We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“King George: great location!”
Review of King George Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
King George Hotel
Ranked #84 of 228 Hotels in San Francisco
GreenLeadersBronze level
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
52 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“King George: great location!”
Reviewed 4 January 2012

Spent three nights in the KG in early December after driving up from LA over a few days. The best thing is its location - a block away from the bustle of Union Square makes it ideal for Macy's (5 min walk tops) and for transport - we did one of the open-top bus tours which all go from there too and the cable car is only on the next road.
Also located between Loris Diner (which did awesome breakfasts and is exactly the sort of place that you want if you are from overseas and want a nice 'diner' experience) and Cafe Mason where we had a few lunches and dinners. These are right next door. Perfect.
The KG revels in being old-school which does have charm, but the louvered glass windows in the bedrooms don't block any of the noise and I'd rather they ripped them out and put in double glazing. It seemed that all the fire engines in San Fran went past on Saturday night and then on Sunday morning 7am some soccer fans decided it'd be fun to chant for an hour after whatever game they'd been watching in the Irish pub nearby. And we weren't even facing the main road so I hate to think how noisy it must be if you have a room on Mason St.
Noise aside the room was ok - the bathroom was tiny and the bed had a bit of a roll-to - but it was fine. It is old style but that's what I expected for the money I paid.
Overall I enjoyed staying there - probably more than I enjoyed San Fran actually - the KG has a homely feel, the staff are friendly (big thanks to Jake the concierge who was super helpful) and the location can't be beat. For those who don't have fancy hotel budgets I'd say give the KG a go.

Room Tip: I'd stay away from overlooking Mason St if you can -= just to have less noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alan42Brisbane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,412 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    306
    597
    338
    103
    68
See reviews for
192
590
121
208
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (243)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Modesto, CA
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2012

Found a great deal on a Saturday night stay in December under $89 for a King Suite at King George. Easy walk to Union Square, Cable cars, shopping etc. Rooms are small, but the King suite is the best. Bathrooms are small, but doable. Staff was very accommodating. Walls are thin so you here some noise, but all in all it's a clean, acceptable older hotel. Had a flat screen tv and although there isn't a/c there is a ceiling fan and it was enough to keep the room comfortable. On previous visits we haven't noticed the noise coming from other rooms like we did on this stay. Giggling women on one side and amorous adventures on the other side of us. Oh well, that's part of staying in a hotel at times. We have stayed here numerous times and will continue to do so.

Room Tip: The king bedroom is the best one to choose as it is larger than the queen bedroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank oma2knk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these San Francisco hotels

Orange, CT
Level Contributor
129 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2012

We only booked one night at this hotel only two blocks from Union Square, near the Powell Street BART station and cable car turntable. Our room cost $129, including $30 for parking our rental car across the street at a parking garage. I'm not sure why (we'd never stayed there before), but we were given a spacious L-shaped spotless room on the executive floor, with a king-size very comfortable bed and a large private bath. All furnishings were new or near-new, inclding a large LCD TV. Too bad it was for only one night! Nonetheless, the location is superb, and it's in a relatively safe neighborhood, with proximity to many attractions. I recommend this hotel heartily!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kevin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brea, California
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2012

We chose King George hotel for its location, and it definitely is in the best location possible if you want to be central and close to major San Francisco sights. We took the bart from the airport, so getting off the Powell st station, it's only a block and a half walk to the hotel. Even with our luggage, we found it very easy to find. Hotel itself is average. Rooms are on the smaller side, not much of a view. Bathroom is ok. It's quite an old hotel but they're trying to keep it up to date. We found out parking at the hotel per night is about $32 dollars a night, which was quite high but I guess that's normal for San Francisco. Staff was very helpful when we asked them how to get around. All in all, I would stay there again if i want to be in a central location to enjoy SF. Union Square is a block away, all the shopping and restaurants are seconds away, and the buses, F-line, and Cable cars are also minutes away. Good choice if all you need is a bed to sleep on!

Room Tip: Higher floors may have a view, but be aware that the elevator is tiny and very slow, so takes foreve...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MaryannW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
28 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2012

I got a great deal on this hotel and it's just a block from Union Square. Excellent location and the service was great too. It is a two and a half star hotel so the rooms are a bit dated, but they were definitely good for the price and location. I had a queen room that included a large closet and bathroom as well as a flat screen TV.
Couple things to note: the walls are fairly thin so it's easy to hear people outside your room, but the hotel is so small that this rarely happens. I don't think we had anyone staying next door to us so that may have lessened this problem.
Also, there's only a single ice machine and it's off the lobby, kind of inconvenient when I was staying on the top floor.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Clyntonium
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chico, Ca
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2011

The hotel is average.

The location is excellent. (You don't have to walk through tenderloin to get to where you want to go). The rate is most competitive. The staff is fine. The rooms are small but accomodative. Everything is clean-enough. So why not an above average or even excellent rating?

The deal breaker is the lack of any sound proofing (actually, even sound dampening) between rooms--at least the room we stayed in and the one next to us. You could hear the conversation, the coughs, the televsion and the passion like you were in the same room. Of course, in the wee hours of the morning there wasn't much ambient noise in our room to distract us. No conversation, no coughs, no television and any passion generally would have occured much earlier.

Ironically, i couldn't bring myself to complain to the desk because the conversation wasn't above normal voice, the coughing wasn't exaggerated, the television didn't seem to be playing loudly and the passion, although seemingly more frequent than one might expect, wasn't notably loud. The walls are too thin. And the construction material seems to amplify.

In the morning i mentioned the sound to the desk clerk. She looked at her computer and said that the people in the room next to us were checking out. That didn't happen and the second night same as the first.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kiwisan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jakarta
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 December 2011

Location, location, location….. King George hotel was in a great location, for everything around Union Square, Cable Cars are only 1 block away. The room & bathroom were very clean (cleaned everyday), free wifi, & the staff were very friendly.

Stayed for 5 nights, I would recommend this to friends and family.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank M-Siregar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Union Square
The Herbert Hotel
The Herbert Hotel
#80 of 228 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,293 reviews
Union Square
Handlery Union Square Hotel
Handlery Union Square Hotel
#71 of 228 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,834 reviews
Union Square
Hotel Fusion
Hotel Fusion
#125 of 228 in San Francisco
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,225 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Union Square
Hotel Union Square
Hotel Union Square
#102 of 228 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,640 reviews
Union Square
Villa Florence
Villa Florence
#77 of 228 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,425 reviews
Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
#15 of 228 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to King George Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about King George Hotel

Property: King George Hotel
Address: 334 Mason St, at Geary, San Francisco, CA 94102-1783
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Francisco > Union Square
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#60 Green Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — King George Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 153
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The King George Hotel is ideally located just steps from Union Square, seconds from San Francisco’s world-class shopping, dining and theatre. The hotel is two blocks from the historic Powell Street Cable Car line and a short walk or taxi ride to Moscone Convention Center, Civic Center, Sony Metreon, Yerba Buena Gardens, San Francisco Museum of Modern Art and the Financial District. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, Priceline, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your King George Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
King George San Francisco
Hotel King George
King George Hotel San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing