especially if your planning on a adventures or nightlife trip - certainly not a chill out hotel

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Brookestoner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2014

My stay at the Herbert Hotel was wonderful. While the location is its selling point, what I believe keeps people coming back is the exceptional service at the front desk that makes you feel like you are coming home every night rather than to a hotel. Kim in particular, not only gives the best advise for what to do in the area, but also acts so genuinely friendly that you forget that she actually is working the front desk and isn't just a good friend of yours that you are coming home to.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Nick W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2014

We stayed here for two nights with a room that faced Powell. The windows held up well and we didn't hear noise from it but the room across the hall was noisy. The TV was so loud that with the doors closed we could hear what was being said and the opted to have a party and were in and out all night. It is my own fault for not complaining but to be honest I didn't think it would make a difference. The desk staff looked to not care unless it was someone that got their mail delivered there or lived there, not sure, I just know they had a basket for mail in the back where luggage was stored. Even then they left that unlocked so anyone could've gone and and taken anything. The rooms were clean though small were comfortable for the two of us.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
3  Thank Rachel R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2014

I just spent two nights at this property. It was due to a deal we found on the property.

It's a very cute remodeled hotel. We had a room facing Powell Street with en suite bathroom. You need to realize that not all rooms have their own shower. There is a communal shower on each floor.

The good: clean, free wifi, central to getting where you need to go.
The not so good: It's an old building, so there is no A/C, but you really don't need A/C, but it does get kinda warm/stuffy in the room and there is no ceiling fan, so we had to open the window, but since our room faced Powell Street it's super loud. The trolleys go up and down Powell all day ringing the bell and at night it's the same until late plus street noise. That's the only downside to this property.

If you are driving in, we found parking at 333 Jones Street which is a short walk away.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank LADiver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2014

We stayed at this hotel for 2 nights in May 2014. The location is spectacular - in the center of all the action yet the room we had facing the busy street allowed us to sleep peacefully at night. The hotel is quaint and the rooms and bathroom bright. Unfortunately, service is not a strong point at this hotel - we had to wait a whole day for replacement after reporting that the shower gel was depleted.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DeeJaySA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2014

Perfect location for sight seeing and city shopping stay over in San Fran.
We are Young couple that stayed for 3 nights in shared room.
Shared bathroom was only a shower but room has sink.
All staff were very helpful and gave great advice

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Dean L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Union Square
The Cartwright Hotel - Union Square, BW Premier Collection
The Cartwright Hotel - Union Squ...
#73 of 230 in San Francisco
746 reviews
SoMa
The Mosser
The Mosser
#86 of 230 in San Francisco
2,380 reviews
Union Square
Hotel Bijou
Hotel Bijou
#126 of 230 in San Francisco
814 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Union Square
Hotel Union Square
Hotel Union Square
#91 of 230 in San Francisco
1,868 reviews
Union Square
Warwick San Francisco
Warwick San Francisco
#34 of 230 in San Francisco
613 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Herbert Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Herbert Hotel

Address: 161 Powell Street, San Francisco, CA 94102-2291
Region: United States > California > San Francisco > Union Square
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#64 Business Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range: £98 - £813 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Herbert Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Herbert Hotel is a small historic hotel located on the Powell Street Cable Car line at legendary Union Square, San Francisco, California. Newly designed and renovated, the hotel offers style, location and affordability unmatched in the city center. Conveniently located in the heart of the city, the Herbert is a short walk from San Francisco's many attractions. Restaurants, shops galleries and theaters are just outside our door. Moscone Center, Chinatown, the Museum of Modern Art and the world's most fabulous stores are a short walk away. Our 99 guest rooms are newly designed and renovated. All of our rooms come with high speed internet access. We offer suites and single rooms at affordable prices as well as double and triple connecting rooms that are ideal for families. Offering modern hotel amenities and a classic San Francisco hotel, The Herbert is ideal for families as as well as business and leisure travelers. Enjoy the comfort of clean and well-equipped accommodations at a fraction of the price of typical downtown San Francisco hotels. Make a reservation today! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Herbert Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Herbert Hotel San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing