We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small but clean”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
King George Hotel - A Greystone Hotel
Ranked #85 of 231 Hotels in San Francisco
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Party of four in San Francisco for a Giants game, we reserved 2 rooms in the updated wing, the beds was very comfortable and the room was very clean, but bit small. After the game we all had dinner together, during our conversation we notice that we were charged more than they were, so when we checked out we brought it to the attention of the Hotel desk person, he very kindly adjusted the rate with our AAA discount. Great staff they were all very accommodating. only one problem we had Valet parking and when we got our vehicle back we noticed our satellite antenna had been damaged, the supervisor immediately contacted the Propark parking people and we filled an incident report, our satellite radio was down and as soon as we pulled away from the hotel our navigation went down as well as our phone. Now we will see how proPark handles their business. Small and slow elevator.

Room Tip: Ask for the updated area
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank riverwolf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,587)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

606 - 612 of 1,587 reviews

Reviewed 5 August 2014

We really enjoyed our 4 day stay at King George Hotel this summer. Prime location near Union Square and some of the best diners nearby. Overall a very pleasant stay and I recommend this hotel to everyone.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Oluf_Hiltmar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KingGeorgeMgr, General Manager at King George Hotel - A Greystone Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2014

Dear GOluf_Hiltmar,
Thank you for the great 5-star review and for choosing us during your recent travels to San Francisco. We appreciate your kind feedback regarding our centralized location in close proximity to the Union Square Area and great local diners. Thank you for recommending our hotel and we look forward to having you stay with us again in the future.

Sincerely,
Bertrand H. Newson
General Manager
King George Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

On my trip to the USA I stayed in three hotels and this was my favourite such friendly staff, great location and reasonable prices. This hotel is just what I pictured for San Francisco. Loved the king George.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank angela007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2014

All the hotels around Union Square have a great location, this is no exception but this hotel stands out because of the front desk and concierge, whose friendliness and dedication to help you to discover San Francisco was really useful and appreciated.
Some of our party had an 'upgrade' or refurbed room but there was hardly any difference between those and the originals. It sells itself as a 3 star and the prices reflect this. There is no restaurant but a bar and an area serving free tea, coffee and iced water until late morning which is cool.
We didnt need any more than this, so if you want a good location at reasonable price and help to explore the great city of San Francisco, using the King George as a base, then this is the hotel for you.
Its about a 5 minute walk from Powell station which is a 10 stop ride on the Metro from the airport. It is flanked on either side by two good 'diners' but just around the corner is an Italian Expresso bar selling fabulous Italian pastries, drinks, smoothies, etc

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LondonCarolyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KingGeorgeMgr, General Manager at King George Hotel - A Greystone Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2014

Dear Guest,
We value your business and thank you for your recent stay with us. We are glad you enjoyed our excellent location in the heart of Union Square and just a few blocks from the Powell Street Bart Station for easy access to and from the airport. Thank you for mentioning our friendly and dedicated staff. Our goal is to provide each guest with exceptional service and we thank you for your accolades. We welcome the opportunity to accommodate you in the future!

Sincerely,
Bertrand H. Newson
General Manager
King George Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2014

In a prime location, situated just two minutes from Union square, also there is great diners and eateries nearby. The hotel itself has excellent customer service at the reception desk. The rooms were clean and comfortable. Overall a pleasant stay,would recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Amanda N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KingGeorgeMgr, General Manager at King George Hotel - A Greystone Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2014

Dear Amanda N,
We appreciate your business and thank you for choosing to stay with us during your recent travels to San Francisco. I’ll be sure to share with my staff your feedback regarding their exceptional service. I'm glad you enjoyed our central location near Union Square for shopping and dining and that you found our rooms to be clean and comfortable. We look forward to having you stay with us again in the future.

Sincerely,
Bertrand H. Newson
General Manager
King George Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2014

This is an older hotel but with a great location near Union Square and all the good stuff around there. My room was very small, but fine for a single traveler. Only one elevator and no A/C in my top floor room, but window opened fully to take advantage of the breeze (kind of scary actually). 24-hour room service from the diner next door for a $5 service charge. If you don't care about a fancy room or luxury amenities available at some other name hotels nearby, then pay a little less for the same great location.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank therockandsister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2014

Set right off of Union Square, you can't get much more centrally located in San Fran. We were looking for a great jumping-off point to explore the rest of the city, so this worked well for us. You can get anywhere on foot within an hour (including the GG Bridge) and are right off of the BART/near buses, etc. The compromise is that you are right in the center of the city! (It's a bit touristy, etc.) The hotel has been recently updated, so our room was clean and well-appointed. The staff were also really friendly. It is a bustling hotel - lots of folks arriving/leaving - but it somehow stays pretty quiet. Perfectly acceptable, convenient, comfortable hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Leslie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Union Square
The Cartwright Hotel - Union Square, BW Premier Collection
The Cartwright Hotel - Union Squ...
#73 of 231 in San Francisco
780 reviews
Union Square
The Grant Hotel
The Grant Hotel
#130 of 231 in San Francisco
1,074 reviews
Union Square
Hotel Union Square
Hotel Union Square
#89 of 231 in San Francisco
1,925 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Vertigo
#74 of 231 in San Francisco
1,446 reviews
Union Square
Hotel Bijou
Hotel Bijou
#119 of 231 in San Francisco
826 reviews
Union Square
Hotel Diva
Hotel Diva
#99 of 231 in San Francisco
2,042 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to King George Hotel - A Greystone Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about King George Hotel - A Greystone Hotel

Address: 334 Mason St, at Geary, San Francisco, CA 94102
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Francisco > Union Square
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#61 Green Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range: £98 - £213 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — King George Hotel - A Greystone Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 153
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience comfort and style in downtown San Francisco. The King George Hotel is surrounded by the energy of Union Square and is an ideal hotel destination to return to after exploring the renowned sights and attractions of the "City by the Bay." Guests of our San Francisco LGBT-friendly boutique hotel will discover comfortable accommodations and on-site amenities such as Winston's Bar and Lounge, a San Francisco wine bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Southall Travel, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your King George Hotel - A Greystone Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
King George San Francisco
Hotel King George
King George Hotel San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing