We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charm Mixed with Problems”
Review of Serrano Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Serrano Hotel
Ranked #91 of 230 Hotels in San Francisco
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed 1 June 2014

Positive: The hotel has character. Lobby is beautiful, rooms have charm and are well maintained. Our bed was excellent. Personnel is generally pleasant although not always helpful. Very close to Union Square.

Negative: Our room (a deluxe queen) was a small corner room, and had a door shared with the adjacent room. Consequently, we could hear loud conversations next door, and I had to go and ask these people to speak more quietly. There was no night table on one side, which forced my husband to place things on the floor. The neighborhood was very depressing, with hordes of homeless people sleeping on the street just half a block away.

We tried the hotel restaurant the first day for breakfast, and found it so gloomy and bottom of the barrel, that we did not return. I don't understand how the hotel can be so charming but the restaurant so "forgotten." We therefore searched for small cafés near by but could not find any, so we went to the Grand Café on the corner (which, by the way, is a gorgeous Prague type old café that will close in July.) We had the same problem with restaurants, and could not find a charming small restaurant with reasonable prices within a few blocks. We asked people at the desk, but we did not like the place where they sent us. A good recommendation is a creole restaurant called Brenda's, seven or eight blocks away.

Room Tip: Make sure your room does not have a common door with the next room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank 123Avila
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jenny K, Guest Relations Manager at Serrano Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2014

We’re thrilled you loved our décor and comfy beds. It’s also great to hear that our hotel team offered you excellent service. We’re sorry that our restaurant failed to impress and that you were not pleased with our neighborhood. For future reference; we’d love to recommend Union Square for food options. It is known for its fantastic shopping, small boutique shops and yummy restaurants. Best of all; it is only a short walk from our front door. We hope to see you again in the future; we’re confident we can win you over with our ongoing improvements.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,824)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,525 - 1,531 of 2,824 reviews

Reviewed 31 May 2014

The hotel should be rated three stars, not four. The rooms are dated, but clean. The staff is friendly and accommodating. The free coffee in the morning is good. But the neighborhood...I hope you're packing. It's scary to walk from the hotel to Union Square. You're right in the middle of homeless central. If you're familiar with Skid Row in LA, that's what it looks like. Drunk people are everywhere. Smell of weed and urine is in every corner around the block. We ordered in the second night mostly b/c we didn't want to fight the homeless crowd to make our way to dinner. It's too bad.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LucyInLA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jenny K, Guest Relations Manager at Serrano Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2014

Lucy,
We’re glad that our cleanliness and friendly staff met your expectations. We apologize that you were not comfortable with the area near our hotel. We strive to make every guest feel safe, and we’re sorry to have not met that goal for you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2014

This is an old hotel, but the exterior is still beautiful roaring 20's opulence and the interior has been very nicely renovated. Rooms are adequate and larger than many boutique hotels in the area. Well appointed. Remember the extra $20 per day and tax, so you really do pay San Francisco prices. If you're crazy enough to drive a car into The City, you can expect the typical $52 per night for parking. (We have used Bart for years - reserving a space in Walnut Creek or Concord and not fighting the traffic). Close to downtown, across from the Hilton, but really on the "edge" of the Tenderloin - be inside before it gets dark and be prepared for a gaggle of smokers from the corner to the door.

Room Tip: Get as high in the building as possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ralph E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jenny K, Guest Relations Manager at Serrano Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2014

Ralph,
Your appreciation for our renovations and décor have made us smile, thank you! It’s great to hear that your room met your expectations. Your travel tips are fantastic; we know future guests will be grateful. We hope to see you again when you next visit our amazing city.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2014

We arrived at SFO airport and already had our transfer arranged. We were greeted by a friendly bellboy, and booked into The Serrano without any problems at all - quickly, friendly and without any fuss. We were hungry and thirsty, so headed straight for the bar. Again the service was good. This was the only time that we ate in the hotel, but only because we like to move around. The food that we ordered was the 'burger and fries' type and it was great value and tasty. The salad was one of the best. The rooms are clean, comfortable and perfectly acceptable. There was a large wardrobe with ironing facilities and a hairdryer. There is complimentary coffee in the lobby in the morning. This hotel is only a 5 minute walk from Union Square with all of the big name stores and bus tours. It was further 10 minute walk to Chinatown. The hop on hop bus type tours are easy to pick up and an easy way to get around. They are quite keen to undercut each other, so it can be worth your luck. Pier 39 is a main hotspot for tourists and you can get pretty much all over the main sight from there. We hadn't heard of Sausalito, but definitely worth a visit. The hotel is on the edge of the Tenderloin area which is a bit seedy, but we had no problems and it was safe to walk around at night.

Room Tip: We stayed in rooms 908 911 and both were quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bertysue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jenny K, Guest Relations Manager at Serrano Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2014

It sounds like you enjoyed a great vacation and took in many of San Francisco’s great attractions. Thank you for your praise of our hotel team, and we’re happy that our clean and comfy rooms met your expectations. We’re thrilled that you loved our restaurant, Jasper’s. We’ll be sure to pass your compliments along to the restaurant team. We hope to see you again when you next want to enjoy San Francisco.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

The hotel is well located. The room is outdated and a bit worn out. but make sure you check other options. There is a mandatory $20/day fee for amenities like "Local phone calls" or "Newspaper in the Lobby", and Wifi. This is an effective $20/day increase in room rate as all these "amenities" are useless except for the Wifi which is free in any decent hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Bruno R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jenny K, Guest Relations Manager at Serrano Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2014

Bruno,
We’re glad you enjoyed our location, but we apologize that you were unhappy with other aspects of your stay. In our experience, guests appreciate one price for all that the fee includes, instead of separate charges for each item. This fee includes; morning coffee and tea, all day flavored water in reception, morning newspaper, town car service Mon thru Fri mornings to the financial district, unlimited local calls and faxes, boarding pass printing, use of our bicycles, and very fast Wi-Fi. Booking travel can often be a complicated endeavor as you try to compare and price a variety of hotels. It seems in this case you did not see details of the Urban Fee and we will address that with our partner.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

The Serrano Hotel is a gem - a great hotel conveniently located to terrific restaurants, transportation, and shopping. The lobby is gorgeous and impeccable (actually nicer than a five-star where we stayed in Rome). There are many lovely details to enjoy in seating areas in the lobby. This is not a huge hotel, but a lovely hotel.

The staff were all phenomenal -- sincerely welcoming and helpful (without being too much). We were allowed to check in very early! The noontime checkout is great -- allowed us a leisurely morning.

The room was very clean and had amenities we like -- real glass glasses (both wine and water), ample towels, bathrobes, lotion, cotton balls, etc. It was not a huge room but a tasteful, nice room, with a most comfortable bed. Really comfy bed!

We could actually open the window actually to enjoy the fresh San Francisco air!

We are very particular about maintenance and cleanliness -- the bathroom was very clean and well maintained.

We will return!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SandraF63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jenny K, Guest Relations Manager at Serrano Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2014

Thank you for the fantastic review! We’re very happy that you loved your stay with us and that our cleanliness, location, room amenities, and service all impressed. We couldn’t agree with you more; we LOVE our location! We look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2014

Made the reservation through Kimpton website but arrived to find they were not part of Kimpton anymore. Room wasn't ready upon arrival. When I did get room, it was cramped and worn. Furniture showed lots of wear. There was dust layered in bathroom and on window. Stains and a general lack of cleanliness were evident throughout. Lobby is worn with peeling paint and furniture that is threadbare. Carpets didn't look like they had been cleaned recently. The additional fees, taxes and charges (over $35/day) on top of the room $245 left little feeling of value. Homeless people hung out near the entrance demanding money. Would not recommend this nor would I stay here again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TEllis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jenny K, Guest Relations Manager at Serrano Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2014

We sincerely apologize that you were not happy with your recent stay at our hotel. Yes, we are no longer a Kimpton hotel. We’re committed to making the Serrano Hotel better than ever, and we have many great improvements in store. We hope to see you again in the future; we’re confident we can win you over with our improvements.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Union Square
Villa Florence
Villa Florence
#103 of 230 in San Francisco
1,884 reviews
Tilden Hotel
#102 of 230 in San Francisco
203 reviews
Union Square
Hotel Zeppelin San Francisco
Hotel Zeppelin San Francisco
#53 of 230 in San Francisco
517 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
SoMa
Hotel Zelos San Francisco
Hotel Zelos San Francisco
#60 of 230 in San Francisco
735 reviews
Union Square
Warwick San Francisco
Warwick San Francisco
#35 of 230 in San Francisco
601 reviews
Financial District
Club Quarters Hotel in San Francisco
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Serrano Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Serrano Hotel

Address: 405 Taylor St, San Francisco, CA 94102-1765
Region: United States > California > San Francisco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#45 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range: £124 - £426 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Serrano Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 236
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Serrano Hotel is steps away from Union Square, perfectly positioned in the Theater District of San Francisco. Our 236 rooms offer large picture windows, plush Frette bedding, mini bars, flat-panel TVs, and a variety of on-demand programming. Jasper's Corner Tap and Kitchen, located in the hotel, is open all day for a casual drink or bite to eat. Work off dinner at our fully equipped on-site fitness center featuring Precor equipment. Our hotel's focus on guest comfort and our outstanding location will ensure your stay in San Francisco will be exactly what you had in mind. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Southall Travel, LoveHolidays, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Serrano Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kimpton San Francisco
Serrano Hotel San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing