We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Smallish room with a view to die for”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Nikko San Francisco
Ranked #31 of 230 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 4 September 2012

So I wasn't overwhelmed with my room on check-in until I opened the drapes. OMG what a view. I could see all the way to the water. The location was excellent if you are in town for work or a conference, Union Square and Mission ST are a very short walk and for the price compared to what else was available at the time, you really couldn't beat it. I just laid on my bed and stared at the view, who needs TV.

Room Tip: Get one high up with a view. It really makes the experience.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TurtleCat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NikkoGal, Marketing Coordinator at Hotel Nikko San Francisco, responded to this reviewResponded 7 September 2012

Dear TurtleCat,

Thank you for your review of Hotel Nikko San Francisco. I can’t agree with you more on the breathtaking view. On a side note, we hope you got to see the rest of San Francisco since it has so much to offer.

Please feel free to stay in touch with us through Facebook.com/hotelnikko to get updates on events in the city and specials in the hotel!

Thank you again and we look forward to welcoming you again.

Best,

Marcia Striffeler

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,785)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,834 - 1,840 of 3,785 reviews

Reviewed 4 September 2012

This hotel is located in Union Square, very close to cable cars and any other transports. The hotel is a luxury one. Always clean. The only thing is you need to pay for any service, nothing is included.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nora C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NikkoGal, Marketing Coordinator at Hotel Nikko San Francisco, responded to this reviewResponded 7 September 2012

Dear Nora C,

Thank you for taking your time to write a review on Hotel Nikko SF. We pride ourselves in being located conveniently to a lot of San Francisco’s landmarks and transportation. We continuously strive to keep up with our high standard of hospitality services. For the best deals such as complimentary internet, visit our own website hotelnikkosf.com

Regards,

Marcia Striffeler

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2012

I am still staying here at this moment so my review could change over time. My wife and I checked in last night after a day flying across the country. Upon check in we were asked if we wanted to upgrade to a king room over the queen room for 20 dollars a night. I thought about this after being asked 3 different times but never really being told what else this upgrade included (how can i make a decision without any real information) and finally said "sure why not". Let me tell you that the upgraded room is still very small, I'd like to see the original room and see just how small that room is.

The upgrade does not give you access to the Internet service so you will still have to pay up for that, even though it was offered to the couple next to us. It also does not include access to the health club, so you will also still have to pay for that too.

Ordered room service becaue it was late and we did not want to go out looking for food after a long flight. My wife's soup was runny and not very good and my French fries were cold. The food was delivered promptly so there is that.

I have two days left at Hotel Nikko, today we'll explore the neighborhood and maybe try the restaurant in the hotel hopefully things get better. The hotel has a lot of potential but the small headsratchers (pointless upgrades, Internet, and health club fees) keep it from being top notch.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank slymm21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NikkoGal, Marketing Coordinator at Hotel Nikko San Francisco, responded to this reviewResponded 4 September 2012

Dear Slymm21
I would love to chat with you regarding your stay. Please contact me at 415.394.1146
Marcia Striffeler

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2012

Wow, amazing. I somehow found a good last minute deal at Hotel Nikko, and pretty sure it was one of the last rooms available. I had never stayed here despite multiple opportunities to do so. This will now be a must-check hotel next time I stay in SF. I do have to admit, I got upgraded to a suite upon check-in. But the overall quality, cleanliness, furnishings, clean air, white marble, stellar service, etc all made for a beautiful stay.

If you have a couple extra bucks, I do recommend you upgrade to an executive suite. Mine was absolutely stunning, on the corner of the 17th floor I believe. Multiple rooms, elegant furniture like a silk (or something ) couch with tons of pillows, the finest sheets and pillows, multiple bathrooms, huge window - it felt like the kind of suite where Prince Harry would have been caught in the nude with photos showing on on TMZ moments later.

Exceptionally nice service, great location, and one of the cleanest hotels I've stayed in, ever. I will be back again and again.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank phillysilver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2012

Our room was lovely (king deluxe) and very clean. The internet charge was a little steep, and parking is expensive, but the hotel is in a great location very close to Union Square, bus lines and the cable cars. The staff at the hotel was very helpful - especially the concierge. There is a Starbucks in the lobby, the fitness room was excellent and the pool/hot tub area was very clean. The bed was very comfortable with high quality linens, and our room (16th floor) was very quiet. We had a wonderful stay, and would recommend it to friends.

Room Tip: If you book directly through the hotel, wi-fi is free. Otherwise it is about $20 a day.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ktmoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NikkoGal, Marketing Coordinator at Hotel Nikko San Francisco, responded to this reviewResponded 7 September 2012

Dear ktmoon,
Thank you for your recent review. We’re always happy and grateful to hear that you’ve enjoyed your stay with us at Hotel Nikko SF. That’s a great tip for future guests here; booking online always guarantees you free access to the internet.

Also, we’ll make sure to pass this review to the concierge team. They love to be recognized for their excellent service. Thank you!

Regards,

Marcia Striffeler

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2012

We were on the Nikko Floor (20 & 21); not overly spacious but comfortable room; wonderful bed; nice view of the city; included breakfast Buffet at ANZU which was excellent (lots of variety- Chinese, fruits, meats, cheeses, fish, eggs benedict, potatoes, etc). The hotel staff was courteous; the concierge was helpful; the hotel was quiet and had a homey feeling instead of a rushed, busy, big city feel.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christian F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NikkoGal, Marketing Coordinator at Hotel Nikko San Francisco, responded to this reviewResponded 7 September 2012

Dear Chris F,
Thank you for your recent review. We’ll make sure to pass this review to the staff and concierge; your positive comment definitely puts a smile on our face and helps to continually keep up with excellent services.

Once again, we truly appreciate the time you took to write about us and we would be happy to welcome you again.
Like us on facebook.com/hotelnikko and keep yourself updated on special deals and events in the city.

Warm regards,

Marcia Striffeler

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2012

Location is very good on doorstep of Union Square. Various places to eat within 5-10 minutes walk to suit any ones budget. Very cold and impersonal hotel staff with the exception of concierge who was very helpful. Rooms are really small and bathroom is a bit like a closet with a door to match. Overall not a bad 2 night stay but expected a bit more for the price.On a side note I know people here recomend staying at Union Square as FW is too "touristy" but if you are a tourist there is nothing wrong with staying there or Embarcadero.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Plickec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Union Square
The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square
SoMa
InterContinental San Francisco
InterContinental San Francisco
#37 of 230 in San Francisco
3,056 reviews
Union Square
Grand Hyatt San Francisco
Grand Hyatt San Francisco
#38 of 230 in San Francisco
4,976 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Alise - A Staypineapple Hote...
#11 of 230 in San Francisco
668 reviews
SoMa
Palace Hotel
Palace Hotel
#27 of 230 in San Francisco
1,410 reviews
Union Square
Hilton Parc 55 San Francisco
Hilton Parc 55 San Francisco
#78 of 230 in San Francisco
2,709 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Nikko San Francisco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Nikko San Francisco

Address: 222 Mason St, San Francisco, CA 94102
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Francisco > Union Square
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in San Francisco
#12 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#20 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#24 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#26 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#40 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range: £138 - £445 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Nikko San Francisco 4*
Number of rooms: 532
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Retreat to Hotel Nikko in San Francisco, where personalized service meets cutting-edge style. Our hotel is set in the heart of the city, just steps from Union Square shops and restaurants, making it the ideal destination for both business and leisure travel. Our four-diamond rated property features 532 guest rooms and 22 suites, each with pillow-top beds, high-speed internet, and a wealth of modern amenities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelsClick, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Nikko San Francisco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nikko San Francisco
San Francisco Nikko
Nikko Hotel San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing