We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very convenient” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of King George Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
King George Hotel
Ranked #83 of 227 Hotels in San Francisco
GreenLeadersBronze level
Taizhou, China
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Very convenient”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2014

The hotel locates just a block away from the union square. You can find restaurant, and convenient stores just minutes of walk away. Since the room is not big, but for a three-star hotel around union square, it is still understandable.

There's only coffee and tea supplied in the morning at the lobby. But I didn't go for it.

Construction carried on during my stay at day time.

Room Tip: Book a room on the hotel's website. There is promotion sometime and you can get better price...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LEI Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,374 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    297
    581
    331
    101
    64
See reviews for
184
573
120
204
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (237)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2014

Great experience, excellent staff, clean and quite! Price is right. Will definitely stay here again! I booked 1 night and then was planning on staying at an airbnb the other nights, after the airbnb didnt work out I came straight back to King George!

Room Tip: 8th floor has better wifi
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lamadon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KingGeorgeMgr, General Manager at King George Hotel, responded to this review, 3 April 2014
Dear lamadon,
Thank you for choosing the King George Hotel for your stay in San Francisco. We're happy you found our staff to be "excellent" and your room to be clean and quiet. Great to hear we’re your favorite boutique hotel in San Francisco and we look forwarding to welcoming you back on your next trip to the city.

Sincerely,
Bertrand H. Newson
General Manager
King George Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
52 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2014

Went there for the GDC event was quite satisfied.
King George Hotel is conveniently located near union square in the more normal part of San Francisco. The rooms are small (at least mine was), but clean and convenient, the service was professional and for its price, it's a great bang for the buck.

Room Tip: Take the higher floors on the back of the hotel, there won't be any view but if you're looki...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Moadeeb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KingGeorgeMgr, General Manager at King George Hotel, responded to this review, 4 April 2014
Dear Royalin,
Thank you for your kind review and for choosing the King George Hotel for your accommodations during the recent GDC convention. We’re glad you were happy with our professional staff, centralized location, and the value we offer. We appreciate your business and hope you visit us again the next time your travels bring you to San Francisco!

Sincerely,
Bertrand H. Newson
General Manager
King George Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cowichan Valley, B.C.
Level Contributor
194 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2014

I rarely care about all the "stuff" that hotels can offer other than a good sleep in a convenient location at an appropriate price. In order to have a good sleep, I need a clean and quiet room with a firm bed which is of a pleasant temperature. A convenient location means a site within walking distance of my chosen destinations and public transit. The price is commensurate with the location within the city I've chosen. In this case, San Francisco can be pricey at any time and this hotel was very affordable. Perhaps it's considered to be in a dodgy neighbourhood ("Tenderloin" - dear God, the imagination runs wild: tender + loins = I don't know - sex, male prostitutes ...?) but during our 4 nights there we encountered none of that (at least it didn't come up and bite us), just a bit of "spare some change?" which one can encounter in most of urban North America. The place was clean, quiet, the thermostat worked (which was good since, at times, one side of a San Francisco street can be in a chilly fog while the other can be in the blazing sun - and it changes regularly) and the location is two blocks from Union Square which is a seemingly very safe and central downtown hub of shops and sights - lots of shops, you can see one of the cable car termini and Chinatown's southern end is a couple of blocks away. Also BART from SFO runs down Market and has a stop at Powell which means only a ~4 block trip with your bags. I can't say anything about the "other" services offered by this place because we never used them. It Really gave us everything we wanted, let alone, needed.

Green Features: They had the ubiquitous "please hang up your towels" policy which poor old California needs more than almost anywhere else in the Western world.
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank jhsheep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KingGeorgeMgr, General Manager at King George Hotel, responded to this review, 31 March 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your recent stay with us. Good to hear we were able to meet your expectations with the comfort of your room accommodations. Our centralized and safe location is one of our strongest selling points as we sit in the heart of the renowned Union Square shopping, theater and restaurant district. We’d welcome the opportunity to accommodate you in the future!

Sincerely,
Bertrand H. Newson
General Manager
King George Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Morgantown, West Virginia
Level Contributor
266 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2014 via mobile

I loved this hotel and the renovations will obviously add to it's charm. The staff was the nicest group of people I've had help us at any hotel. They were always happy to answer questions and accommodate us. Which is exactly what they did when we arrived at 10 am on our check in day. They had us in a room within 10 mins with no extra charge for early check in.

Yes the rooms are smaller but ours was renovated. It worked for us as we were rarely in the room. Only small downside was no fan in the bathroom.

Other pluses... The free wifi is actually free as well as the coffee, tea, and water in the lobby. The valet is $40 a day after tax. In San Francisco this is amazing.

Location is amazing! Right near Union Square in the heart of downtown. We were happy to see a 24 hour diner across the street and a liquor store 30 feet up on the corner. There is also a Lori's 50's diner next door and a jack in the box across the street. Plenty of other restaurants and shopping nearby.

I would absolutely stay here again! Bravo to the staff for being good at that their jobs and happy nice people overall.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank hugs4tree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KingGeorgeMgr, General Manager at King George Hotel, responded to this review, 25 March 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your valuable feedback concerning your recent stay with us. We appreciate your kind comments regarding our centralized Union Square location and the friendly and personalized service provided by our staff. I'm glad we were able to check you in early and that you enjoyed our free Wi-Fi and complimentary coffee. As you noticed, we’re in the midst of a room renovation and we'll look forward to your return visit the next time your travels bring you to beautiful San Francisco.

Sincerely,
Bertrand H. Newson
General Manager
King George Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
320 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2014

Enjoyed our stay at the King George hotel. Yes, it is old, but it is fine. The hallways are narrow, the elevator is small, and in the bathroom you have to close the door to sit on the toilet! But, It reminded me of a simpler time when we were not so concerned about excess. The rooms were clean and comfortable, and the service good. Would stay there again.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Njoytravl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KingGeorgeMgr, General Manager at King George Hotel, responded to this review, 31 March 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your recent stay with us. Glad to hear you were pleased with the friendly service provided by the staff along with the cleanliness and comfort of your room. I am pleased to inform you that we are in the process of a room renovation project that includes newly remodeled bathrooms. We welcome the opportunity to accommodate you in the future!

Sincerely,
Bertrand Newson
General Manager
King George Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2014 via mobile

I had the pleasure of staying here for 3 nights. I was allocated a room on the top floor (9th). The room was quite small but had everything I needed and was clean and comfortable.

I must say the room came across very dated and speaking to the staff they were very happy to say a major refurbishment was under way. It didn't put me off but did encourage mme not to spend much time in tthe hotel.

The hotel is located in an excellent location and the staff were friendly and very courteous. I am sure this place will be even better once the refurbishments are complete.

Also if it could provide light meals at the bar this wouldn't be a bad thing, advertisements suggested they offered this but no sign of it when I was in the bar.

Anyway if the hotel read this, thank you for a comfortable stay and being in a great location!

Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank James S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KingGeorgeMgr, General Manager at King George Hotel, responded to this review, 18 March 2014
Dear James S,
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We read every review on Tripadvisor and we appreciate your valuable feedback regarding your recent stay with us. Thank you for your comments regarding our centralized location and our clean and comfortable accommodations. As you noticed, we’re in the midst of a room renovation that will address several of your observations. I’m confident you’ll enjoy the new contemporary décor and efficient room layout. We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to San Francisco.

Sincerely,
Bertrand H. Newson
General Manager
King George Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Union Square
The Herbert Hotel
The Herbert Hotel
#81 of 227 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,263 reviews
Union Square
Handlery Union Square Hotel
Handlery Union Square Hotel
#72 of 227 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,742 reviews
Union Square
Villa Florence
Villa Florence
#77 of 227 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,227 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
#13 of 227 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,015 reviews
Union Square
Hotel Union Square
Hotel Union Square
#102 of 227 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,575 reviews
Union Square
The Kensington Park Hotel
The Kensington Park Hotel
#74 of 227 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to King George Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about King George Hotel

Property: King George Hotel
Address: 334 Mason St, at Geary, San Francisco, CA 94102-1783
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Francisco > Union Square
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#60 Green Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — King George Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 153
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The King George Hotel is ideally located just steps from Union Square, seconds from San Francisco’s world-class shopping, dining and theatre. The hotel is two blocks from the historic Powell Street Cable Car line and a short walk or taxi ride to Moscone Convention Center, Civic Center, Sony Metreon, Yerba Buena Gardens, San Francisco Museum of Modern Art and the Financial District. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, Hotels.com, Southall Travel and Odigeo so you can book your King George Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
King George San Francisco
Hotel King George
King George Hotel San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing