We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Experience”
Review of Serrano Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Serrano Hotel
Ranked #97 of 228 Hotels in San Francisco
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Fort Worth, Texas
Level Contributor
349 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Good Experience”
Reviewed 24 January 2014

The Serrano, first of all, has great proximity to Union Square, Macy's, downtown attractions. It's a bit worn as others have stated but elegant also. The lobby is ornate and comfortable and we enjoyed the complimentary wine hour from 5-6 p.m., as well as the abundant morning coffee. We recently stayed in the Monoco Hotel just down the block and I think I prefer the Serrano even though the lobby is not as spacious and the adjoining restaurant (Jasper's) is much more casual. We had complimentary Continental breakfast as part of our package and it was easier to go into Jasper's and enjoy rather than the very opulent and formal Monoco Grand Cafe. The food was comparable both places for the breakfast. The main reason I preferred the Serrano, however, was our room. It was considerably larger than the Monoco and had a much larger closet. We stayed a week so needed some room to hang things and the Monoco closet and drawer space were dinky. I also prefer the more traditional decor of the Serrano. The staff was very friendly, our room was kept immaculate and we had no complaints with wifi. The only issues would be that it's somewhat worn (elevators need sprucing up), our bathroom door was in dire need of WD-40 as it squeaked loudly, and the treadmills needed servicing or replacing as they didn't work that well.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Clare46408
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,534 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    673
    1,090
    497
    165
    109
See reviews for
475
914
152
555
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (266)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
334 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 566 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2014

This past weekend, in January 2104, I had the pleasure of staying at the Serrano Hotel for an extended weekend while in San Fransisco for the International Fancy Food Show/convention......., The Serrano Hotel is SUPERB in every sense of the word .From the ease of check-in/check-out proceedures ( My room was ready early, prior to regular check in time, as well as a late check out for the upmost convenience) to the exceptional friendly & HIGHLY knowledgeable staff you will NOT be disappointed here. The front desk staff, as well as the bellman reccomended some terrific restaurants & cafes as well as provided great walking directions! The Serrano also has a Great Location TOO! , with Starbucks, Walgreens as well as many other shops and restaurants only a block or two away.Walking distatnce to Union Square and the Powell Street Bart Station, as well as walking distance to the Moscone Center make this hotel a true gem. My room # 1106 was 100% clean & very comfortable (while small it was more than adequate) from the heavenly bed,to the writing desk w/ outlets and the Flat Screen TV. The Internet access/signal was OK in my room (which is FREE for Kimpton In-touch members!). Fresh hot complimentary coffee, which was very good is served in the lobby, every morning as well as ice water in the afternoon/evening PLUS a complimentary "wine hour" from 5-6 everyday in the lobby. The Serrano Hotel is also 100% dog/pet friendly. Looking forward to my next trip to San Francisco & stay at the Serrano hotel and will highly recommend the Serrano to all our friends, relatives and business associates........Overall Rating~Phenomenal/ Excellent

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank larilu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Champaign, Illinois
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 January 2014

Over the last six years we have stayed at the Serrano a number of times. At first it was a jewel on the edge of a less savory neighborhood. On this trip the neighborhood seemed to be encroaching if the nightly noise was any guide. The hotel seemed to have let its standards drift. Everything seemed a bit uncared for. The whole hotel could do with a bit of renovation, a coat of paint and clean wallpaper. Breakfast in Jaspers was also lackluster. And come on, serving Banrock Station at the wine reception. I'm all for helping out the global economy but really no Californian wine?They even ran out of white wine and did not replace it for the last two nights we were there. Though there are some fine Kimpton hotels in other cities (and I'm sure there are other great ones in San Francisco), I am not sure if I'll resort to the Serrano again.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank R_V_travel_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wokingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
147 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 162 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 January 2014

We booked this room using Avios points, and whilst the bed was massive and very comfortable, the room itself left a bit to be desired. It was on the 1st floor, next to the lift shaft so you could hear every every time the lift moved, and we had a view of a brick wall. The bathroom was just ok, only 1 light worked and there was a technique to getting the other one to work! Very clean.
The valet parking was quick and efficient, but expensive. The general fixtures and fittings were of good quality. We had breakfast included in the room, which was served in Jasper's Bar adjoining the hotel. It was supposed to be a continental breakfast, and I can only presume that the "chef" has never been to Europe and had a continental breakfast as a few bits of bread, bagels and tinned fruit does not constitute a continental breakfast. Very disappointing. A far better alternative is the Pinecrest diner a short walk away.

Room Tip: Not near the lift shaft!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bikergirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Purley, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
258 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 251 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 January 2014

I pulled up to the side of the hotel where immediately I was offered valet parking for $52 (per day) or if I was willing to self park which was literally 10 meters away, it's $39 inc tax at the garage next door. The hotel states parking on the website but it has no parking. They don't own it. In SF you can park free after 6 and around the corner on Geary st are parking garages for $10 for 12 hrs parking which I have used. At 6pm parking is free on Geary until 8am so that's cool. I have saved myself over $100 by following this and it's not too much trouble. The hotel needs to provide ease and value for it's clients. If they offered a flat rate of $20 for overnight with free in and out privilege,they would get more business rather than no business at this garage next door.
One of the staff who was dressed like a nightclub bouncer greeted me at first but wasn't very friendly at first. In his own way he was. Like he was expecting trouble. For a 4 star I expected a better reception.
The rooms are small whether you pick king or queen. Once you get in to the room decorations in the room are a little dated but it's San Francisco. The minibar when you open it up is quite deceitful. You see an etch a sketch on the fridge and think it's for you and that the hotel is being nice but no....it's a trick and part of the minibar as is the stuff in the next cabinet door.
Whilst the stay has served its purpose, I wouldn't stay here again but maybe it's the same story in other places..... We shall see.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Carlos_Yabrudy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sacramento, California, USA
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2014

Tried calling reservations-twice...on a Wednesday and stayed on hold for over half an hour! Finally gave up...that is ridiculous. By the way, I called 2 different locations in San Francisco and both put you on hold forever...

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cutiefoodie1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Encinitas, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 January 2014

Have never been disappointed at a Kimpton hotel in SF so decided to try the Serrano this time. Apparently this particular hotel is no longer a part of the Kimpton family. The hotel has been sold and it shows......bummer as it is in a great location for Bart, theatre, Union Square, etc. I would advise Kimpton to remove their name from it as some may judge all Kimpton accommodations by their experience at Serrano.

Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank DahliaB1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Nob Hill
Stanford Court San Francisco
Stanford Court San Francisco
#54 of 228 in San Francisco
4,377 reviews
Union Square
Villa Florence
Villa Florence
#79 of 228 in San Francisco
1,526 reviews
Tilden Hotel
#94 of 228 in San Francisco
138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Union Square
Handlery Union Square Hotel
Handlery Union Square Hotel
#71 of 228 in San Francisco
3,865 reviews
Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
#16 of 228 in San Francisco
5,156 reviews
Union Square
Warwick San Francisco
Warwick San Francisco
#31 of 228 in San Francisco
557 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Serrano Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Serrano Hotel

Property: Serrano Hotel
Address: 405 Taylor St, San Francisco, CA 94102-1765
Region: United States > California > San Francisco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#49 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Serrano Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 236
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Serrano Hotel is steps away from Union Square, perfectly positioned in the Theater District of San Francisco. Our 236 rooms offer large picture windows, plush Frette bedding, mini bars, flat-panel TVs, and a variety of on-demand programming. Jasper's Corner Tap and Kitchen, located in the hotel, is open all day for a casual drink or bite to eat. Work off dinner at our fully equipped on-site fitness center featuring Precor equipment. Our hotel's focus on guest comfort and our outstanding location will ensure your stay in San Francisco will be exactly what you had in mind. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Southall Travel, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Evoline ltd, TravelUp, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Serrano Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kimpton San Francisco
Serrano Hotel San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing