We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Unique Japanese influence in a city full cookie cutter brands”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Nikko San Francisco
Ranked #35 of 228 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
34 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Unique Japanese influence in a city full cookie cutter brands”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2013

I loved my stay at Hotel Nikko. The unique decor, well priced room, and boutique hotel style was exactly what I was interested in. I was traveling for business so it is a great location, however it is also group friendly. The view of the city during sunset was equally impressive. My room had a surround sound stereo that came equipped with jazz cd's, soul music and ambiance sounds, (for lack of a better word).

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DOLEKNEE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NikkoGal, Marketing Manager at Hotel Nikko San Francisco, responded to this review, 27 August 2013
Dear Doleknee

Thank you for your recent perfect score review on TripAdvisor. We appreciate your comments and look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
With my best regards,
Marcia Striffeler
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,550 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,523
    1,372
    432
    133
    90
See reviews for
577
1,331
235
884
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (553)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Pottsville, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2013

Couldn't have been happier with this hotel, from the staff to the shampoo all wonderful, my only gripe would be this day and age no one should have to pay for the Internet! Or the pool and spa but only $20.00 for both of us for the week, should be free!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dei352
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NikkoGal, Marketing Manager at Hotel Nikko San Francisco, responded to this review, 27 August 2013
Dear Del352
Thank you for taking the time to comment on your stay at our hotel. We appreciate your comments regarding our staff. They really are an amazing crew! We hope to see you again soon.
With warm regards,
Marcia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2013

I'm very happy with our stay at the Nikko, for rates in Downtown SF I was happy to find this hotel. I wasn't expecting as nice of a spot as we got.

Our hotel room wasn't large but the bed was comfortable and the room as very clean, location was great too.

Easy walking distance to everything.

Room Tip: Higher floors have less street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NikkoGal, Marketing Manager at Hotel Nikko San Francisco, responded to this review, 27 August 2013
Dear Peter371
Thank you for staying with us for 5 nights on your recent trip to San Francisco. For your next vacation I suggest trying the Deluxe King room. They are a bit larger than the Petite Queen rooms.there is even TV in the bathroom mirror!
Thank you for your comments. We look forward to your return.
sincerely
Marcia Striffeler
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auburn, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2013

We stayed for two nights to celebrate our wedding anniversary. The room was very clean and new looking. The king sized bed was so comfortable and the best part was lying in it and watching the full moon rise over the city. Our room had a view facing East with glimpses of the San Francisco Bay and the Bay Bridge as well as the beautiful buildings in the area. It was so convenient to board the hop-on-hop-off bus right at the corner of our hotel and visit all the tourist attractions of the city.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank April G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NikkoGal, Marketing Manager at Hotel Nikko San Francisco, responded to this review, 27 August 2013
Dear April G.
Congratulations on your anniversary! We appreciate that you chose to spend it with us at the Hotel Nikko and that you enjoyed your stay. We hope that this becomes and annual event!
With warm regards,
Marcia Striffeler
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chiba Prefecture, Japan
Level Contributor
178 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2013

The Nikko Hotel is only a few minutes from Market Street and Union Square (shops and transport) in San Francisco, so the location is near the BART and Muni Metro and therefore ideal.

The rooms are modern and very comfortable, with a lot (and I mean a lot!) of pillows on the beds. The views from the room are OK, typically the surrounding streets of the city. I was staying in a corner room with great views in two directions, and it was pretty quiet. The in-room safe is large enough for laptops. WiFi was available in the room, and free with the package I chose (but is probably not always free).

The business facilities are OK - there is a business centre with a UPS delivery service and PCs for printing boarding passes (maybe not free though).

There's only one reason I don't stay there every time, and that's the price. Sometimes they are very expensive (maybe there's a convention in town) but other times a more reasonable price. If the price works for you when you search, I'd say it's a good choice.

Room Tip: Corner rooms have nice views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mjb1001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NikkoGal, Marketing Manager at Hotel Nikko San Francisco, responded to this review, 27 August 2013
Dear mjb1001
Thank you for your comprehensive comments regarding your hotel. you will be happy to know that the business center just received a welcome renovation and has all of the latest amenities. Boarding passes may always be printed by the concierge for free. You are smart to purchase out packages. they always offer great values.
With warm regards,
Marcia Striffeler
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level Contributor
51 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2013

Stayed 2 days in Nikko, San Francisco in a double Deluxe.
The room was vast and confortable ..... and the view was good on San Francisco's building (we had a hight floor, over 15).
The location, near Union Square, is very convenient.

Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Philippe D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NikkoGal, Marketing Manager at Hotel Nikko San Francisco, responded to this review, 20 August 2013
Dear Philippe D

Merci for taking the time to comment on your stay. We are delighted that you enjoyed your visit to
our hotel and San Francisco. We hope that you will return again soon.

With warm regards
Marcia Striffeler
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Union Square
Grand Hyatt San Francisco
Grand Hyatt San Francisco
#38 of 228 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,419 reviews
Union Square
Axiom Hotel San Francisco
Axiom Hotel San Francisco
#23 of 228 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 246 reviews
SoMa
InterContinental San Francisco
InterContinental San Francisco
#32 of 228 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,829 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Union Square
Taj Campton Place
Taj Campton Place
#7 of 228 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,099 reviews
Union Square
The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square
SoMa
Hotel Zetta San Francisco
Hotel Zetta San Francisco
#21 of 228 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 809 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Nikko San Francisco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Nikko San Francisco

Property: Hotel Nikko San Francisco
Address: 222 Mason Street, San Francisco, CA 94102-2115
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Francisco > Union Square
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in San Francisco
#12 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#23 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#28 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#40 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#42 Family Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Nikko San Francisco 4*
Number of rooms: 532
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the fine art of hospitality and the ultimate in personal service set in the midst of a city world-famous for its charming history and its cutting-edge style. Hotel Nikko, just steps from Union Square in the heart of San Francisco, is an ideal destination for business travel or a special getaway. Hotel Nikko offers 510 elegantly appointed rooms and 22 suites. Guests are pampered by such amenities as Subarashee Yume pillow-top beds, high-speed Internet access, large flat panel televisions, stereos and CD players. Room service is available 24 hours each day. The Imperial Club rooms on the top floors provide breathtaking views of the city and offer special features such as Vibe TV viewed through the bathroom mirrors and luxurious Subarashee Ame showers. The exclusive Imperial Club Lounge serves a light breakfast each morning, and a wine and beer reception each evening. Guests enjoy our indoor fifteen-meter heated pool and whirlpool bathed in natural light from atrium windows. Hotel Nikko also features a 10,000 square foot health club that's open 24 hours, offering the latest in cardiovascular and weight equipment as well as men's and women's steam rooms and dry saunas. Massages, including traditional Shiatsu massages, are available by appointment. Our exquisite ballroom is a stunning venue for weddings, other social events and business meetings. The hotel also offers thirteen other function room and boardrooms, all with windows for natural light and impressive views of the city and the bay. Whether you are planning a simple conference for ten or a lavish gala for eight hundred, Hotel Nikko San Francisco will do everything to ensure your event is a stirring success. The elegant and intimate Restaurant ANZU is one of San Francisco's most acclaimed dining experiences. Here, European and Japanese culinary traditions reinvent one another creating a whole new delicious gourmet culture; and guests at ANZU's exclusive Sushi Bar are treated to an incomparable menu of fresh fish. ANZU serves breakfast, lunch and dinner, and on Sunday it presents its lavish Sunday Brunch. Our full bar with its breadth of wines and cocktails, displays an exciting imagination with its extensive menu of specialty cocktails and signature sake martinis. The lobby level Kanpai Lounge offers light cuisine, a full bar, specialty martinis, an extensive wine list and unique coffee and tea drinks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda, Odigeo, Priceline, TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Nikko San Francisco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nikko San Francisco
San Francisco Nikko
Nikko Hotel San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing