We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Budget Friendly, Friendly Staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
King George Hotel - A Greystone Hotel
Ranked #85 of 231 Hotels in San Francisco
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 29 May 2014

This hotel has a lot of history dating back to around the SF Fires. The rooms are compact, but there is enough space to change, big closets, a tv and a large enough bathroom. You are right next to Union Square in the middle of it all with only a short walk to the muni. They will hold your bags and the staff couldn't be nicer!!!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelTime619
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KingGeorgeMgr, General Manager at King George Hotel - A Greystone Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you for an excellent review. I am glad to read that you were pleased with our spacious and comfortable rooms and our ideal location just steps from Union Square and near public transportation. Thank you for your kind comments regarding our helpful and friendly staff. Providing our guests with exceptional service is our top priority and we appreciate your acknowledgement. We welcome the opportunity to accommodate you in the future!

Sincerely,
Bertrand H. Newson
General Manager
King George Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,587)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

627 - 633 of 1,587 reviews

Reviewed 29 May 2014 via mobile

I arrived to this "boutique" hotel expecting shabby chic but all I've gotten so far is shabby. I knew there was no restaurant at the hotel but the front desk staff kindly gave me 20% off coupons for restaurants on either sided the site. The same coupons in every tourist guide pamphlet.so nothing special. I'm booked for 4 nites but when I checked in yesterday the clerk kind of pointed to a piece of paper stating there was no water in the room from 9-5 for routine maintenance. Ick! I needed a toilet! None available at the hotel! Checked in anyway and literally ran the two blocks to Macys. The free wifi doesn't exist into room. Front desk told me to call a certain number but after an hour on the phone, they said it was an issue at hotel. I think because the drilling noise from construction on the floor above made it impossible for me to hear the tech in India. No water again today and maybe tomorrow. This is just unacceptable. The hotel sent me all kinds of welcomes and advertising before I arrived. You'd think they might have given me a heads up about NO WATER. The staff is friendly but obviously unable to help. When I asked how much my bill would be reduced,I got a weird look. I so wanted to like this hotel. I'm off to the Weston around the corner to see if they have a room for my last 3 nights in this wonderful city.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
1  Thank TravMuch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KingGeorgeMgr, General Manager at King George Hotel - A Greystone Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you for choosing the King George Hotel for accommodations during your travels to San Francisco. I apologize that we failed to meet your expectations during your stay. We understand your frustration with the water issues as we had to temporarily interrupt our water service due to the ongoing improvements tied to our room renovation project. The water inside the hotel has been restored and we are sorry for the inconvenience this caused you. Please do not hesitate to contact me directly in an effort to further discuss your recent stay with us. Also, we’re in the process of evaluating our Wi-Fi signals speed/strength, which should address your concern.

Sincerely,
Bertrand Newson
General Manager
King George Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

This little hotel is average. Great location, but the accommodations are subpar. The staff was very friendly and helpful, but the rooms are small and outdated, the building seems a bit unclean, and we were a little nervous to leave our belongings in the room while out and about. But if you're looking for a decent place to stay for a good price - how long do you really need to spend in your room, anyway? - King George Hotel is a fine choice.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ALubov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KingGeorgeMgr, General Manager at King George Hotel - A Greystone Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2014

Dear Laura S.,
We appreciate your business and thank you for choosing the King George Hotel during your travels to San Francisco. I apologize that we failed to meet your expectations during your stay. We’re in the middle of ongoing improvements associated with our room renovation project that will address your observations regarding exterior noise and room décor. Please do not hesitate to contact me directly in an effort to further discuss your recent stay with us.

Sincerely,
Bertrand Newson
General Manager
King George Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2014

The hotel was booked as part of a business package whilst visiting San Francisco for the Microsoft Build conference so I wouldn't have necessarily chosen to stay here. However it was free so I can't complain about the value.

The first impression you will get when arriving is that it is narrow and has a bizzare "American view of Britiain" theme. Period paintings adorn the walls of each level, each containing too many anachronisms to note here. Pretty hilarious stuff but in the eyes of an American this is probably seen as "quaint". Anyway that's the only bad bit about this place.

Whilst we were there the whole building was beginning renovation and updating so in a few months the whole place is going to be different so I'm not going to comment on the room quality or building ( which were both excellent). The elevator is straight out of a twilight zone episode.

The hotel is in a really ideal spot for shopping, restaurants or just getting out and walking. Almost central in the city with everything in walking distance. The only downside is there is no breakfast available, only coffee. However this isn't such a bad thing, with two nice diners just next door.

I would recommend this hotel due to its proximity to the city centre, however please be aware that tramps hover around the alleyway between the hotel and the Youth Hostel next door and start talking to themselves at around 5am. Strange..

Recommended.

Room Tip: Have breakfast at Louis diner, just a few meters right out of the main entrance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Quinndexter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KingGeorgeMgr, General Manager at King George Hotel - A Greystone Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 May 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you for your recent stay with us. We're glad to hear you were pleased with our centralized location in the heart of Union Square close to shopping, restaurants and all that San Francisco has to offer. We appreciate your feedback regarding the hotels décor, which is being addressed with our current room renovation project. Thank you for your recommendation of our hotel and we welcome the opportunity to accommodate you in the future!

Sincerely,
Bertrand Newson
General Manager
King George Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2014

The hotel is in a great location, pretty central to everything which was great. Currently the hotel is undergoing renovation work so it was a little loud at times, to which the staff have been very apologetic about and have gone out of there way to make my stay more comfortable. The renovation plan for the rooms looks lovely, so although there is current building work.....it will be very nice when complete.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nicole P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KingGeorgeMgr, General Manager at King George Hotel - A Greystone Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 May 2014

Dear Nicole P.,
Thank you for your recent stay with us and we're glad to hear you were pleased with the exceptional service provided by the staff along with our centralized location near Union Square. As you mentioned, the hotel is currently undergoing a major room renovation project including updating the guestrooms and replacing windows to improve soundproofing. We apologize for any noise issues you encountered during your stay and look forward to having you stay with us in the future and experience one of our newly renovated rooms.

Sincerely,
Bertrand H. Newson
General Manager
King George Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2014

I recently stayed here for a business conference and highly recommend this hotel. It's in a great location, with lots of restaurants and theatres in the area. The staff are friendly and helpful, and the rooms are clean and modern. The hotel is in the process of renovating the rooms, which will make them even nicer.

The hotel doesn't have a pool or fitness center on site, but there is a nice gym just a block away. If you're staying in San Francisco, then you should get outside and enjoy a run!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ken S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KingGeorgeMgr, General Manager at King George Hotel - A Greystone Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 May 2014

Dear Ken S.,
Thank you for your excellent 5-star review of our hotel! We're glad to hear you were pleased with our friendly and helpful staff, the cleanliness of your room and our centralized location in close proximity to restaurants and theater venues in the Union Square area. As you mentioned, the King George Hotel is currently undergoing a room renovation project, which includes updating our guestrooms and replacing windows to improve soundproofing. We look forward to having you stay with us in the future and experience one of our newly renovated rooms.

Sincerely,
Bertrand H. Newson
General Manager
King George Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for 2 nights.
Pros: renovated room
- friendly and helpful staff
- hotel is close to everything!!

Cons: poor valet service (they use a public parking space and the staff at the car park are useless - we dropped our car off at hotel to use valet, 10mins later we had forgotten something in the car, went to the car park location (100m away) and found our car on the street unlocked!!!!)
- door handles in room did not close
- TV remote never worked (called maintence, and took three people to get us a new controller!)
- bath plug never worked!
- no air con, only a fan (on a 93 degree day)
- Bathroom in less than a meter squared - only on person can fit in at a time!
Would probably not stay again!

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank ebony154
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KingGeorgeMgr, General Manager at King George Hotel - A Greystone Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 May 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you for staying with us during your recent visit to San Francisco. I am glad to hear you were pleased with the exceptional serviced provided by the staff, along with our centralized location in close proximity to restaurants and public transportation in the Union Square Area. We appreciate your candid feedback and will follow up on your observations regarding your room.
Sincerely,
Bertrand H. Newson
General Manager
King George Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Union Square
The Cartwright Hotel - Union Square, BW Premier Collection
The Cartwright Hotel - Union Squ...
#73 of 231 in San Francisco
780 reviews
Union Square
The Grant Hotel
The Grant Hotel
#130 of 231 in San Francisco
1,074 reviews
Union Square
Hotel Union Square
Hotel Union Square
#89 of 231 in San Francisco
1,925 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Vertigo
#70 of 231 in San Francisco
1,446 reviews
Union Square
Hotel Bijou
Hotel Bijou
#119 of 231 in San Francisco
826 reviews
Union Square
Hotel Diva
Hotel Diva
#100 of 231 in San Francisco
2,042 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to King George Hotel - A Greystone Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about King George Hotel - A Greystone Hotel

Address: 334 Mason St, at Geary, San Francisco, CA 94102
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Francisco > Union Square
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#61 Green Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range: £97 - £213 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — King George Hotel - A Greystone Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 153
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience comfort and style in downtown San Francisco. The King George Hotel is surrounded by the energy of Union Square and is an ideal hotel destination to return to after exploring the renowned sights and attractions of the "City by the Bay." Guests of our San Francisco LGBT-friendly boutique hotel will discover comfortable accommodations and on-site amenities such as Winston's Bar and Lounge, a San Francisco wine bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Agoda, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your King George Hotel - A Greystone Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
King George San Francisco
Hotel King George
King George Hotel San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing