We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So much character!”
Review of Serrano Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Serrano Hotel
Ranked #92 of 230 Hotels in San Francisco
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed 9 October 2012

Kimptons are always fun hotels and this is no exception. Ideally located just two blocks from all the action and the cable cars and any other type of public transportation. The rooms are smaller ( it is an older building) but so attractively decorated with extremely comfortable bedding and the lobby is fun and whimsical. The concierge was very helpful in getting us around to the many San Francisco sites. I do recommend the Crepe restaurant just one block up for breakfast.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JaneMP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jpagoadacruz, Front Office Manager at Serrano Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 October 2012

Dear JaneMP,

Whimsical is a good word to describe our lobby, I like it - thanks! I hope we get to see you again soon.

Regards,
J.P. Pagoadacruz

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,830)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,827 - 1,833 of 2,830 reviews

Reviewed 8 October 2012

This is a solid hotel with nice rooms and good location. It IS right up by the Tenderloin, but nothing really dangerous - besides, SF appears riddled with bums wherever you go. At least here, you are right by the key transport lines you will need as a SF tourist.

As others have noted, the rooms aren't terribly large, but this is the middle of a busy city. I like the effort to create some character, typical of most boutique hotels. We did pass through during wine hour once, but we were on our way out and too jetlagged to partake. The morning coffee downstairs was nicer than I thought it would be, especially since we were able to catch up with a local friend in town conveniently in the lobby.

The toiletries were from CO Bigelow, which was nice - though odd, since I think of NYC when I see that brand, not SF. The internet is free, but you have to sign up to join the Kimpton Club, or something like that.

The staff were always very friendly, and we heard the attached restaurant was good, though we didn't try it.

It's pretty pricey, as are most of the hotels in Union Square. We got a tolerable rate off hotwire, though definitely not cheap.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NY2HK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jpagoadacruz, Front Office Manager at Serrano Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2012

Dear NY2HK,

I am really happy to read your review and find that you enjoyed your stay with us - I think you will have to come back and visit us so you can join in on the wine reception.

Please feel free to contact me directly if I can be of assistance.

Regards,
J.P. Pagoadacruz

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2012

I stayed here for three nights with my parents. The hotel staff are friendly and the lobby makes you feel like you are coming home. Our room was clean though smallish for three people. I liked the wine reception and complimentary tea and coffee in the morning.

A short walk from Union Square on the edge of the Tenderloin district meaning it was easy to find reasonably priced breakfast options.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MariGWIlliams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jpagoadacruz, Front Office Manager at Serrano Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 October 2012

Dear MariGWIlliams,

I agree, the breakfast options around here are really good, our location is definitely amazing. I hope you will be back to visit us soon.

Regards,
J.P. Pagoadacruz

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2012

After being in a characterless Hilton for the previous week, this was like a breath of fresh air. The rooms aren't typical American-huge, which is a good thing in some ways but there's still plenty of room. They are clean, and the rooms high up offer a great view (I was on the 17th). The beds are better than the usual. The staff are very friendly, and do the very best to accommodate your requests . Children and pet friendly. A free wine tasting every evening and reasonable prices. What more could you ask for!

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the upper floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Daniel L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jpagoadacruz, Front Office Manager at Serrano Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 October 2012

Dear Daniel L,

I couldn't have said it best myself! Thanks for your kind comments. We hope you will be back soon.

Regards,
J.P. Pagoadacruz

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2012

This is a great hotel with friendly and helpful staff. We asked for a quiet room and they obliged. Very comfortable bed in the king sized room we had. Coffee and tea served in reception in a morning. Reception was large enough for us to lounge in. They did wine tasting most evenings but we weren't around to participate. Easy walk to some good choice of places to eat. This hotel borders on a slightly dubious area, but hotel advised where not to go. We paid about £100 each night for this hotel and that seems to be quite cheap for a good quality hotel in SF with a good Tripadvisor rating. We felt we'd struck lucky with this hotel given the poor reputation of a lot of SF hotels.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on a higher floor if you want a bit of quiet away from the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jilly1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jpagoadacruz, Front Office Manager at Serrano Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 October 2012

Dear Jilly1970,

Thank you for your review. I am very happy to read your kind comments, we hope you will get a chance to come back and see us soon.

Regards,
J.P. Pagoadacruz

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2012 via mobile

We stayed only for 3 nights but it was a great experience. 7 min walking (or even less) to the union square, large rooms - nice designed, free coffee and tea at the morning in the lobby and wine tasting afternoon. Surely will recommend it !

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Alitka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jpagoadacruz, Front Office Manager at Serrano Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 October 2012

Dear Alitka,

Thanks for recommending us, we certainly appreciate that! But also come back and see us.

Regards,
J.P. Pagoadacruz

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2012

If you can book a "valet parking included" package. Parking in central San Francisco is very expensive, especially overnight. Because our car was a SUV we were charged $59.28 per night (incl taxes) and you still have to wait at least 10mins before the car is available. I recommend that you return your rental car after your arrival, most companies have drop-off locations in the vicinity. Use a shuttle to the airport (we paid $11 per head) or hire a new car towards your end of the stay in the city.
The hotel was fine, most points of interest are within walking distance.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dr_Simon_Singapore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jpagoadacruz, Front Office Manager at Serrano Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 October 2012

Dear SimonSingapore,

I agree with you, San Francisco is such a walkable city that having a car can become more of a burden than it is helpful... unless you're driving out of the city. And I do, also, recommend booking the parking package because that way you will have all your expenses bundled up.

We hope to see you again soon, please feel free to reach out to me if I can be of personal assistance.

Regards,
J.P. Pagoadacruz

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Union Square
Villa Florence
Villa Florence
#103 of 230 in San Francisco
1,886 reviews
Tilden Hotel
#104 of 230 in San Francisco
203 reviews
Union Square
Hotel Zeppelin San Francisco
Hotel Zeppelin San Francisco
#53 of 230 in San Francisco
518 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
SoMa
Hotel Zelos San Francisco
Hotel Zelos San Francisco
#60 of 230 in San Francisco
738 reviews
Union Square
Warwick San Francisco
Warwick San Francisco
#35 of 230 in San Francisco
602 reviews
Financial District
Club Quarters Hotel in San Francisco
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Serrano Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Serrano Hotel

Address: 405 Taylor St, San Francisco, CA 94102-1765
Region: United States > California > San Francisco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#45 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range: £120 - £431 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Serrano Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 236
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Serrano Hotel is steps away from Union Square, perfectly positioned in the Theater District of San Francisco. Our 236 rooms offer large picture windows, plush Frette bedding, mini bars, flat-panel TVs, and a variety of on-demand programming. Jasper's Corner Tap and Kitchen, located in the hotel, is open all day for a casual drink or bite to eat. Work off dinner at our fully equipped on-site fitness center featuring Precor equipment. Our hotel's focus on guest comfort and our outstanding location will ensure your stay in San Francisco will be exactly what you had in mind. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Hotelopia, Southall Travel, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Serrano Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kimpton San Francisco
Serrano Hotel San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing