We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Simply Amazing People. Will be back”
Review of King George Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
King George Hotel
Ranked #84 of 228 Hotels in San Francisco
GreenLeadersBronze level
Buffalo, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Simply Amazing People. Will be back”
Reviewed 5 July 2010

One of the best experiences my wife and I have had, and although we don’t travel and write reviews for a living, we have stayed at places all over the world (Barcelona, London, Chicago, Morocco, Venice, Rome, Ireland, etc). My wife and I booked the King George Hotel for us and about 80 of our guests to stay for our wedding in Sonoma (we charter bused to the venue the day of wedding). This hotel was fantastic for a number of reasons, so I will just list them:
First, location, location, location. One block from Union Square, a central part of downtown San Francisco with great shopping. Also, nearby where you hop on the trolley and Chinatown is around the corner. And the public transportation is only a couple blocks away (which is very efficiently run in San Francisco). You could take the BART from the airport to a stop two blocks away from the hotel (or they also have a shuttle). Thus, you are in a prime location to experience great shopping and food, without ever having to rent a car.
Second, friendly staff. Everybody behind the desk at the concierge was amazing. After they met you once they remembered your name (maybe this is because we were the party with 100 people). Regardless, they always took care of your needs, whether it be best place to rent a car, good places to eat, need an additional room, etc. By way of just one example, one of our guests missed the charter bus from the hotel to the venue in Sonoma on the other side of the Golden Gate Bridge. Within 10 minutes the concierge, Elliot, had our guests hooked up with a rental car at an amazing rate (and they managed to make it for the nuptials). Drew, the bartender, was a definite hit with half of our guests. All in all, our guests could NOT stop raving about the friendly hotel staff.
Third, good rooms. They are typically smaller rooms, probably best described as quaint and European. But they are nice, clean, and typically quiet despite being located downtown. But when you’re in San Francisco, you’re probably spending most of your time out in the city anyway.
Fourth, great price. The rooms might be smaller, but I got just an amazing rate. Our wedding fell on the same weekend as Gay Pride Weekend, so you can imagine how high many of the rates were because of the high occupancy. But Hotel King George gave us a price that was almost half of every other hotel located in the same area (and we checked just about every hotel). I mean, if price is not a consideration for you, you can pay over 3 times as much and get a great room at the Westin St. Francis right around the corner for $369.00 a night. But if you want to keep it low and still retain value, King George Hotel is the way to go.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GrammatonCleric
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KingGeorgeMgr, Manager at King George Hotel, responded to this review, 9 July 2010
Thank you for your business and kind words. We know you had many options with hotels and we were honored that you allowed us the wonderful opportunity to accommodate you and your family and friends for your wedding. Thank you also for pointing out our staff, we strive to give every guest exceptional service. On behalf of the entire staff of the King George Hotel, we extend a lifetime invitation and our doors will always be open to you.

Best regards,

Bertrand Newson
General Manager
King George Hotel San Francisco
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,412 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    306
    597
    338
    103
    68
See reviews for
192
590
121
208
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (243)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
england
2 reviews
Reviewed 2 July 2010

we came to san francisco for a wedding and was recommended to stay here by the bride. What a great hotel to stay in, great location 2 mins from union square, 5 mins to china town! the staff could not have been more helpful and friendly! most of the guests for the wedding stayed here,so the hotel let us have the bridal party in the oxford room which was brilliant. Drew the bartender was a jewel in the crown of san francisco ;) really went the extra mile, professional and welcoming! the room was clean and the house keepers were great.
we loved san francisco, we loved the King George and would love to stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gallham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Sacramento, California
1 review
Reviewed 20 June 2010

Location, location, location--King George is ideally located and within short walking distance to major shopping and bus lines (not to mention a couple of Starbucks!). We had the "breakfast special" rate that included "free" continental breakfast or get an $8.99 credit towards breakfast of your choice at Max's Cafe. You would think that $8.99 would cover a good chunk of the breakfast bill but the balance still came to over $20. There was also an additional 5% "benefits" charge (and who does that benefit??). The "fresh squeezed" orange juice smelled and tasted like it came from a carton of Tropicana. The following morning we ate at Cafe Mason, located directly next door to King George. Breakfast came to $30 but there was froth on the orange juice from having just been squeezed in the kitchen and the pulp sitting near the bottom. The food was served with some fresh fruit and overall, the quality of the food was much better than Max's. It would benefit King George to establish a relationship with this cafe. It's conveniently located (you have to cross the street to get to Max's) and open 24 hours (Max's opens at 7 a.m. for breakfast). Didn't get much sleep while staying at King George (Friday night seemed much noisier than Saturday) so a good breakfast with bottomless amounts of coffee from an attentive wait staff is so much appreciated.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank amytan53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florence, Kentucky
Level Contributor
52 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2010

This hotel is a hidden gem. Excellent staff, the gentleman at the front desk, concierge, and bartenders where all beyond helpful, nice and fun. The housekeepers where so wonderful one could be heard signing every morning, what a way to start the day to hear someone signing and happy with their job !! The location is two blocks from the BART, trolley, shopping and entertainment. Wonderful hotel at a wonderful hidden between the Westin and the Hilton !!

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank basildogpuppy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anaheim, California
2 reviews
Reviewed 9 June 2010

The King George is quite a find. It is a great little boutique hotel with clean rooms in a perfect location. The staff was incredibly nice and accommodating, especially the front office manager Rhei Hufana. We had some issues with our booking (through a third party) and he went out of his way to make our stay enjoyable... I would return just because of him.

With an affordable room in Union Square, you never quite know what you are going to get but this one was just what we needed. The rooms were a little small, but what hotel in downtown San Francisco doesn’t have small rooms? We will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mandybmedina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hampshire
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2010

This is an old fashioned, but cosy hotel in the heart of San Francisco. We knew from reviews that the rooms were going to be small, but they were smaller than I imagined and the bathroom tiny. The beds were a bit soft and creaky - but the room and bedding was clean. This hotel is ideal as a base of exploring SD but a few nights is enough, as cabin fever was about to set in. The room facilities were minimal, at just a coffee maker and TV, and the hairdryer only blew out cold air. Although, I wouldn't have felt safe walking around at night on my own, the hotel was very quiet and no outside noise and I felt safe in my room.

The main down sides were small rooms, decor in need of modernising and no free internet terminal in reception. Only free Wifi was offered and you have to pay ridiculous amounts to pay to use the PC in reception - this was the only hotel in our trip which didn't provide free internet in reception. The water system was quite noisy, especially when others ran water elsewhere.

Suggested improvements - free wired internet, free breakfast (esp as no facilities or space to eat in your room).

Overall - an adequate, reasonably priced base, ideal for sightseeing but nothing special and I wouldn't stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Poundhappy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
1 review
Reviewed 26 May 2010

The King George is quite a find. Great prices, clean rooms, and perfect location in the middle of everything. The staff was incredibly nice and were even able to let us check in when we got off the plane at 11am. They locked up our bags after we checked out so we could run up to North Beach for one last meal before our flight home. You never quite know what you are going to get with a Union Square affordable hotel but this one was charming and perfect for what we needed it for. Rooms are on the small side, but what San Francisco downtown hotel doesn't? We will go back for sure.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kcowbells
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Union Square
The Herbert Hotel
The Herbert Hotel
#80 of 228 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,293 reviews
Union Square
Handlery Union Square Hotel
Handlery Union Square Hotel
#71 of 228 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,835 reviews
Union Square
Hotel Fusion
Hotel Fusion
#125 of 228 in San Francisco
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,225 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Union Square
Hotel Union Square
Hotel Union Square
#102 of 228 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,641 reviews
Union Square
Villa Florence
Villa Florence
#77 of 228 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,428 reviews
Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
#15 of 228 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to King George Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about King George Hotel

Property: King George Hotel
Address: 334 Mason St, at Geary, San Francisco, CA 94102-1783
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Francisco > Union Square
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#60 Green Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — King George Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 153
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The King George Hotel is ideally located just steps from Union Square, seconds from San Francisco’s world-class shopping, dining and theatre. The hotel is two blocks from the historic Powell Street Cable Car line and a short walk or taxi ride to Moscone Convention Center, Civic Center, Sony Metreon, Yerba Buena Gardens, San Francisco Museum of Modern Art and the Financial District. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, Priceline, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your King George Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
King George San Francisco
Hotel King George
King George Hotel San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing