We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect for SFO”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Nikko San Francisco
Ranked #32 of 229 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Aguascalientes, Mexico
Level 6 Contributor
284 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
“Perfect for SFO”
Reviewed 25 November 2013

Location couldn't be better in the heart of SanFrancisco, the hotel has everything that one could possibly need, rooms are kind of small but I think all hotels in San Francisco have small rooms.
Many reviewers complain about how expensive it is to use the swimming pool, they only charged me $20 for the entire length of my stay so, if you'll stay just one night then it is expensive, but who goes to San Francisco to swim in a hotel?
Not too close to the Nikko, in the Japanese district of SFO one can find the Kabuki SPA, simply amazing! I'd return to SFO just to visit Kabuki again.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Salvador S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NikkoGal, Marketing Manager at Hotel Nikko San Francisco, responded to this review, 27 November 2013
Dear Salvador S,
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay. We are so glad to hear that you were pleased with your swimming experience and enjoyed all amenities in the hotel. We are also glad to hear that you were able to explore the city a little bit and enjoy Japantown. We hope you will come back and visit us again soon!
Best Wishes,
Marcia Striffeler
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,642 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,582
    1,395
    438
    133
    94
See reviews for
590
1,372
237
905
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (566)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2013

Loved this hotel from the minute we pulled up in our cab. We were greeted by friendly staff, and really nice front desk staff. Room was amazing on one of the highest floors, great size mini bar and bathroom! Location is so close to union square and cable cars. We had a lot of fun here and definitely and amazing experience; will be staying here again! A bit on the noisy side at night but anywhere you stay in San Francisco is.

Thank you Nikko Hotel :)

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vinee S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NikkoGal, Marketing Manager at Hotel Nikko San Francisco, responded to this review, 21 November 2013
Dear Vinee S,
Thank you for your wonderful five circle review. We really appreciate all of our guests comments and really love to read such positive reviews like yours. We are so glad to hear that you felt great walking into our hotel of happy staff. We are also thrilled that you enjoyed your guest room and the amenities in both the mini bar and the bathroom. We look forward to having you back again!
Warm Regards,
Marcia Striffeler
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2013

This hotel was a wonderful surprise. Elegant, comfortable, and wonderful. The staff was as helpful as could be. Room service was quick and tasty. The beds were extremely comfortable. In addition to all of this the location was fantastic. Right down town but not ON the square. Convenient to every thing including the cablecar. Could not have been better

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank coleendear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NikkoGal, Marketing Manager at Hotel Nikko San Francisco, responded to this review, 21 November 2013
Dear coleendear,
Thank you for your wonderful five circle review. We value all of our guests comments and appreciate all of the positive comments you made about your stay. We are so glad to hear that you enjoyed the comfortable beds and room service that was quick and delicious. It is also great that you were pleased with the location. Please come back and visit soon!
Sincerely,
Marcia Striffeler
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wallace, North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
206 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 November 2013

Stayed here last week. Hotel is nice, clean with friendly staff. Located near shopping and easy walking. Rooms were nice.Not that far from a seedier section, and when I took a walk early one morning, a street gentleman was relieving himself on the mailbox next to the hotel(not a great way to start the day, but I GUESS WHEN YOU HAVE TO GO, YOU HAVE TO GO)

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hyeykysy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NikkoGal, Marketing Manager at Hotel Nikko San Francisco, responded to this review, 21 November 2013
Dear hyeykysy,
Thank you for your comments. We are so glad to hear that you enjoyed the clean property and friendly staff. We are also glad that you found the location close for walking to shopping. Your early morning encounter is a shocker. The city is working on this issue and clearly has some work to do. We hope you will come back and visit us again soon!
Best Wishes,
Marcia Striffeler
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brandon, Mississippi, USA
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 November 2013 via mobile

My wife and I stayed here for the National Realtor conference. The hotel was nice. All of the common areas were kept clean. Most of the staff members I came in contact with were nice. The room we got was a corner room that was a good extra. If you can, try to get one of those rooms. Half of the walls were full size windows. Bathrooms were nice size, and the beds were pretty comfortable.

It cost $20 to use the gym during the stay. I personally thought this should be included because the hotel is not cheap. It may be included if you aren't on a conference rate. It was worth the $20. The gym was clean and had everything you need for a workout. The indoor pool and hot tub were also a nice feature.

I'm normally not a fan of dining in hotels, but restaurant ANZU in the hotel was rated good on both google and open table. The restaurant would get a 3.5 star rating from me. It was good enough to go back to but nothing special.

I would recommend this hotel.

Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Wally C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NikkoGal, Marketing Manager at Hotel Nikko San Francisco, responded to this review, 21 November 2013
Dear Wally C,
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay and your beautiful corner room. We are also thrilled that you took advantage of the spa and health center and found it very enjoyable. Thank you for also giving Anzu a try and we are glad that you thought it was good. We hope you’ll come back for another visit so that we can wow you in Anzu and hopefully provide another wonderful hotel experience.
Best Wishes,
Marcia Striffeler
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
1 review
Reviewed 15 November 2013

Hotel Nikko was just awesome!its location is just perfect!very well connected. the staff is very friendly and rooms are spectacular!the indoor pool was really nice because it was quite chilly oustside. The frisco train stop was about a minute away from our hotel. we got the most out of our trip because we booked in a bundle and saved quite a bit of dough. we did not rent a car because in my opinion it only adds to the hassle of paying for parking, tolls, gas, insurance, worrying about getting into a fender bender with the downtown traffic, and just the idea of driving in a busy downtown setting is so stressful. not at all holiday like. so skip the rental, and use public transportation, walk alot, and bike alot! thats what we did and we thoroughly enjoyed ourselves by the grace of Allah. it was awesome! I highly recommend the hotel and the city, we are planning to head back there! hehehe

Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Ind0Pak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NikkoGal, Marketing Manager at Hotel Nikko San Francisco, responded to this review, 21 November 2013
Dear Ind0Pk,
Thank you for your fabulous five circle review. We are so glad to hear that you had a wonderful experience with our staff, location, rooms, and indoor pool. We also loved reading about your very active experience exploring the city via foot, bike, and public transportation. Of course we love hearing about guests who love our hotel but we also love hearing when guests fall in love with our city. We look forward to having you back for another great stay.
Warm Wishes,
Marcia Striffeler
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aptos, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 November 2013

I paid for my room in full through a travel site. When I checked in, I provided my credit card for incidentals.

I dropped my key off in the express checkout box when I departed early the next day.

Somehow they took that as an opportunity to charge me for my room AGAIN. Mistakes happen, but where the hope of maintaining customer satisfaction lies is how the mistake is handled. This is where this hotel failed.

When I sent a message to the hotel, they did not respond. I sent a customer survey and that went unnoticed as well.

This hotel needs to work on their administrative customer service in a major way before I would ever consider staying with them again.

Now I have to waste more time doing battle with my credit card company to dispute the charge. Not happy.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank meghanzz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NikkoGal, Marketing Manager at Hotel Nikko San Francisco, responded to this review, 21 November 2013
Dear Meghanzz
An error was made and corrected, but not in a timely manner. I sincerely apologize. Your credit card has been credited so you do not need to battle with your credit card company. These events are rare. In the future, the best way to have a charge removed immediately is to speak directly to a Front Desk Manager.

I apologize that we let you down. We will use this as a "eachable moment" so that it does not occur again.
With warm regards
Marcia Striffeler
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Union Square
Grand Hyatt San Francisco
Grand Hyatt San Francisco
#39 of 229 in San Francisco
4,678 reviews
SoMa
InterContinental San Francisco
InterContinental San Francisco
#34 of 229 in San Francisco
2,936 reviews
Union Square
Axiom Hotel San Francisco
Axiom Hotel San Francisco
#17 of 229 in San Francisco
322 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Union Square
The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square
SoMa
Palace Hotel
Palace Hotel
#24 of 229 in San Francisco
1,212 reviews
SoMa
Hotel Zetta San Francisco
Hotel Zetta San Francisco
#20 of 229 in San Francisco
856 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Nikko San Francisco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Nikko San Francisco

Property: Hotel Nikko San Francisco
Address: 222 Mason St, San Francisco, CA 94102
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Francisco > Union Square
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in San Francisco
#12 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#21 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#26 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#40 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#42 Family Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Nikko San Francisco 4*
Number of rooms: 532
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Retreat to Hotel Nikko in San Francisco, where personalized service meets cutting-edge style. Our hotel is set in the heart of the city, just steps from Union Square shops and restaurants, making it the ideal destination for both business and leisure travel. Our four-diamond rated property features 532 guest rooms and 22 suites, each with pillow-top beds, high-speed internet, and a wealth of modern amenities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo, HotelQuickly, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Nikko San Francisco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nikko San Francisco
San Francisco Nikko
Nikko Hotel San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing