We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location, Good Hotel”
Review of Hotel Stratford

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Stratford
Ranked #113 of 230 Hotels in San Francisco
Reviewed 13 June 2014

We stayed for 3 nights recently. The hotel is obviously a budget hotel, however, the location, just off Union Square is ideally situated for food, shopping etc., the rooms were also clean and towels changed daily. The hop-on, hop-off buses can be boarded just on Union Square and ideal for getting around the city.

The breakfast was the usual, toast, buns, cereal, coffee/tea, juice. This was enough to start your day. Very helpful staff. All in all a good place to stay at an extremely reasonable price.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank blondie0077
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,434)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

386 - 392 of 1,434 reviews

Reviewed 12 June 2014

We had a wonderful time in San Francisco and the Stratford Hotel provided us with the perfect location and price. The rooms were clean and bright. Location is central to downtown, Union Square and the transit hub. We could walk to many attractions. The cable car stopped right outside our hotel. The cable car turn around was 2 blocks away. Book in advance to get great prices. The room was quiet and the bed was comfortable. The hotel seemed to have many satisfied return customers. I would go back and would recommend it to anyone. It was all we needed as a base to enjoy a fabulous city.

Room Tip: Request a room away from Powell Street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brenda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2014

We chose to stay here while in SF for a night since it was the cheapest ($150) place for a Saturday night.

PROS:
- Great location: At the heart of Union Square, close to Powell station, within walking distance to Chinatown, Lower Nob Hill, many bars/restaurants nearby, and lots of shopping at your doorstep.
- No noise: We stayed on the 3rd floor facing away from Powell. As it was a bit warm at night (there is no A/C in the room, but there is a ceiling fan) we were able to sleep with the window open and it was pretty quiet.
- Price: fairly reasonable for a big city like SF on a weekend night during the summer.
- Decent breakfast: Nothing spectacular about the continental breakfast, but it was nice to have some toast, OJ and coffee before walking around the city.

CONS:
- Bed: Unless you like an extra, extra, extra firm mattress, the bed is one step up from sleeping on the floor. It is incredibly hard and uncomfortable.
- No space: The room is literally the size of a queen mattress with a small walkway around it. The bathroom is a bit roomier compared to the size of the room, but there is no where to put your bathroom supplies since there was just a sink (no stand), toilet and corner shower.
- View: While not noisy, our window faced a blank brick wall of the building next door. Although if you don't plan to stay in the room for a long period of time, no view is better than a noisy room.

Room Tip: If you don't care about a view, but want to have the windows open for some air, ask for a room t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank J R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2014

This is a small hotel in the heart of San Francisco, very close to Union Square. The rooms are very small and the facilities are quite basic but adequate. The breakfast was plentiful and the staff were friendly. A good functional base from which to explore the city.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Julienne L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

My husband and I stayed here for one night before moving on to Calistoga. I don't think the word small accurately describes it. The door hit the bed when we opened it. Its great for one night or maybe solo travel b/c its in a great location, close to everything. However, there wasn't really anywhere to put our bags without having to step on or over them to move from one place to the other. One thing that I did find really irritating is normal check out was at 1130am or so, someone (I'm assuming housekeeping) walked in our room at 9 am without even knocking. Since the bed was so close to the door, my husband was able to shut it back on them before they came all the way in. We also had late check out which was at 130pm. Someone from housekeeping knocked on the door at 1250pm and again like 10 minutes later...We just went ahead and left but it was like a waitress bringing the check before giving you the option for dessert. Other than that, the staff at the front was very helpful and very friendly.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shannon S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014 via mobile

4 nights in May. It's a great location, beside union sq where all the tour busses go from and where the shops are. Rooms are ok, grand for 4 nights but if you are on a longer trip, there's limited space to unpack. Bathroom is fine, very clean. The elevator is painful. Small and very slow, it's for both staff and visitors but there are only 7 floors. Some staff were helpful but they don't offer any information on arrival, literally nothing, the guy with the beard was short in stature and manners. Wouldn't go back

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Murfsalot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jamie D, Front Office Manager at Hotel Stratford, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2014

Thanks for taking the time to write a review about the Stratford. We agree the location is perfect and we expect the rooms to be as clean as possible. We are sorry the elevator can be slow at times and we are working on a resolution for the future. Thanks again and we hope to see you in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2014

We stayed at this hotel in March for one week. The location is AMAZING. It is right in the middle of everything. Cable car stop is a block away. It is also on the same block as Macys and a few steps away from union square. There are plenty of restaurants in walking distance, and a whole foods store a few blocks away. We were able to stock up on supplies from the lovely big walgreens that was just down the street. The rooms in the hotel were small but beautifully clean and well kept. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The free breakfast was basic but well stocked and had everything you need for breakfast. Unfortunately we had to cut out holiday short unexpectedly but if/when i go back to San francisco i will definitely stay at this hotel again. It was fantastic.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jhawke123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Union Square
The Herbert Hotel
The Herbert Hotel
#82 of 230 in San Francisco
1,377 reviews
Union Square
King George Hotel - A Greystone Hotel
Union Square
The Kensington Park Hotel
The Kensington Park Hotel
#74 of 230 in San Francisco
1,193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
#17 of 230 in San Francisco
5,317 reviews
Union Square
Villa Florence
Villa Florence
#103 of 230 in San Francisco
1,886 reviews
Union Square
Hotel Bijou
Hotel Bijou
#131 of 230 in San Francisco
797 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Stratford? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Stratford

Address: 242 Powell St, San Francisco, CA 94102-2206
Region: United States > California > San Francisco > Union Square
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #113 of 230 Hotels in San Francisco
Price Range: £93 - £285 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Stratford 2*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If travelers were to pinpoint on a map the number one location in San Francisco, it could be right outside the door of Hotel Stratford. Our entrance has become part of thousands of photographs taken of the Cable Car as it heads up the second block of its famous journey over San Francisco's beautiful hillside communities. Guests who want the convenience of being right in the center of the City will enjoy their stay in this European style affordably priced property, with 90 pleasantly decorated rooms, all with the most modern facilities. We await the pleasure of your company be it for Business or Leisure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Stratford reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Stratford Hotel San Francisco
Stratford San Francisco
Stratford Hotel San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing