We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel, friendly staff, great location”
Review of Serrano Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Serrano Hotel
Ranked #97 of 229 Hotels in San Francisco
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel, friendly staff, great location”
Reviewed 8 June 2014 via mobile

Upon arrival we had a free room upgrade because they had none of our booked rooms left so not going to complain about that. We ended up in a suite, it was very nice if a bit dated.
My only complaints are that there is no dressing table with a mirror and the hair dryers need upgrading I couldn't get through doing half my hair before it overheated.
It's in a great location to get to Union Sq and loads if great restaurants, tram stops etc. we would stay again.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Emilou83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jenny K, Guest Relations Manager at Serrano Hotel, responded to this review, 14 June 2014
Emilou,
A free room upgrade is always a great start to a vacation; we’re happy you appreciated it. It sounds like you fully enjoyed the conveniences our location offers. We apologize for any inconveniences you encountered due to the blow dryer. We’re always striving to improve, and we’ll take your thoughts regarding our room into careful consideration, thank you. We can’t wait to see you again when you next visit San Francisco.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,629 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    708
    1,117
    512
    175
    117
See reviews for
507
956
154
571
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (266)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
austin, tx
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2014

we got a great deal on this cool little hotel, but were a bit surprised by the $20/day extra amenity charge. our room was on the small side, but well maintained. they kept a giant urn of fruit-infused ice water in the lobby during the day, and had a coffee service in the morning (since there was none available in the room). they did empty out occasionally, so we had to frequently ask them to refill - we were there for a full week. the staff was marvelous & location excellent ... we would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank fangeldunc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jenny K, Guest Relations Manager at Serrano Hotel, responded to this review, 12 June 2014
We love our unique flair; it’s great to know you appreciated it too! Thank you for your praise of our great team; we’ll be sure to pass your compliments along to everyone. In our experience, guests appreciate one price for all that the fee includes, instead of separate charges for each item. Booking travel can often be a complicated endeavor as you try to compare and price a variety of hotels. It seems in this case you did not see details of the Urban Fee and we will address that with our booking partners. We can’t wait to see you again when you next visit San Francisco.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2014

Hotel is located about 3 blocks from BART and close to Chinatown, theater district and Union Square. The room was small but with character and beautiful lobby. Bathroom soaps are C.O. Bigelow which was a nice suprise. There is a large homeless population in San Franciso in general; there is a church down the street from the hotel that offers them assistance but we walked by it day and night and no one ever bothered us. The staff was friendly and it was a short walk to the cable car stop that takes you to the wharf area. I thought it was a good value, clean, friendly, convenient and comfortable

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Twisp27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jenny K, Guest Relations Manager at Serrano Hotel, responded to this review, 12 June 2014
It sounds like you enjoyed a great San Francisco vacation while seeing the cities many different personalities. We’re thrilled our location proved to be a convenient place to call home during your stay. It’s great to hear that our team offered you excellent service and that you found our hotel clean and comfy. We hope to see you again for your next San Francisco adventure.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Espoo, Finland
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2014

Overall, the hotel decor looked a little run-down and in need of renovation, but it was clean and efficient. Much has been written about the hotel's proximity to the Tenderloin district, which is not the nicest area in the city but is nowhere near as dangerous as some describe. My room on the 4th floor was quiet. Wi-Fi worked well (you need to pay the additional Urban Fee to get this). The adjoining restaurant/bar was less than impressive.
Would I stay here again? Maybe - if it was 20% cheaper. Otherwise I'd choose one of the other hotels closer to Union Square.

Room Tip: Higher floors - less street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gm106
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jenny K, Guest Relations Manager at Serrano Hotel, responded to this review, 12 June 2014
Thank you for your honest review. Your feedback is invaluable in our efforts to always improve. We‘ll take your thoughts regarding our décor, value and bar, into careful consideration. We’re thrilled you found our hotel clean and quiet. We hope to see you again in the future; we’re confident we can wow you with our ongoing improvements.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baden
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2014

I want to address what I found to be the main criticism by a lot of reviewers which is that this hotel is in a shady neighbourhood. This hotel is on the bordering edges of a less affluented neighbourhood but don't make the mistake of thinking poverty = dangerous crime directed at me. The location is not dangerous for a tourist minding their own business, just use some common sense. It's in a great location, near Union Square and very central. Even if you walk a few blocks deeper into the tenderloin district, you'll still find nice breakfast cafes (dottie's and homeskillet) and restaurants. Unless you've never seen a homeless person before, the neighbourhood shouldn't be an issue for you.

Plus if it does bother you, just ask the front desk which direction walk to avoid the whole issue.

Now about the hotel. The lobby is beautiful and really sets the whole mood of the hotel. The fitness centre and sauna looked nice but we never used the facilities.

We were 4 adults in a 2-bed room. Not too sure about all the complaints I read about really cramped rooms since I thought we had a good amount of space for an inner city hotel. Maybe we got lucky. Bathrooms were nice. Rooms were clean and beautifully decorated.


Service was excellent - we're talking front desk, the general manager, the cleaning staff, the front desk, the doorman... absolutely everyone we talked to at this hotel was so beyond pleasant.

We did park in a nearby parkade that was cheaper than the hotel. They have free coffee in the lobby every morning but we almost always woke up too late to get any (our fault)

I hate to admit it but we were the worst kind of guests too. First, we got a deal from hotwire for the room and I thought the hotel might treat us second class as a result but they didn't! It was a celebration weekend for us so our rooms were also left in quite a state and we made a lot of calls to the front desk with questions and requests. Everything was met with such high levels of professionalism. We owe them a really big thank you. Our trip to San Francisco was made all the better because of the staff at Serrano.


In short:
Positive: Staff and everything else
Negative: Nothing (but 24 hour free coffee would've been nice, ha)

Room Tip: 1516 was a great size beautiful room if you're looking for one with 2 beds.
See more room tips
Green Features: Used biodegradable cups for drinks in the lobby and had environmental towel washing policies.
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KristenDayna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jenny K, Guest Relations Manager at Serrano Hotel, responded to this review, 6 June 2014
Kristen,
It sounds like your celebrations were a success! Your compliments of our hotel team are much appreciated; you’ve made our day. We know our team will feel the same when we pass your praise along to them. We’re happy you loved our décor, room size and cleanliness. We are also glad that our location was the perfect base for your weekend; your perspective is refreshing. We hope to see you again when you next visit San Francisco; maybe you’ll find another cause to celebrate.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Avila, CA
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2014

Positive: The hotel has character. Lobby is beautiful, rooms have charm and are well maintained. Our bed was excellent. Personnel is generally pleasant although not always helpful. Very close to Union Square.

Negative: Our room (a deluxe queen) was a small corner room, and had a door shared with the adjacent room. Consequently, we could hear loud conversations next door, and I had to go and ask these people to speak more quietly. There was no night table on one side, which forced my husband to place things on the floor. The neighborhood was very depressing, with hordes of homeless people sleeping on the street just half a block away.

We tried the hotel restaurant the first day for breakfast, and found it so gloomy and bottom of the barrel, that we did not return. I don't understand how the hotel can be so charming but the restaurant so "forgotten." We therefore searched for small cafés near by but could not find any, so we went to the Grand Café on the corner (which, by the way, is a gorgeous Prague type old café that will close in July.) We had the same problem with restaurants, and could not find a charming small restaurant with reasonable prices within a few blocks. We asked people at the desk, but we did not like the place where they sent us. A good recommendation is a creole restaurant called Brenda's, seven or eight blocks away.

Room Tip: Make sure your room does not have a common door with the next room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 123Avila
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jenny K, Guest Relations Manager at Serrano Hotel, responded to this review, 5 June 2014
We’re thrilled you loved our décor and comfy beds. It’s also great to hear that our hotel team offered you excellent service. We’re sorry that our restaurant failed to impress and that you were not pleased with our neighborhood. For future reference; we’d love to recommend Union Square for food options. It is known for its fantastic shopping, small boutique shops and yummy restaurants. Best of all; it is only a short walk from our front door. We hope to see you again in the future; we’re confident we can win you over with our ongoing improvements.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2014

The hotel should be rated three stars, not four. The rooms are dated, but clean. The staff is friendly and accommodating. The free coffee in the morning is good. But the neighborhood...I hope you're packing. It's scary to walk from the hotel to Union Square. You're right in the middle of homeless central. If you're familiar with Skid Row in LA, that's what it looks like. Drunk people are everywhere. Smell of weed and urine is in every corner around the block. We ordered in the second night mostly b/c we didn't want to fight the homeless crowd to make our way to dinner. It's too bad.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LucyInLA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jenny K, Guest Relations Manager at Serrano Hotel, responded to this review, 5 June 2014
Lucy,
We’re glad that our cleanliness and friendly staff met your expectations. We apologize that you were not comfortable with the area near our hotel. We strive to make every guest feel safe, and we’re sorry to have not met that goal for you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Nob Hill
Stanford Court San Francisco
Stanford Court San Francisco
#58 of 229 in San Francisco
4,537 reviews
Union Square
Villa Florence
Villa Florence
#89 of 229 in San Francisco
1,668 reviews
Tilden Hotel
#103 of 229 in San Francisco
151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Union Square
Warwick San Francisco
Warwick San Francisco
#34 of 229 in San Francisco
570 reviews
Union Square
Handlery Union Square Hotel
Handlery Union Square Hotel
#68 of 229 in San Francisco
3,917 reviews
Union Square
Kimpton Sir Francis Drake Hotel
Kimpton Sir Francis Drake Hotel
#98 of 229 in San Francisco
3,192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Serrano Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Serrano Hotel

Property: Serrano Hotel
Address: 405 Taylor St, San Francisco, CA 94102-1765
Region: United States > California > San Francisco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#47 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Serrano Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 236
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Serrano Hotel is steps away from Union Square, perfectly positioned in the Theater District of San Francisco. Our 236 rooms offer large picture windows, plush Frette bedding, mini bars, flat-panel TVs, and a variety of on-demand programming. Jasper's Corner Tap and Kitchen, located in the hotel, is open all day for a casual drink or bite to eat. Work off dinner at our fully equipped on-site fitness center featuring Precor equipment. Our hotel's focus on guest comfort and our outstanding location will ensure your stay in San Francisco will be exactly what you had in mind. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Odigeo, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Southall Travel, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Serrano Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kimpton San Francisco
Serrano Hotel San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing