We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good location, bad experience” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Stratford

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Stratford
Ranked #104 of 227 Hotels in San Francisco
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Good location, bad experience”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2014 via mobile

No cooling or heating in the rooms, we stayed in room 702 which gets the afternoon sun on Powell St an the room gets up to 34 degrees Celsius (melting our Ghiradelli chocolate, and there's no refrigerator either). The window only opens 10cm and the ceiling fan only helps a little.

No hot water comes out the shower head, tried both first night and morning; raised issue with front desk that morning. Problem still not fixed and we still have one more night here. Hot water works fine on tap however.

Only positives are location and that we got a double room. WiFi is also good.

Continental breakfast had poor selection, will be going elsewhere tomorrow.

Will never stay here again, there are other hotels close by at similar prices that seem to offer more.

Very disappointed.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank mojocoops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jamie D, Front Office Manager at Hotel Stratford, responded to this review, 1 May 2014
We are displeased to hear you did not enjoy your stay. We will make sure to look into the maintenance issues and the heat, San Francisco rarely reaches above 21 degrees and we have not seen issues with heat in the past. We hope you enjoyed SF and our staff will make sure to take your comments into consideration. Thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,279 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    205
    613
    341
    83
    37
See reviews for
154
592
108
93
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (179)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
55 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2014

This hotel is exactly where you need to be in SF, Close to shopping, transport, cable cars, and right on Union Square, The rooms are small--but did you come to SF to be in your room? I did find the room a bit stuffy, but the price was great. Like many others have mentioned, Jack is a real asset. Free breakfast was great, too.

Room Tip: The elevator is a bit slow--relax! You're on vacation!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nez29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whangarei, New Zealand
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2014

We stayed three nights at this hotel and we had no problems what so ever. The room was small, but for the price and the location it was worth the trade-off. A tram stop right outside and Market Street two blocks away which took you to the train and multiple bus stops to take you in every direction. Breakfast was included and it was a great start to each day. Since the room was small it was a bit of a squeeze with two big suitcases, so we did have to pack them away each morning so we could walk around the room.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank HannahRNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2014

The hotel is very central, but the rooms are extremely small. There was almost no water coming out of the shower and the hotel provided no shampoo. This was certainly a bad experience and I will not stay there again!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MichaelT_LA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these San Francisco hotels

Ellicott City, MD
Level Contributor
94 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2014

The hotel is walking distance from a lot of great bars and restaurants. I was in town for a convention at Moscone Center and it was not a long walk to the convention. When I checked in, Jack at the front desk was very helpful. The rooom was small and that's what you should expect in downtown SF. The bed wasn't the most comfortable but I have had worse. If you are looking for a reasonably priced place to stay in SF with no frills, I would consider this property.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jsaint625
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sydney
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2014 via mobile

We spent 4 nights at Hotel Stratford. The location is so convenient for everything - we walked most places but caught the cable car once too.

Some reviews mention the size of the rooms - we expected small but were still a little shocked at how small. We don't spend any time in the room though so it worked fine for us. Other reviews mention the lift - only one and it is exceptionally slow but it's not the end of the world!

The bathroom was clean but the shower was miserable. It was hot but just a trickle. With long hair I found washing it quite a chore.

Free wifi was awesome. Didn't get as much help from the front desk as we would have liked in terms of recommendations for food so used tripadvisor instead! Would probably stay again given location and price!

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank mels336
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Margaret River Wine Region
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2014

Friendly staff and smallish rooms but the sizr of the room doesn't matter when you have such a wonderful city to explore. Tram car right out the fornt door, cheese cake factory arround the corner and so many toher things within a short walking distance. The staff were very polite and the included breakfast was fine. There was a trolley to take your own cases up in the lift to your room which meant thee was no tip required before you had even had time to get money. The bathroom while small was adequate and again the location outweighed any inconvenience. If you are going to spend a lot of time away form your room this is the place for you. I would go back again without hesitation.

Room Tip: Ask to be away from Powell street where the most noise generates form.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank M M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Union Square
The Herbert Hotel
The Herbert Hotel
#81 of 227 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,261 reviews
SoMa
The Mosser
The Mosser
#96 of 227 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,258 reviews
Union Square
Hotel Fusion
Hotel Fusion
#129 of 227 in San Francisco
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,206 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Union Square
King George Hotel
King George Hotel
#83 of 227 in San Francisco
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,374 reviews
Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
#13 of 227 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,012 reviews
Union Square
The Grant Hotel
The Grant Hotel
#127 of 227 in San Francisco
3.5 of 5 bubbles 968 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Stratford? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Stratford

Property: Hotel Stratford
Address: 242 Powell Street, San Francisco, CA 94102
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Francisco > Union Square
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #104 of 227 Hotels in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Stratford 2*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If travelers were to pinpoint on a map the number one location in San Francisco, it could be right outside the door of Hotel Stratford. Our entrance has become part of thousands of photographs taken of the Cable Car as it heads up the second block of its famous journey over San Francisco's beautiful hillside communities.Guests who want the convenience of being right in the center of the City will enjoy their stay in this European style affordably priced property, with over 80 pleasantly decorated rooms, all with the most modern facilities. We await the pleasure of your company be it for Business or Leisure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Stratford reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Stratford Hotel San Francisco
Stratford San Francisco
Stratford Hotel San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing