We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful Weekend Getaway” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Tuscan

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
The Tuscan
Ranked #53 of 227 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Wonderful Weekend Getaway”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2014

The location is great and the service is exceptional. We arrived early and without asking, the staff offered to see the availability of checking in early into a room which included parking our car. We put our bag in the room and headed out to be a San Francisco Tourist! Location allowed us to walk and visit the various Piers and have dinner. As for the "service", we were greeted by the employees with a smile and never had to touch a door handle, every door was opened for us! Recommend the hotel "wine hour", it allowed us to socialize with other guests from around the world. We picked this hotel using Trip Advisor and highly recommend this hotel. Will stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JuleVacationTime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ed S, Manager at The Tuscan, responded to this review, 2 May 2014
Hi JuleVacationTime - Thank you for staying with us and for the glowing review. We're very pleased to hear you had an exceptional experience at the Tuscan and we appreciate all of your kind comments. We'll be looking forward to your next visit and hope that all your future weekend getaways are glorious!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,996 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,793
    1,616
    433
    110
    44
See reviews for
1,104
1,808
91
204
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (631)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2014 via mobile

We have never stayed at a Best Western Plus before but we certainly would stay again. We had a noise issue the first night and upon telling the front desk they immediately changed our room, even switched our luggage for us since we needed to leave for a tour. The location was perfect, with easy access to transportation and Fisherman's wharf. The hotel was clean and bright. All of the staff we encountered, from the front desk, housekeeping, concierge and the valets were very friendly and helpful. Would recommend this hotel to our family and friends.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Kathy J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ed S, Manager at The Tuscan, responded to this review, 2 May 2014
Hi Kathy J - Thank you for staying with us and for the 5 Star review, most appreciated. This is certainly a very unique Best Western as we're also a Kimpton Boutique Hotel as well! Thanks for all of your kind words about the hotel and staff, our greatest compliment is when we hear that our guests will recommend us to their friends and colleagues. Thanks again and we hope to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2014

Excellent location. All staff were friendly and professional.

The free morning coffee was great but it would be better if management can add some continental breakfast items even with additional/ reasonable charges.

We would use this hotel again for our future visit to San Francisco.

Room Tip: interior courtyard room is quieter.
See more room tips
Green Features: It is good a practice to give guests a voucher for not requiring daily service in the room. It is environmentally-friendly.
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank boloo1037
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ed S, Manager at The Tuscan, responded to this review, 2 May 2014
Hi boloo1037 - Thank you for staying with us and for the 5 Star review. I'm glad you enjoyed the hotel, your kind words as well as your feedback for improving our service is much appreciated. We look forward to seeing and serving you again when your travels return you to the Fisherman's Wharf area!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Las Vegas, NV
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2014

Check in was a breeze and we were allowed to check in early. The rooms are beautiful and the beds were exceptionally comfortable. The entire staff were great. The bell desk was the best I have ever encountered. Definitely would stay there again. Location, location

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank goingtocapemay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ed S, Manager at The Tuscan, responded to this review, 2 May 2014
Hi goingtocapemay - Thanks for staying with us during the Easter Holiday and thank you for the 5 Star review. I'm so pleased to hear that you had such a fabulous experience at The Tuscan and that you were well cared for by our amazing team of fine men and women! We hope to have the luxury of serving you again when your travels return you to the Fisherman's Wharf area!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cancun, Mexico
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2014

We cannot praise the staff team enough at this hotel for their amazing kindness, attention to care and sheer professionalism.
This was our first stay in San Francisco and we had previously arranged to move onto another hotel for our final few days, however we decided to stay put!
The rooms were beautifully appointed and the beds, well, you did not want to leave them in the morning as they were so comfortable.
The highlight for us was the 5pm happy hour with drinks and canapés which the team laid on every evening for guests. This enabled great opportunities for sharing of experiences that guests were having in the area.
Tom and his front house team take the gold model for providing the most outstanding customer care ever...and we have stayed in many hotels. We cannot thank them enough.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Roland M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ed S, Manager at The Tuscan, responded to this review, 22 April 2014
Hi Roland M - Thanks for staying with us and for the 5 Star review. It was a pleasure having you and your wife visit us at The Tuscan and all of your very kind comments are much appreciated. Tom and the rest of the Gold Medal team will look forward to your next visit and we hope your Mexico adventure exceeds all of your expectations. We'll await your return the next time your travels bring you back to San Francisco and in the meantime, we wish you health and happiness. (And a glass of wine, or two)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RSM, California
Level Contributor
128 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2014

We stayed a total of 5 nights and really enjoyed our stay and the service was outstanding in every way. The entire staff was truly helpful and very friendly. After reading previous reviews, we did take a few to heart. We did ask for the 4th floor in a quiet area. We were granted this request. Though the room did not come with a microwave, we did request one and it was granted. As you have read from previous reviews, the hotel is very well located and a very short distance (less than 10 minute walk) from everything...Fisherman's Wharf, Pier 39, Ghirardelli Square, Alcatraz Tour Ferry, LOTS of tour vendors, PLENTY of restaraunts, and of course the cable car pick up and drop is actually 3 minutes away. One interesting aspect of the hotel is if you decide to pass on a day of room cleaning, you will receive a coupon for $5 off dinner in their restaraunt (Pescatore). You can use up to 2 of these coupons at once. So, we took them up on it twice and had a total of $10 off our dinner bill one night. As mentioned in previous reviews, their wine and snack time from 5 - 6pm each evening was a hit as well. The rooms were a little small compared to other hotels of the same type, but it was only the 2 of us, so we were fine.

All-in-all, we certainly enjoyed our room, our stay, the service, and when we decided to come back to SF, we will not look anywhere else but the Tuscan.

Another thought to consider when traveling to SF...Since we did not rent a car (mostly due to staying within the city and the cost of the car and parking would be well more than finding alternatives) we were completely relying on any sort of transportation we could find. We took a cab from SFO to the hotel (around $60), used public transportation (plenty of of it that stops very close to hotel), The Big Bus Tour and cable cars, and it was still cheaper than renting and parking for the time we were there. When we arrived at the hotel, our bellman offerred a "private town car" back to the airport for less than a cab ride. All we did was let him know the date/time and he took care of it. It was well worth it.

Room Tip: 4th Floor in back or courtyard view.
See more room tips
Green Features: Will give you a $5 coupon to use in their restaraunt (up to 2 coupons/$10 can be used at one time), if you do not have your room cleaned/serviced. Nice touch!!
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Travlin2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ed S, Manager at The Tuscan, responded to this review, 21 April 2014
Hi Travlin2 - Thank you for staying with us and for the 5 Star review. All of your very kind and thoughtful comments are most appreciated. Glad to hear you enjoyed your 5 nights with us and had a wonderful San Francisco experience. We'll look forward to your next visit and hopefully you'll be equally (or more) impressed!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pontefract, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
103 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2014

Stayed here for three nights whilst travelling. The hotel is really nice however valet parking is $45 plus tax per night. This seems typical in San Fran. The hotel offers complimentary coffee 6-10am and wine 5-6pm in the lobby everyday which is a nice touch. My only negative for the stay would be the air con in the room was too noisy to be able to sleep therefore we had to putti on until the room cooled down then turn it off again.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gary r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ed S, Manager at The Tuscan, responded to this review, 21 April 2014
Hi gary r - Thank you for staying with us and for the kind words, as well as the feedback for improvement. Glad to hear you enjoyed your 3 nights with us and that you were well cared for by the staff. Sorry about the A/C unit noise: hopefully you were still able to get a great night's sleep on our new luxurious beds. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Fisherman’s Wharf
Argonaut Hotel, A Noble House Hotel
Fisherman’s Wharf
Hotel Zephyr
Hotel Zephyr
#50 of 227 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,756 reviews
Fisherman’s Wharf
Pier 2620 Hotel Fisherman's Wharf
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Fisherman’s Wharf
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf
Fisherman’s Wharf
Hyatt Centric Fisherman's Wharf San Francisco
Hyatt Centric Fisherman's Wharf ...
#68 of 227 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 887 reviews
Fisherman’s Wharf
Courtyard San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Tuscan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Tuscan

Property: The Tuscan
Address: 425 North Point Street, San Francisco, CA 94133-1405 (Formerly BEST WESTERN PLUS The Tuscan)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Francisco > Fisherman’s Wharf
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#19 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#29 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#31 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#34 Green Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Tuscan 4*
Number of rooms: 221
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Since 1997, Frommer's Guide designates the Tuscan hotel, located just steps from the breathtaking San Francisco waterfront, as "the best hotel at Fisherman's Wharf." This gracious boutique hotel is characterized by its warmth and charm, impeccable service and Italian country villa ambiance. Adjacent to the hotel is the inviting Italian trattoria, Café Pescatore, completing the picture for an ideal stay in the City by the Bay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your The Tuscan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western San Francisco
Tuscan Inn Fishermans Wharf
San Francisco Tuscan Inn
San Francisco Best Western Tuscan Inn
Tuscan Inn San Francisco
Best Western Fishermans Wharf
Best Western Tuscan Inn Fishermans Wharf San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing