We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A great stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Tuscan

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Tuscan
Ranked #53 of 227 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Cheshire, UK.
Level Contributor
75 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“A great stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 February 2014 via mobile

What a super 3 day stay at this lovely friendly hotel. Perfect situation for us as we could walk everywhere we wanted. The concierge - Natalia - was very helpful and booked our tours which were great and started from very close by. ( city tour, and Alcatraz) .
Our en suite room was very comfortable, quiet and spotlessly clean, overlooking an interior courtyard with a fountain.
Each evening the hotel hosted a generous 'wine tasting' which was super as a friendly get together for all guests, and their restaurant was great as we ate there for breakfast and dinner.
There are lots of other cafes and restaurants within walking distance.
The hotel arranged a taxi back to the airport for our onward flight.
We would not hesitate to stay at the Tuscan again.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Ary60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ed S, Manager at The Tuscan, responded to this review, 28 February 2014
Hi Ary60 - Thank you for staying with us and for the fabulous 5 star review. I'm glad to hear that you had a perfect 3 days and that you were well cared for by Natalia and the rest of the team. We appreciate your kind words and hope to have the pleasure of seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,994 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,792
    1,615
    433
    110
    44
See reviews for
1,103
1,807
91
204
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (631)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2014 via mobile

I like very much this hotel. The personnel is very gentle; the rooms are large and clean; the location is superb - very near to the most popular touristic place - pier 39. There is no breakfast room,but there are tea and coffee available in the mornings at the lobby.
If you buy Clipper card,you can travel by tram to the city-centre for 20 min.. There are a lot of good and very good places to eat around; and a lovely promenade with view to Golden Gate Bridge.

Stayed February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Соня К
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ed S, Manager at The Tuscan, responded to this review, 28 February 2014
Hi Соня К - Thanks for staying with us and for the kind comments. I'm glad you enjoyed your visit and we hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn, New York
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2014

I had stayed here for a business conference. Free wine reception each evening, gorgeous lobby, beautifully modern/warm rooms (simple yet elegant) and comfortable beds (I felt like I was sleeping on a cloud), and most importantly VERY CLEAN! They also have an italian restaurant on site that sold delicious meatballs. Very close to attractions (no real need to have a car) - I saw the sea lions, enjoyed myself at nearby bookstores/bars/restaurants and Ghiradelli's square. I would stay here again in a heartbeat because, apart from the well-appointed rooms and professional staff, you can't beat the location!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ann J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ed S, Manager at The Tuscan, responded to this review, 28 February 2014
Hi Ann J - Thanks for staying with us during your conference this past December. I'm so glad you had a great time in SF and at The Tuscan. (Those beds are really comfy, hope you didn't miss any meetings because you didn't want to get up). We appreciate the 5 Star review and all of your kind comments. We'll look forward to seeing you again when your travels return you to San Francisco...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York, United States
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2014

The suite was tiny, the noise was awful but there are beautiful photographs on the walls. The service is really good but its a bit shabby. Great location if you like to walk on Fisherman's Wharf. The hotel could use more upscale bathrooms, nicer decor and furnishings in the rooms and certainly put lamps near outlets.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Ruth L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ed S, Manager at The Tuscan, responded to this review, 28 February 2014
Hi Ruth L - Thanks for staying with us and for taking the time to share your observations via Trip Advisor and via the hotel's internal survey format. I appreciate the kind words and feedback for improvement. Nothing worse than having potential and never seeing it realized. We'll do better and I’ll make sure that our lamps are plugged in too!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2014

Great location in San Francisco-close to lots of things. We didn't need to rent a car at all, it's right by Fisherman's Wharf. Beds were very comfortable, we slept great. Only downside-walls are really thin, you can hear people talking next door and doors opening and closing. But I would definitely stay there again. Front desk staff were friendly and helpful. Beautiful hotel.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Aemm14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ed S, Manager at The Tuscan, responded to this review, 27 February 2014
Hi Aemm14 - Thanks for staying and for the kind words. Glad to hear you enjoyed the hotel, staff and our new luxurious beds! We look forward to your next visit...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bulverde, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2014

Great location, great staff (everyone), nice room decor, comfortable bed. Only complaint was we could have used a couple more dresser drawers. The room is on the small side, so a little more storage would have made life easier.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Larry C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ed S, Manager at The Tuscan, responded to this review, 27 February 2014
Hi Larry C - Thank you for staying with us and for the 5 Star review, much appreciated. Glad you enjoyed your visit, hopefully we'll see you again in the very near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sanger
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2014

The Tuscan Inn at Fisherman's Wharf is a destination all its own. The hotel is lovely in every regard = décor, amenities and convenient location. The most striking and wonderful aspect of the Tuscan is the personnel.. Every person is well-trained in their job, friendly and professional. The place eto stay in San Francisco!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank kathryn7grant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ed S, Manager at The Tuscan, responded to this review, 27 February 2014
Hi kathryn7grant - Thanks for staying with us and for the 5 Star review. Always a pleasure having you stay with us and we'll work hard to maintain your loyalty! Looking forward to your next visit...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Fisherman’s Wharf
Argonaut Hotel, A Noble House Hotel
Fisherman’s Wharf
Hotel Zephyr
Hotel Zephyr
#48 of 227 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,744 reviews
Fisherman’s Wharf
Pier 2620 Hotel Fisherman's Wharf
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Fisherman’s Wharf
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf
Fisherman’s Wharf
Hyatt Centric Fisherman's Wharf San Francisco
Hyatt Centric Fisherman's Wharf ...
#68 of 227 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 879 reviews
Fisherman’s Wharf
Courtyard San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Tuscan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Tuscan

Property: The Tuscan
Address: 425 North Point Street, San Francisco, CA 94133-1405 (Formerly BEST WESTERN PLUS The Tuscan)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Francisco > Fisherman’s Wharf
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#19 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#30 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#31 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#35 Green Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Tuscan 4*
Number of rooms: 221
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Since 1997, Frommer's Guide designates the Tuscan hotel, located just steps from the breathtaking San Francisco waterfront, as "the best hotel at Fisherman's Wharf." This gracious boutique hotel is characterized by its warmth and charm, impeccable service and Italian country villa ambiance. Adjacent to the hotel is the inviting Italian trattoria, Café Pescatore, completing the picture for an ideal stay in the City by the Bay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your The Tuscan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western San Francisco
Tuscan Inn Fishermans Wharf
San Francisco Tuscan Inn
San Francisco Best Western Tuscan Inn
Tuscan Inn San Francisco
Best Western Fishermans Wharf
Best Western Tuscan Inn Fishermans Wharf San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing