We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming Hotel”
Review of Serrano Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Serrano Hotel
Ranked #94 of 231 Hotels in San Francisco
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed 14 May 2014

The Serrano Hotel surprised me. It has the charm and decor of a hotel I stayed at in Paris. The room was nice and clean. The hotel staff were very helpful and courteous.

The hotel is centrally located

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KathyDurr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jenny K, Guest Relations Manager at Serrano Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 May 2014

Kathy,
We’re thrilled to have pleasantly surprised you! What a compliment; we’re very happy to have reminded you of Paris! It’s also nice to hear that our team offered you excellent service and that our cleanliness met your expectations. We hope to see you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,989)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,691 - 1,697 of 2,989 reviews

Reviewed 13 May 2014

I've stayed at the Serrano hotel many times when in San Francisco. Prior to this year the hotel belonged to the Kimpton chain. During my last stay I noticed changes which, while small, do make a difference to the business traveler. The Serrano no longer offers complementary wine between 5 and 6 pm. The yoga mats and free yoga video are gone, as are some of the amenities such as shower gel.

The beds are still comfortable, and the hotel is still very clean, the staff still very kind, however in my opinion the restaurant is over-priced and the Serrano no longer stands out.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank saltaholic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jenny K, Guest Relations Manager at Serrano Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 May 2014

Thank you for your loyalty; it’s greatly appreciated. We’re very sorry that you were disappointed in your recent stay with us. We’re committed to making the Serrano better than ever, and your comments are invaluable in our reaching that goal, thank you. We have many great changes in store, and we’re confident we can wow you with our improvements. We hope to see you again when you next visit San Francisco.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2014

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
3  Thank TeresaSausage
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Jenny K, Guest Relations Manager at Serrano Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 May 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 6 May 2014

The hotel is really good and the staff is quite excellent - the rooms are a little dated but are super clean and comfortable. The location is what is great - close to Union Square and a short walk to the Powell BART stop, so it getting around is easy. As some people have mentioned the hotel is on the edge of the Tenderloin and you will run into some interesting people on the street - but you're going to hit that just about anywhere in the city.

We really enjoyed our stay - everyone on staff is super friendly and helpful. The restaurant/bar on the ground floor is good for breakfast and drinks at the end of the day.

I didn't mind the resort fee that some complain about - it gets you wifi through out the hotel and was pretty good in our room. Even carried over to the restaurant, which was helpful in planning our day over breakfast. Coffee makers in the room would have been nice but it not too much work to run downstairs and grab a cup in the lobby.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DougInBrooklyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jenny K, Guest Relations Manager at Serrano Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 May 2014

Doug,
Thank you for the great review! It is fantastic to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. Your positive attitude is wonderful and refreshing. We hope to see you again when you next visit San Francisco.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2014

Hotel is well located for shopping and getting around on the hop on/off busses from here is easy. If you are looking for a place to sleep and with easy public transport this hotel will be nice, just don't overpay.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JuanPabloChile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jenny K, Guest Relations Manager at Serrano Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2014

It sounds like you enjoyed a fun visit to our spectacular city! We are thrilled to have been a part of your trip, and we hope to see you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2014

My husband and I stayed for an extra long weekend at the Serrano Hotel. The staff are friendly, fabulous and extremely helpful - they even managed to find us quick transportation to get us to the Giants game on time after we arrived 4 hours late due to flight delays. The room was comfortable, and the coffee in the morning was a great added touch. Location is really good, walking distance to many attractions or to hop-on-hop-off shuttle service. We'd definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kim R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jenny K, Guest Relations Manager at Serrano Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 May 2014

Kim,
Thank you for the awesome review! We hope you had a great time at the Giants game and a fun visit to San Francisco. It is fantastic to hear that our team took excellent care of you and your husband and that you loved our hotel. We can’t wait to see you again when you next visit San Francisco. Go Giants!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2014 via mobile

When the coach transfer pulled up and we saw the amount of homeless people around the corner we were a little worried.. However don't be.. The hotel is fab, a really safe & friendly hotel.. The reception is quirky & the hotel staff are all amazing. This hotel was a pleasure to stay at, clean, friendly & a great base point to explore the city.. Union square is a short walk away.. We are a group of girls exploring west coast America and this was our first stop. Great that 3 of us could share a room.. A gem of a hotel... You must try the complimentary coffee in reception!! Love San Francisco so if we come back we would all be happy to stay here again!!

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Wilma_x777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jenny K, Guest Relations Manager at Serrano Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 May 2014

We are very happy that you and your friends loved your stay at our hotel! It’s fantastic to hear that you felt safe here and that our team made you feel welcomed. We can’t wait to see you again when you next visit San Francisco.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Tilden Hotel
#102 of 231 in San Francisco
239 reviews
Union Square
Warwick San Francisco
Warwick San Francisco
#37 of 231 in San Francisco
632 reviews
Financial District
Club Quarters Hotel in San Francisco
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
SoMa
The Park Central San Francisco
The Park Central San Francisco
#69 of 231 in San Francisco
3,738 reviews
Union Square
Hotel Zeppelin San Francisco
Hotel Zeppelin San Francisco
#51 of 231 in San Francisco
588 reviews
Union Square
Hotel Union Square
Hotel Union Square
#89 of 231 in San Francisco
1,930 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Serrano Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Serrano Hotel

Address: 405 Taylor Street, San Francisco, CA 94102-1765
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Francisco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#48 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range: £132 - £337 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Serrano Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 236
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Serrano Hotel is steps away from Union Square, perfectly positioned in the Theater District of San Francisco. Our 236 rooms offer large picture windows, plush Frette bedding, mini bars, flat-panel TVs, and a variety of on-demand programming. Jasper's Corner Tap and Kitchen, located in the hotel, is open all day for a casual drink or bite to eat. Work off dinner at our fully equipped on-site fitness center featuring Precor equipment. Our hotel's focus on guest comfort and our outstanding location will ensure your stay in San Francisco will be exactly what you had in mind. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Southall Travel, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Serrano Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kimpton San Francisco
Serrano Hotel San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing