We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel Nikko San Francisco”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Nikko San Francisco
Ranked #32 of 229 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
So.CA.
Level 4 Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Hotel Nikko San Francisco”
Reviewed 24 July 2014

We planned our trip to embrace and watch as many World Cup games as possible. We decided to go through Priceline Express Deals and was somewhat disappointed at the hotel when I originally viewed it, but....... When we checked in I was so very impressed w/the ambiance, location and staff. We upgraded to the Imperial Club which we took full advantage of .... Happy hour w/wine, beer & h'orderves, great view from our room and a phenomenal breakfast! Cozy fluffy comfy bed and pillows w/robes and slippers. I would definitely recommend this hotel for a great stay in SF!

Room Tip: Loved the Imperial club!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank omynameistaken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NikkoGal, Marketing Manager at Hotel Nikko San Francisco, responded to this review, 24 July 2014
Dear omynameistaken,

Thank you so much for an awesome 5 star review! We are very pleased to have accommodated your stay in San Francisco and glad you enjoyed the amenities of your Imperial Club upgrade. We hope to welcome you back again with us!

Best regards,
Danielle Ortega
Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,610 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,565
    1,384
    435
    133
    93
See reviews for
583
1,356
236
902
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (561)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2014 via mobile

This hotel is beautiful and posh. Very nice inside with nice modern rooms. Many of them with very nice views of the city. They have underground valet parking. We had a hard time finding the entrance though (go around to the opposite side of the building from the main front entrance). When we arrived at the front desk to check in we were given complimentary wine. Nice! The entire hotel is very upscale with a nice restaurant inside. You could pay a little more and have access to the pool area, which we opted not to do. Centrally located but a little too far too walk to the wharf. But next to some cool dining spots. All in all we had a pleasant stay and would go back.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank brandonolynick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NikkoGal, Marketing Manager at Hotel Nikko San Francisco, responded to this review, 24 July 2014
Dear brandonolynick,

Thank you for taking the time to review us – a fabulous 5 stars! We are delighted to hear you had a wonderful stay with us and a great time in the city. We take pride in our customer service and give our guests the best experience we can offer.

We can not wait to see you again soon!

Sincerely,
Danielle Ortega
Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2014

I just spent $350 to stay at the Hotel Nikko for one night and I will never stay here again.

Here's why:

1. Pool Access - The main photo for this hotel is their pool. Looks nice, doesn't it? Well if you actually want to use it, that will cost you an extra $20.
2. Internet Access - Need to access the web? No problem. That will cost $17 per day.
3. Breakfast - Hungry in the morning? Eat breakfast at the hotel for only $35 per person.
4. Room Temperature - By default, your room's temperature control (A/C) will be turned off. If you don't happen to notice this before you go to bed, no problem! You will automatically wake up in the middle of the night, sick to your stomach because the room is 85 degrees. Sure, you'll have a bad night's rest - but think about how much money the hotel is saving! Profits, profits, profits! That's the key to customer service, right?
5. Hidden Charges - Check your bill closely. The hotel may decide that you should be making a donation to the Leukemia Society so they will add a $2 charge to your bill without asking you.

The Hotel Nikko is literally the worst hotel I have ever been to among hotels 3 stars and up. Actually, I did go to a "3-star" hotel in Nepal that was worse... but well, that was Nepal.

Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
12 Thank ThomasM2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toulouse, France
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2014

Good location (very centric, I walked almost everywhere), although not pretty. Good sized rooms and bathroom (Imperial Club), comfortable beds, quiet A/C, expensive (but good) wifi. Most people end up lurking around the Starbucks downstairs for the free wifi. Decent breakfast and decent room service.

Conference facilities were ok, although it seemed that there were two temperatures in one of the rooms: heat from hell and polar cold.

Room Tip: If you can, choose the Imperial Club rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Clarisita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NikkoGal, Marketing Manager at Hotel Nikko San Francisco, responded to this review, 24 July 2014
Dear Clarisita,

Thank you for taking the time to review us! Thanks for the note about the conference room temperature; we’ve sent your comments to our Engineering team so they can troubleshoot.

Please consider us again on your next trip back to San Francisco.

Sincerely,
Danielle Ortega
Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2014

I like the Nikko and stay there every year during a technology conference because the host hotel across the street, the Hilton Union Square, is a absolute mad house. In contrast, The Nikko is quiet and has great service. The sushi bar is a little expensive but its worth it for dinner one night, the fish is that good. They have many Japanese guests, so there's no faking the sushi! The other reason I like it is the health club, pool, steam room and sauna. Again, very peaceful setting with few people around. Great for morning rehab after a late night .. The Imperial upgrade was offered online for about $140/night and I declined, but when I checked in they offered it for $70/night. It includes free Wi-Fi ($15), health club ($25), and breakfast ($30 if you eat like I do - lots of smoked and baked fish for breakfast), plus you have the lounge access for free beer and wine M-F. Plus the rooms are larger - my room on the 24th floor was huge and the views are great too. SF has many great hotels - but this one rocks if you like sushi, steam, swim and sauna!

Room Tip: 24th floor is best - ask for it
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gregg L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NikkoGal, Marketing Manager at Hotel Nikko San Francisco, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
Dear Gregg,

Your 5 star review made our day! We are delighted to hear you enjoyed our restaurant, ANZU, sauna, and pool facilities. We take pride in our customer service and we are glad our Front Desk helped you with your Imperial Club upgrade.

Please come back again soon!

Best regards,
Danielle Ortega
Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, MA
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2014

Kathleen checked us in and she was lovely and so nice to give us an upgrade to the imperial club level. That really made the experience and I encourage you to ask for the upgrade. Having the ample breakfast and afternoon snacks was a great treat. Room was very large and beds were comfortable. Great to have toilet behind it's own door so people could use different parts of the bathroom at the same time. Excellent having a hallway as you enter the room with a door that closed off hallway from bedroom. Couldn't hear any hallway noise. One child ended up going to bed earlier than the rest of us so we made a bed for him in the decent sized hallway. Important to stay on high level floor.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dabuddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NikkoGal, Marketing Manager at Hotel Nikko San Francisco, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
Dear dabuddy,

Thank you for such a great review! We are pleased that Kathleen helped with your accommodations – she is a valued member of our team. We are glad to hear you enjoyed the amenities of our Imperial Club level.

We hope to welcome you back again soon!

Best regards,
Danielle Ortega
Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2014

Just got here last night. Booked this place especially so our kids could swim in the pool while we had meetings only to be told when we got here that the pool was under renovations. Felt duped right from the get go.

Check-in took about 45 minutes which meant we missed the full menu by 8 minutes and no exceptions allowed.

$15 a day for wi-fi? In 2014, this really should be an added inclusion.

First impressions are not good.

Room is nice and comfortable.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Iamsofancy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NikkoGal, Marketing Manager at Hotel Nikko San Francisco, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
Dear Iamsofancy,

Thank you for your review. We truly apologize for the inconvenience caused by the unexpected closure; our pool had a maintenance issue and for the safety of our guests it was necessary for us to close it. We apologize for the frustration that caused you and your family.

I have forwarded you other comments to our Front Desk staff regarding WiFi and your check-in process.

We value your feedback and strive to offer a 5 star experience each time – I realize in this instance we didn’t meet your expectations and for that we are truly sorry.

Thank you,
Danielle Ortega
Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Union Square
Grand Hyatt San Francisco
Grand Hyatt San Francisco
#40 of 229 in San Francisco
4,611 reviews
SoMa
InterContinental San Francisco
InterContinental San Francisco
#36 of 229 in San Francisco
2,902 reviews
Union Square
Axiom Hotel San Francisco
Axiom Hotel San Francisco
#17 of 229 in San Francisco
303 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Union Square
The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square
SoMa
Palace Hotel
Palace Hotel
#26 of 229 in San Francisco
1,155 reviews
SoMa
Hotel Zetta San Francisco
Hotel Zetta San Francisco
#19 of 229 in San Francisco
839 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Nikko San Francisco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Nikko San Francisco

Property: Hotel Nikko San Francisco
Address: 222 Mason Street, San Francisco, CA 94102
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Francisco > Union Square
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in San Francisco
#12 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#21 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#26 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#40 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#42 Family Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Nikko San Francisco 4*
Number of rooms: 532
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the fine art of hospitality and the ultimate in personal service set in the midst of a city world-famous for its charming history and its cutting-edge style. Hotel Nikko, just steps from Union Square in the heart of San Francisco, is an ideal destination for business travel or a special getaway. Hotel Nikko offers 510 elegantly appointed rooms and 22 suites. Guests are pampered by such amenities as Subarashee Yume pillow-top beds, high-speed Internet access, large flat panel televisions, stereos and CD players. Room service is available 24 hours each day. The Imperial Club rooms on the top floors provide breathtaking views of the city and offer special features such as Vibe TV viewed through the bathroom mirrors and luxurious Subarashee Ame showers. The exclusive Imperial Club Lounge serves a light breakfast each morning, and a wine and beer reception each evening. Guests enjoy our indoor fifteen-meter heated pool and whirlpool bathed in natural light from atrium windows. Hotel Nikko also features a 10,000 square foot health club that's open 24 hours, offering the latest in cardiovascular and weight equipment as well as men's and women's steam rooms and dry saunas. Massages, including traditional Shiatsu massages, are available by appointment. Our exquisite ballroom is a stunning venue for weddings, other social events and business meetings. The hotel also offers thirteen other function room and boardrooms, all with windows for natural light and impressive views of the city and the bay. Whether you are planning a simple conference for ten or a lavish gala for eight hundred, Hotel Nikko San Francisco will do everything to ensure your event is a stirring success. The elegant and intimate Restaurant ANZU is one of San Francisco's most acclaimed dining experiences. Here, European and Japanese culinary traditions reinvent one another creating a whole new delicious gourmet culture; and guests at ANZU's exclusive Sushi Bar are treated to an incomparable menu of fresh fish. ANZU serves breakfast, lunch and dinner, and on Sunday it presents its lavish Sunday Brunch. Our full bar with its breadth of wines and cocktails, displays an exciting imagination with its extensive menu of specialty cocktails and signature sake martinis. The lobby level Kanpai Lounge offers light cuisine, a full bar, specialty martinis, an extensive wine list and unique coffee and tea drinks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Nikko San Francisco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nikko San Francisco
San Francisco Nikko
Nikko Hotel San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing