We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My Go-To Hotel. They put the BEST in Best Western!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Tuscan

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Tuscan
Ranked #58 of 228 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Irvine, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“My Go-To Hotel. They put the BEST in Best Western!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2014

I actually stayed at this lovely hotel last year in May and I loved it so much that when I decided to return to San Francisco this past weekend, the Tuscan Inn was the only hotel I considered and will consider for all future trips. I work for a hotel and travel a lot for business. So I'm VERY picky when it comes to hotels. But no matter how hard I TRIED, I could not find a single thing wrong with this hotel. Rooms were spotless. Public areas were well-maintained and tastefully decorated. All employees - from Front Desk Agents to housekeepers - were always prompt to greet me and ask if I needed any assistance. It was a perfect stay and this is my go-to hotel for all of my trips to the Bay area.

Pros:
- well-lit exterior and in a safe location. Safety is a big concern for me and my sister. But it was such a peaceful area that I had no qualms of walking to the hotel late at night after a busy day of sightseeing.
- convenient access to public transportation. There are multiple bus stops just across the street that can take you as far away as the Golden Gate Bridge. The maps they give out at the Front Desk are very detailed and helpful.
- Front Desk staff was well informed about the local area. So if the concierge is busy, just talk to the Front Desk Agents instead. They really know their stuff! They can book shuttles, have bus passes available for sale, and can make excellent recommendations for dinning.
- Wine Reception every day from 5-6pm. High quality wine and they are very generous with their re-fills. They even had freshly made pizza from their restaurant for you to munch on. My sister loved the wine reception since it was a great opportunity to meet other travelers and share stories.

Cons
- no free breakfast like other Best Westerns. But they do have a restaurant downstairs with yummy food. Other breakfast options can be found next door and across the street.
- close to a busy street but hey. San Fran is a busy city like New York. I find it so silly how people complain about city noise. Like, do they imagine the thousands of cars and people to suddenly become mute after 10PM? The hustle and bustle is just part of the overall character of a city. But if you are a light sleeper, just make sure to request a quiet room (perhaps one facing the courtyard) in advance and they will take care of you.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeevani27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ed S, Manager at The Tuscan, responded to this review, 2 May 2014
Hi Jeevani27 - Thank you for staying with us and for the absolutely fabulous review. What can I say? Your kind words are much appreciated and I have shared your wonderful comments with the entire team. We will work very hard to serve you brilliantly when your travels return you to Fisherman's Wharf and hopefully we'll have the luxury of seeing you again soon. Thank you again for taking the time to post such an amazing review of The Tuscan!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,021 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,794
    1,619
    439
    119
    50
See reviews for
1,111
1,820
91
206
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (636)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Carmarthen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2014

Very friendly helpful staff. Lovely clean big room. Good continental breakfast included, and other things on the menu are half price.
Only problem for me room to near the reception which was always heaving with people and I don't sleep well, some people will be fine.
Also road cleaners drive round about 3 am and the man emptied the parking meters about 6 am, again maybe must people could sleep through this. Not used to city life I live out in the sticks.
One big point do not use SUPER SHUTTLE to get to the hotel and back to the airport, terrible company, we had a nasty Russian driver who ripped us off! And after now looking at the reviews I wish I had checked them before using them, terrible reviews!

Room Tip: Don't have a room near the reception, is very busy late into the night, and I was unable to slee...
See more room tips
Green Features: Really pleased to see the hotel uses product's not tested on animals.
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank s w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ed S, Manager at The Tuscan, responded to this review, 2 May 2014
Hi s w - Thanks for staying with us and for taking the time to share your kind words and feedback. The vibrant and always lively SF Fisherman's Wharf is one of the top 10 tourist attractions in the United States. Being such a popular area, street cleaners, garbage trucks, parking meter collectors etc all work late at night and very early into the morning to rejuvenate the area for the new day of tourists, locals and everyone else who make the wharf their destination for the day. Hope you had a fantastic SF experience and we'll look forward to your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2014

What a gem! Wasn't sure what to expect but was pleasantly surprised when we walked into a lobby with beautiful furnishings and roaring fireplace. Friendly greeting at check-in from knowledgeable and helpul staff. Fun happy hour with manager leading the way inviting everyone to have a good time. Nice coffee, etc set-up in the a.m. Spacious rooms; very clean. Great location with an easy walk to Fisherman's Wharf (yuck), Embarcadaro (nice) and Cable Car lines. Stay here!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Daniel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ed S, Manager at The Tuscan, responded to this review, 2 May 2014
Hi Daniel S - Thank you for staying with us and for the 5 Star review. Glad to hear we exceeded your expectations and you found the Tuscan to be a "Gem"! We appreciate all of your very kind comments and hope to see you again soon...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2014 via mobile

The location is fantastic, very close to Fishermans's Wharf but away from the passing crowds. Very attentive and friendly staff, Matt on the front door springs to mind. The wine tasting hour is a nice touch but get there early for a seat. The standard queen room we had was adequately sized with good amenities. The a/c was loud and you could hear the courtyard fountain throughout the night which may disturb some.
The restaurant Pescadore which is attached is recommended.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank EdwardRook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ed S, Manager at The Tuscan, responded to this review, 2 May 2014
Hi Edward R - Thanks for staying with us and for the kind words and feedback. Sorry to hear that the court yard fountain and the sound of the a/c disturbed your quiet enjoyment of the hotel. Hopefully you had an otherwise fabulous SF experience and will visit us again the next time you return to San Francisco!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guildford
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2014

Thoroughly enjoyed our stay here and like other visitors arrived just in time for the "wine hour" which is a lovely touch. Staff very friendly and helpful and hotel centrally located for Fisherman's Wharf, Pier 39 etc. Would definitely stay there again, however, the only reason we did not give it an "excellent" was the fact that the noise from the street at night kept us awake. Earlier in our holiday we stayed in a Best Western in Santa Monica and the double-glazing was excellent so we didn't hear anything, however, in SF we were kept awake by sirens, people laughing and shouting in the street and at about 3am one morning, by the rubbish men emptying the bins! Would request a courtyard room next time but please note Tuscan Inn: secondary double glazing in Room 317 would be much appreciated in future!

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the courtyard are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jannywoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ed S, Manager at The Tuscan, responded to this review, 2 May 2014
Hi Jannywoo - Thanks for staying with us and for all of the great comments as well as the feedback for improvement. Happy to hear you had a great time and we were a perfect base for your SF experience. Fabulous group photo by the way! Hope to see you again soon...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2014

Great location for exploring the city, peaceful hotel with very friendly staff. Rooms not large but well equipped and fast free WIFI. Would stay here again. Price was reasonable for location in this city.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank 352alant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ed S, Manager at The Tuscan, responded to this review, 2 May 2014
Hi 352alant - Thanks for staying with us and for the 5 Star review. Glad to hear you enjoyed the Tuscan and did not allow our "cozy" rooms to deter you from having a satisfying experience. We appreciate your kind words and look forward to your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
honiton
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2014

Hotel was lovely. staff were very helpful. The rooms were clean & very comfortable. It was only a 5 minute walk to pier 39. there was a wine reception in the lobby every evening. they even had a cookie jar by the lift with dog biscuits in for their doggie guests

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank missy609
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ed S, Manager at The Tuscan, responded to this review, 3 May 2014
Hi missy609 - Thanks for staying with us and for the 5 Star review. I'm very happy that you had a wonderful visit, I'll have a glass of wine waiting for you the next time your travels return you to San Francisco!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Fisherman’s Wharf
Hotel Zephyr
Hotel Zephyr
#48 of 228 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,839 reviews
Fisherman’s Wharf
Argonaut Hotel, A Noble House Hotel
Fisherman’s Wharf
Pier 2620 Hotel Fisherman's Wharf
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Fisherman’s Wharf
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf
Fisherman’s Wharf
Courtyard San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf
Fisherman’s Wharf
Hyatt Centric Fisherman's Wharf San Francisco
Hyatt Centric Fisherman's Wharf ...
#70 of 228 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 934 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Tuscan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Tuscan

Property: The Tuscan
Address: 425 North Point Street, San Francisco, CA 94133-1405 (Formerly BEST WESTERN PLUS The Tuscan)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Francisco > Fisherman’s Wharf
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#19 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#31 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#33 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#35 Green Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Tuscan 4*
Number of rooms: 221
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Since 1997, Frommer's Guide designates the Tuscan hotel, located just steps from the breathtaking San Francisco waterfront, as "the best hotel at Fisherman's Wharf." This gracious boutique hotel is characterized by its warmth and charm, impeccable service and Italian country villa ambiance. Adjacent to the hotel is the inviting Italian trattoria, Café Pescatore, completing the picture for an ideal stay in the City by the Bay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Tuscan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western San Francisco
Tuscan Inn Fishermans Wharf
San Francisco Tuscan Inn
San Francisco Best Western Tuscan Inn
Tuscan Inn San Francisco
Best Western Fishermans Wharf
Best Western Tuscan Inn Fishermans Wharf San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing