We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Nice Stay, Clean, Convenient” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Tuscan

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Tuscan
Ranked #42 of 230 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Philly
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Nice Stay, Clean, Convenient”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2014

Stayed 2 nights in a double with my Father at the hotel. They provided a double although Priceline only said we'd get a queen. We found the accommodations to be convenient to Fisherman's Wharf and other local spots. It cost about $50-$60 to get there by cab from the airport. Staff was friendly and offered us Wine while checking in. There's a Safeway 1-2 blocks away to get a little food. Small fridges are in the room. Beds were Comfortable and everything was clean. With Tax's it was about $170/night.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank zzz182323
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ed S, Manager at The Tuscan, responded to this review, 27 February 2014
Hi zzz182323 - Thanks for staying with us and for taking the time to comment. Glad to hear you enjoyed our room with two queen beds, hopefully you and dad had a great SF experience and will return soon...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,961 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,786
    1,605
    424
    106
    40
See reviews for
1,094
1,793
89
201
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (624)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2014

Check in with Roy was pleasant and efficient. He explained the policies as well as the property and had a warm smile.
The room at first glance looked nice but there are some noticeable white stains (wonder what that could be) on the seat back of the couch and on the carpet. There was no dust on the headboard or picture frames and the bedding was clean. The bathroom was clean and fresh as well.
The wine reception was a nice touch. While we enjoyed the wine we spoke with the concierge Natalia who was nice but not helpful. She had 1 recommendation for our anniversary dinner which ended up being fully booked and it was like pulling teeth to get further recommendations. We really wanted to go to Gary Danko to celebrate our anniversary but she said they are booked for months and did not even try to call. We went back to our room called the restaurant our selves and got a reservation for 9pm. When we asked her about Alcatraz she wrote down the website and didn't really explain anything. Seems like she didn't want to make any effort to be a concierge and assist us. She did have a good smile but that was it.
The night audit Quin was very nice and accommodating and seemed to put the guests needs first as I saw him patiently assist a group of 8ish people with language barriers for directions to restaurants and answer all their questions.
Valet parking was $45 and the service was standard. At check out the front desk agent offered to have the valet take our bags to the car but he just walked us to the lot and let us put it away ourselves. I know it's not a 5 star property but you don't need to be to offer 5 star service.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank desigirl88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ed S, Manager at The Tuscan, responded to this review, 27 February 2014
Hi desigirl88 - Thanks for staying with us and for the feedback. I appreciate hearing about the good, the bad and the ugly so that any areas where we can improve may be addressed. I'm looking forward to hearing back from you soon regarding the private message I've sent to you. In the meantime, we're following up on our end. Thanks again for taking the time to let us know about your recent visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derbyshire uk
Level Contributor
125 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2014

Location is perfect, your so close to pier39, and all network muni system.
We loved the complimentary tea and coffee in the morning in the lobby, and the wine n pizza in the evening for happy hour, a really lovely touch made special by Ed who serves it up a lovely smile and banter making everyone feel special.
Rowena on reception is excellent, she works very hard as she seems to be on there 24 hrs a day ?... Smiley and happy a credit to the hotel.
Rooms very quiet we were in the courtyard end, and beds very cosy.
We will definitely return when back in San Francisco.

Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank HayleyGirardier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ed S, Manager at The Tuscan, responded to this review, 27 February 2014
Hi HayleyGirardier - Thanks for staying with us and for the really nice comments about me, Rowena and the rest of the team. I'm so glad you enjoyed your visit and I'm happy to hear you'll visit us again when you return to SF. I'll have a glass of wine waiting!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2014

Excellent value for a nice comfortable room in a perfect tourist location. The staff was superior and went above and beyond at every opportunity. The hosted wine hour from 5-6 was an awesome surprise and a great way to chat with other guests from all around the world. The rooms were clean, well equipped and stylish, but a little bit small and awkward.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank Brendan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ed S, Manager at The Tuscan, responded to this review, 27 February 2014
Hi Brendan C - Thanks for staying with us and for the 5 Star review. Very pleased to hear you were well taken care of during your visit. We appreciate your kind words and hope to see you again soon...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
159 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2014

Found this hotel while planning a Valentines couple getaway. After a blind bid on the internet I cannot say I was happy that is was a Best Western. Being a large hotel snob I was hoping for larger hotel, but was very glad and surprised after staying at the Tuscan.

The rooms are small, as most San Francisco hotels. For a couple, the King bed room worked out fine.

The internet was fast, except for early in the mornings for some reason. And free, which very much appreciated as this is becoming my crusade. I cannot abide by a hotel charging for the internet in an age where it is expected the same as pillows on the bed.

The hotel was very clean and the lobby area was attractive. All the staff were very friendly and helpful. The Desk clerk Katy suggested a room that faced the inner courtyard as that was very quiet. The fountain made for nice background noise, so we left the window open. There was very little noise from the other rooms.

The hotel had several unadvertised perks: There was a free continental breakfast at the restaurant attached to the hotel (or you could pay for a full breakfast). We didn’t try it as we walked to the Beach Street Grill two block away each morning.

There was a wine tasting in the evenings in the lobby which we did not miss and discounts offered for Dinner. The restaurant looked good, but we didn’t try it as we missed the happy hour. I don’t have a drinking problem, I’m just cheap.

The hotel location is very central: 1 block to the street car trolley stop, 1 blocks to the Taylor street Cable Car, 3 blocks to Fisherman’s Wharf, and a pleasant 15 minute walk to Beach Blanket Babylon show. As we were car-less, getting around was not a problem. A bus stop outside the hotel was used several time.

Room Tip: Pick a room facing the inside courtyard
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nomad_LA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ed S, Manager at The Tuscan, responded to this review, 27 February 2014
Hi Nomad_LA - Thanks for staying with us for your Valentine's get-a-way. I'm elated that your expectations were exceeded and that Katie and the rest of the team made your visit enjoyable. I appreciate all of your kind words and feedback. We look forward to your next visit! (a little gem, I like that)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2014

Very nice hotel within close walking distance to Fisherman's Wharf. Staff was helpful and very friendly. Had ice water in the lobby at most times. Had good coffee and tea in the lobby in the morning. We really enjoyed the wine reception in the evening. All of these were free, which is not the norm. Rooms were nice, but a little small. Parking was expensive, but is the same all over San Francisco so this should not be a surprise. Enjoyed our stay and would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sangeeta B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ed S, Manager at The Tuscan, responded to this review, 27 February 2014
Hi Sangeeta B - Thanks for staying with us and for all of the very kind words. Glad you enjoyed your stay and I'm pleased to hear that you'll return! We look forward to your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2014

We came here with car and was welcomed by a friendly valet attendant (drive-in from the street - so no need to worry about unloading luggage in the trafficc). Staff was frindly and rooms clean. The best of all was the location of the hotel that was a short walk to Pier 39 (Fisherman's Warf and the San Fransisco Magic Show), Pier 33 (Alcatraz boat departure), Chinatown and the end station of the best cable car in town.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Steinar B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ed S, Manager at The Tuscan, responded to this review, 27 February 2014
Hi Steinar_Bjornbet - Thank you for staying with us and for the 5 Star review. We appreciate the kind comments and we're glad you loved our fabulous location. We look forward to your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Fisherman’s Wharf
Hotel Zephyr
Hotel Zephyr
#47 of 230 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,618 reviews
Fisherman’s Wharf
Argonaut Hotel, A Noble House Hotel
Fisherman’s Wharf
Pier 2620 Hotel Fisherman's Wharf
Pier 2620 Hotel Fisherman's Whar...
#33 of 230 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 976 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Fisherman’s Wharf
No photo provided
Fisherman’s Wharf
Hyatt Centric Fisherman's Wharf San Francisco
Hyatt Centric Fisherman's Wharf ...
#66 of 230 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 787 reviews
Fisherman’s Wharf
Courtyard San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf
Courtyard San Francisco Fisherma...
#55 of 230 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 980 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Tuscan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Tuscan

Property: The Tuscan
Address: 425 North Point Street, San Francisco, CA 94133-1405 (Formerly BEST WESTERN PLUS The Tuscan)
Region: United States > California > San Francisco > Fisherman’s Wharf
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#19 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#25 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#31 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#32 Green Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Tuscan 4*
Number of rooms: 221
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Since 1997, Frommer's Guide designates the Tuscan hotel, located just steps from the breathtaking San Francisco waterfront, as "the best hotel at Fisherman's Wharf." This gracious boutique hotel is characterized by its warmth and charm, impeccable service and Italian country villa ambiance. Adjacent to the hotel is the inviting Italian trattoria, Café Pescatore, completing the picture for an ideal stay in the City by the Bay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Priceline and Ebookers so you can book your The Tuscan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western San Francisco
Tuscan Inn Fishermans Wharf
San Francisco Tuscan Inn
San Francisco Best Western Tuscan Inn
Tuscan Inn San Francisco
Best Western Fishermans Wharf
Best Western Tuscan Inn Fishermans Wharf San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing