We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hidden Gem”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Nikko San Francisco
Ranked #35 of 228 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
40 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Hidden Gem”
Reviewed 23 June 2014

Loved this place - booked it using Priceline so we did not choose the hotel as such, great location, great rooms, 2 minute walk to shops in Union Square and within walking distance of loads of restaurants & bars. The Concierge whom I think was called Nikko arranged a trip on a sea plane for 4 of us, all very last minute but well worth every penny. Starbucks attached to hotel was a nice surprise.
Valet parking quite reasonable too, with as many in and outs as you need. Downside they do charge for using the gym and pool which seemed a bit odd.
Now I have to add when we first arrived it seemed there was rather allot of homeless folks wandering around, I think a block or more behind the hotel is some type of shelter, but being 100% honest sadly you see them every where, yes its a shock to see, but its a city and I cant think of any city that does not have its fair share of homelessness. Don't let this put you off.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KathyGuernsey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NikkoGal, Social Media Community Engagement Manager at Hotel Nikko San Francisco, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
Hi KathyGuernsey,
We are so glad you uncovered our "Hidden Gem" Hotel Nikko! We are very appreciative of a perfect 5 circle rating and your thoughts about the helpful service from the Concierge and location to shopping and restaurants (including our own Anzu Restaurant, which we hope you had the chance to try, otherwise...next time!)

Appreciate too your thoughts about the epidemic of homelessness around the United States. I will pass along the comments to the San Francisco City Managers who are always looking for ways to help the homeless in San Francisco and to improving tourist experience.

Happy Travels,
Anne Hudson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,573 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,539
    1,377
    432
    133
    92
See reviews for
579
1,341
235
892
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (557)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
51 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2014 via mobile

I stayed here for 6 nights whilst attending a conference. The hotel was in a great location to walk to the conference centre and sample the sights. It was a 15-20 minute walk to the ferry building where you could sample the divine cuisine of The Slanted Door Vietnamese restaurant. We queued for about 40 minutes to join the cable car at the start of the line on Powell St. Tip buy ticket them walk 1 junction up. No queued.
Beds in the Nikko were very comfortable and my room on the 21st floor was excellent with coffee making facilities, a stereo system and great selection of mini bar snacks. I paid $50 dollars extra a night for free wifi & breakfast. It was very annoying each morning to explain why I didn't have a token and told that I would have to pay.
The breakfast was ok but there are plenty of cheaper diners for breakfast just outside the hotel that I would suggest if your on a budget.
Didn't try the hotel bar as our group ate out every evening. I was surprised to find that San Fran closes at 2am and there's no where to get an alcoholic drink even in the hotels. A great city I will definitely return and wouldn't hesitate to stay at the Nikko.

Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Becky B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NikkoGal, Social Media-Community Engagement Manager at Hotel Nikko San Francisco, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
Hi Becky B.,
We are so glad that you enjoyed your 6 night stay at Hotel Nikko and it sounds like you really found time outside of the conference to enjoy many of the wonderful things to do in the city such as Cable car and the Ferry Building which are steps away and a short enjoyable walk respectively from the hotel.

You pointed out the one thing that those with East Coast ties would like to change early morning hours past 2 AM. However, for your next visit check with the concierge for a list of after-hours restaurants there's a few that continue until 4 am. You can also see it in the posts on the Hotel Nikko Facebook page, so follow us.

Return soon for business or pleasure!

All the Best,
Anne Hudson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego
1 review
Reviewed 23 June 2014

Great beds, clean and quiet room. I didn't hear my neighbors once. Solid water pressure in the shower, which may sound funny until you encounter variable water temperatures and water pressure at older SF hotels. Excellent location, good service.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jboot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NikkoGal, Social Media-Community Engagement Manager at Hotel Nikko San Francisco, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
JBoot, thank you!

We appreciate your perfect 5 circle rating AND the highlighting of the excellent water pressure here especially. That is a very important feature that doesn't always get it's due praise! We look forward to your return stay soon.

Happy travels and Happy showers!
Anne Hudson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Freehold, New Jersey
Level Contributor
115 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2014

I didn't know much about this hotel before arriving so was pleasantly surprised. It's a little hard to find the entrance if you are driving but once you do there is a big circle to pull into it with lots of people to assist you with your car ($50+) and bags. We parked our car here 1 night but then put it in a garage across the street for the other 2 to save a little money.

Check-in is on the first floor and it's very nice. The gentleman who checked us in asked if we wanted wifi, gym or breakfast included for a price. We choose the gym for $20 for 2 of us for the 3 days we were there and I think it was worth it. It includes the pool and hot tub and the gym was very well equipped. There were multiple treadmills, ellipticals, bikes, free weights and nautilus type equipment. Plus there were mats, exercise balls and a pilates reformer. It was one of the better gyms I have seen.

Our room was on the 12th floor and was very nice. It was spacious with a very big bathroom with separate shower and tub. The nicest feature in there was the mirror that didn't fog! We didn't hear any noise from neighbors and found that the hotel was situated in a good spot for getting around. I see that a few other reviewers mentioned that this was in a bad part of town. We did notice a lot of people asking for money but figured that was all over town. If it was just in this section I can confirm that occurs quite often. We were able to walk to a few nice restaurants and bars with no trouble which we liked.

I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NikkoGal, Community Engagement Manager at Hotel Nikko San Francisco, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Hello Karench14,
We are so glad that you discovered us and we love that Hotel Nikko was a "pleasant surprise!" We appreciate the 4 circle rating and mostly that you plan to return to Hotel Nikko, that's the ultimate compliment and our goal!

All the Best,
Anne Hudson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2014 via mobile

Asian themed hotel run in an asian style with firm commitment to service at all levels - from checkin to valet to the anzu restaurant.
Rooms are perfectly sized. We had one on the 21st floor. Bathroom had separate tub and shower which was appreciated. Location was close to muni stations as well as great places to eat like Dojima ann for Japanese and Chabaa for Thai food.
Anzu breakfasts were ok. Same fare everyday but quality was good and fresh.
Didn't have dinner there
Would stay here in a heartbeat due to the pleasant attitude of staff and general cleanliness .

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Turmansky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NikkoGal, Social Media-Community Engagement Manager at Hotel Nikko San Francisco, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Hi Turmansky!
Thank you for the 5 circle rating. We are thrilled to see you especially enjoyed the "pleasant staff" and appreciate your comments about the nice size of rooms, bathroom décor and overall cleanliness. We look forward to welcoming you on your return stay soon.

Best,
Anne Hudson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level Contributor
76 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2014

The Nikko is as you would expect from this hotel group - beautiful lobby, professional staff, nice rooms. I was travelling with my young child so the main reason I booked this hotel was because of its indoor pool and wasn't disappointed. The pool itself was nice and we enjoyed lots of swimming, basking in the warmth from the atrium. The areas around the pool were undergoing much-needed renovation so hopefully will look great once finished. I did book a club room which included use of the pool and free wifi - otherwise I wouldn't have been happy paying additional for use of the pool. I do think it's odd to charge guests to use facilities such as an in-house pool or gym although the Nikko justifies it by claiming it's a user-pays principle. I did use the Club Lounge on a few occasions. It was nice but I think less generous than other lounges I've experienced in the past. It was just an absence of small touches: only one type of red/white wine on offer, no provision of sparkling water on request. Don't mean to sound grasping but, after all, you are paying additional for those small touches. Nikko's strong points? Such a convenient location to the action of Union Square and great access to public transport; very nice rooms; lovely staff, particularly in the restaurant at breakfast, and the doormen; a delicious breakfast buffet. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wendy0704
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NikkoGal, Social Media Community Engagement Manager at Hotel Nikko San Francisco, responded to this review, 21 June 2014
Wendy 0704,
We are so glad you chose Hotel Nikko for your stay with your young child! The fact that you enjoyed the pool, location and generally the Hotel itself means so much to us. We re glad you've decided to make Hotel Nikko your SF hotel. Return soon as the renovations in the pool area will conclude. I will pass along your comments about the lounge to the General Manager.

Best Regards,
Anne Hudson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014

The Nikko is a very nice hotel in a good location in San Francisco. You are blocks from Union Square and the trolley cars. There are lots of restaurants and bars within walking distance. You are also close to all of the public transportation options, so it is easy to get around the city. There are some questionable areas of town if you walk the wrong direction, but we never felt unsafe on the main streets surrounding the hotel.

The hotel itself is clean and nice, and the staff is friendly and helpful. The rooms are not huge, but they are average for SF standards. The view of SF from the upper floors is nice. They have a nice restaurant and bar on premise as well.

Room Tip: Upper floors for a view of the city. Corner rooms have great panoramic windows.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JB_Austin1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NikkoGal, Social Media-Community Manager at Hotel Nikko San Francisco, responded to this review, 18 June 2014
Hello JB_Austin1,

Thank you so much for the 4 circle review. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay! Hurry back the weather remains beautiful and there are still many Summer days remaining.

Warm Regards,
Anne Hudson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Union Square
Grand Hyatt San Francisco
Grand Hyatt San Francisco
#38 of 228 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,492 reviews
Union Square
Axiom Hotel San Francisco
Axiom Hotel San Francisco
#18 of 228 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 262 reviews
SoMa
InterContinental San Francisco
InterContinental San Francisco
#31 of 228 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,854 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Union Square
Taj Campton Place
Taj Campton Place
#7 of 228 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,129 reviews
Union Square
The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square
SoMa
Hotel Zetta San Francisco
Hotel Zetta San Francisco
#19 of 228 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 818 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Nikko San Francisco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Nikko San Francisco

Property: Hotel Nikko San Francisco
Address: 222 Mason Street, San Francisco, CA 94102
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Francisco > Union Square
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in San Francisco
#12 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#24 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#28 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#40 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#42 Family Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Nikko San Francisco 4*
Number of rooms: 532
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the fine art of hospitality and the ultimate in personal service set in the midst of a city world-famous for its charming history and its cutting-edge style. Hotel Nikko, just steps from Union Square in the heart of San Francisco, is an ideal destination for business travel or a special getaway. Hotel Nikko offers 510 elegantly appointed rooms and 22 suites. Guests are pampered by such amenities as Subarashee Yume pillow-top beds, high-speed Internet access, large flat panel televisions, stereos and CD players. Room service is available 24 hours each day. The Imperial Club rooms on the top floors provide breathtaking views of the city and offer special features such as Vibe TV viewed through the bathroom mirrors and luxurious Subarashee Ame showers. The exclusive Imperial Club Lounge serves a light breakfast each morning, and a wine and beer reception each evening. Guests enjoy our indoor fifteen-meter heated pool and whirlpool bathed in natural light from atrium windows. Hotel Nikko also features a 10,000 square foot health club that's open 24 hours, offering the latest in cardiovascular and weight equipment as well as men's and women's steam rooms and dry saunas. Massages, including traditional Shiatsu massages, are available by appointment. Our exquisite ballroom is a stunning venue for weddings, other social events and business meetings. The hotel also offers thirteen other function room and boardrooms, all with windows for natural light and impressive views of the city and the bay. Whether you are planning a simple conference for ten or a lavish gala for eight hundred, Hotel Nikko San Francisco will do everything to ensure your event is a stirring success. The elegant and intimate Restaurant ANZU is one of San Francisco's most acclaimed dining experiences. Here, European and Japanese culinary traditions reinvent one another creating a whole new delicious gourmet culture; and guests at ANZU's exclusive Sushi Bar are treated to an incomparable menu of fresh fish. ANZU serves breakfast, lunch and dinner, and on Sunday it presents its lavish Sunday Brunch. Our full bar with its breadth of wines and cocktails, displays an exciting imagination with its extensive menu of specialty cocktails and signature sake martinis. The lobby level Kanpai Lounge offers light cuisine, a full bar, specialty martinis, an extensive wine list and unique coffee and tea drinks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, Priceline, LoveHolidays, Traveltool, S.L.U., Agoda, Odigeo, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Nikko San Francisco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nikko San Francisco
San Francisco Nikko
Nikko Hotel San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing