We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Affordable hotel close to Union Square”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
King George Hotel - A Greystone Hotel
Ranked #83 of 229 Hotels in San Francisco
GreenLeadersBronze level
Caerleon, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Affordable hotel close to Union Square”
Reviewed 5 January 2014

The title says it all - affordable hotel in a great position in San Francisco. Not the newest or best hotel but perfectly reasonable for the price. Rooms are small but clean, the staff were helpful. Originally put in a room on the third floor - with a view of a brick wall. Asked to change and was immediately offered a room on the ninth floor - not a fantastic view but definitely better than bricks!

Room Tip: We began on floor 4 and had a view of a wall approx 5 foot outside the window. Asked for a room chan...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SJ_Caerleon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,469 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    320
    623
    349
    105
    72
See reviews for
205
611
126
216
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (251)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Redding, California, United States
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2014

We have been to the King George many times over the last 12-15 years, usually associated with a 49er game. It is our favorite hotel in the Union Square area. The staff is friendly and helpful and the rooms, while a little small, are clean. There are many excellent restaurants within walking distance. Parking is right across Mason Street. We prefer to park ourselves. The free WIFI is very slow so stick to your own 4G or LTE.

Room Tip: If you like exercise, choose a lower floor and take the circular stair case.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank foresterfrank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KingGeorgeMgr, General Manager at King George Hotel - A Greystone Hotel, responded to this review, 3 January 2014
Dear foresterfrank,
We appreciate your loyalty to the King George Hotel and are pleased you chose to stay with us again (Go 49’ers)! We're thrilled to be your favorite hotel in the area and we're so pleased to hear you found our staff to be welcoming and helpful and our rooms to be clean during your stay.

We look forward to hosting your next stay in San Francisco!

Sincerely,
Bertrand Newson
General Manager
King George Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 December 2013

I stayed four nights at the King George Hotel when visiting the city on business in August 2013.

The King George is a really old, quaint building with almost a hundred years of history. If you like modern hotels, you will find its dark corridors and the shaky, old elevator rather creepy. However, I did feel like I was experiencing part of San Francisco's history by staying here.

The room I got on the 8th floor was nice and airy, though the radiator and ceiling fan offered little climate control, and the room was a little too chilly even in August. People who like modern furnishings should stay away - the room I stayed in was spartan by Asian hotel standards. A gaping hole where the radiator outlet went out of the building, and peeling paint on the walls did not make for a very plush looking space. It also smelled too much of cheap lemon-scented cleaner. However, the room was indeed clean and I was rather surprised by the good quality of sleep the bed provided. The bed was a traditional, wooden Western style bed with thick mattresses and was always well made.

I did not come across many members of the staff during my stay, but those that I met were nice and friendly. Room service was from the diner next door to the hotel, which was average at best, and scary at times. I did not quite like the fact that my breakfast sausages were covered in oil blackened with charred pieces of food. The laundry service was prompt and rates were reasonable.

The King George Hotel is located in the heart of San Francisco City, so it is a good starting point to explore the place. Golden Gate Bridge was quite a long bus ride away, but other city attractions such as the cable cars, Union Square and shopping malls were just a short walk away.

There are plenty of diners, cafes and restaurants in the immediate area around the King George Hotel. However, avoid the grocery store at the corner of the street just steps away from the hotel's main entrance. That grocery store seems to sell food and drinks at exorbitant princes (100 ml of drinking water for $2, and instant ramen noodles were $3). Instead, head over to the Wallgreens supermarket and drugstore just a street away from the hotel where prices are much, much cheaper ($2 for a 500 ml bottle of drinking water).

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank josada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KingGeorgeMgr, General Manager at King George Hotel - A Greystone Hotel, responded to this review, 27 December 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for choosing the King George Hotel for accommodations during your travels to San Francisco and we appreciate your business. Thank you for your candid comments and we are glad to hear you enjoyed our central location, friendly staff and historic charm. I’m happy to share that we’ll be starting a room renovation starting early next year.

We welcome the opportunity to accommodate you in the future.

Sincerely,
Bertrand Newson
General Manager
King George Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
denver
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 December 2013 via mobile

This place far exceeded my expectations. Very affordable, great location and very friendly staff who accommodated my every request. Will definitely stay here if I ever visit S.F. again, THANKS KING GEORGE STAFF FOR A WONDERFUL STAY!!!

Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank menomore5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KingGeorgeMgr, General Manager at King George Hotel - A Greystone Hotel, responded to this review, 26 December 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your "Awesome" review! I appreciate your acknowledgement of our friendly staff, great value, and excellent location, just steps from Union Square. We hope to have you stay with us again soon!

Sincerely,
Bertrand H. Newson
General Manager
King George Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sacramento, California
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 December 2013

We enjoyed our stay here! The room was small, but very cute, freshly painted and clean. There was a closet for our luggage, and a shower with great water pressure. The location is awesome, being right behind Union Square. A very short walk to restaurants, the ACT, etc. We will definitely stay here again!

Room Tip: I'm not sure if every room has a bathroom, so double check. Also, ask for a room away from the e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarah S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent, Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 December 2013

Our experience at this hotel was great. The room was clean, we never had any issues with the room. It was fairly quiet considering the location. Very peaceful. The staff was great, answered any question and was very helpful.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cjconry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KingGeorgeMgr, General Manager at King George Hotel - A Greystone Hotel, responded to this review, 26 December 2013
Dear Guest,
We appreciate your business and thank you for the kind comments regarding the quality of service and cleanliness of your room! We welcome the opportunity to accommodate you in the future.

Sincerely,
Bertrand H. Newson
General Manager
King George Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 December 2013

My mom and I really enjoyed our stay at the King George in November. It was clean, friendly, had helpful staff and great location! The elevator is pretty slow so we often took the stairs so not great if you are a wheelchair or stroller guest but great if you are able bodied. Great coffee and tea available each morning and a bunch of diners nearby with good options. Or you can request a fridge and they will bring it to your room based on availability so we chose to buy groceries for daily breakfasts. If you are looking for clean and good location, you won't be disappointed!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jessica H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KingGeorgeMgr, General Manager at King George Hotel - A Greystone Hotel, responded to this review, 23 December 2013
Dear Jessica L.,
We value your feedback and thank you for your recent stay the King George Hotel! We’re very pleased you enjoyed the customer service, overall quality of your room and the convenient location of our hotel near many dining establishments. We’d welcome the opportunity to accommodate you in the future.

Sincerely,
Bertrand H. Newson
General Manager
King George Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Union Square
The Herbert Hotel
The Herbert Hotel
#77 of 229 in San Francisco
1,340 reviews
Union Square
The Cartwright Hotel - Union Square, BW Premier Collection
The Cartwright Hotel - Union Squ...
#81 of 229 in San Francisco
643 reviews
Union Square
Villa Florence
Villa Florence
#96 of 229 in San Francisco
1,730 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Union Square
Handlery Union Square Hotel
Handlery Union Square Hotel
#67 of 229 in San Francisco
3,953 reviews
Union Square
The Kensington Park Hotel
The Kensington Park Hotel
#78 of 229 in San Francisco
1,165 reviews
Union Square
Hotel G San Francisco
Hotel G San Francisco
#50 of 229 in San Francisco
1,004 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to King George Hotel - A Greystone Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about King George Hotel - A Greystone Hotel

Property: King George Hotel - A Greystone Hotel
Address: 334 Mason St, at Geary, San Francisco, CA 94102
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Francisco > Union Square
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#61 Green Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — King George Hotel - A Greystone Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 153
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience comfort and style in downtown San Francisco. The King George Hotel is surrounded by the energy of Union Square and is an ideal hotel destination to return to after exploring the renowned sights and attractions of the "City by the Bay." Guests of our San Francisco LGBT-friendly boutique hotel will discover comfortable accommodations and on-site amenities such as Winston's Bar and Lounge, a San Francisco wine bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Southall Travel, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your King George Hotel - A Greystone Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
King George San Francisco
Hotel King George
King George Hotel San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing