We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cheap and Cheerful”
Review of Serrano Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Serrano Hotel
Ranked #93 of 229 Hotels in San Francisco
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Vancouver, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Cheap and Cheerful”
Reviewed 25 June 2014

Cheap and cheerful is what you're hoping for here, and mostly you get that. The staff was very helpful and friendly. The carpets and walls are so bright you may not need coffee in the morning. The rooms are okay, but I found the beds to be quite uncomfortable. The bathroom was very small. There was a strange smell permeating the lobby for my whole visit. The ground-floor restaurant and bar is a bit sticky and the food is just okay, but its lively and open late. Great location to union square area and lots of cocktail places nearby. The area may be a bit challenging for some, Tenderloin is what it is. Overall, the rate was good and it got the job done, but if like me, you love going to nice hotels, this is a sub-par choice.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jonathan Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jenny K, Guest Relations Manager at Serrano Hotel, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
Hello Jonathan,
We’re glad you found our hotel cheerful and a good value. We’re sorry to hear that the bed, room size and lobby scent was not to your liking. We also apologize that our restaurant, Jasper’s, failed to impress. We appreciate all your honest feedback. We’re committed to making our hotel better than ever, and your feedback helps us know what we need to focus on. We have many great improvements in store, and we hope to see you again in the future for the opportunity to wow you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,679 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    723
    1,134
    522
    182
    118
See reviews for
525
971
157
579
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (268)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Lake Elmo, Minnesota
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 June 2014

This is a boutique hotel with a very historic feel to it. I loved my room -- very comfortable and quiet. Staff was extremely helpful and courteous. Central location was nice -- walkable to many stores and Union Square where the people watching is great!

Room Tip: I had a corner room that was very bright and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TunaCommuna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jenny K, Guest Relations Manager at Serrano Hotel, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
Hello,
It sounds like you really enjoyed your San Francisco visit and stay with us. Thank you for the excellent 5 star rating! We hope to see you again for some more city fun and entertaining people watching.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2014 via mobile

The Serrano hotel is a nice hotel conveniently located and close to Union Square in San Fran. Rooms are nicely decorated although they can be a bit tight. The bathroom was small, but we could find space to put our toiletries/belongings.

Upon arriving we were told Wi-fi was complimentary. When we checked out we were told that we had to pay an extra $20 a night for "urban fees", which should have included internet connection, coffee in the lobby and other amenities that I never knew we had when we checked in. We were then told that these fees were clearly indicated when we booked online. We did not recall seeing this nor did we find it in the email confirmation from Hotwire. It is notable that while waiting to checkout another couple was already arguing with hotel staff for the "urban fees" they were being asked to pay. It seems we were not the only ones to miss this!

All in all it was a good stay but this last "surprise" left us with a bad taste since it was unexpected and significant. When I go back to San Fran I will definitely choose another hotel and be very cautious about fine print...which I am still looking for. I hope it was worth it Serrano!

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
9 Thank Giorgie09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jenny K, Guest Relations Manager at Serrano Hotel, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Girogie,
We’re glad you loved our location and décor. In our experience, guests appreciate one price for all that the fee includes, instead of separate charges for each item. Booking travel can often be a complicated endeavor as you try to compare and price a variety of hotels. It seems in this case you did not see details of the Urban Fee and we will address that with our booking partners.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canton, Michigan
Level 6 Contributor
141 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2014

Some may feel it's a little dated but stepping into the Serrano, as one of the staff permanently on-hand opens the door, transports you back to the charm and elegance of the past. The staff are very friendly and helpful, quick to respond to requests. The room I had was very comfortable with all the necessary amenities for someone on a business trip but I did miss not having a coffee-maker in the room. I did not try it but the fruity water in lobby looked enticing. Part of the charm was using the wooden-bannister staircase rather than the lift - not something one tends to do in more modern hotels. Well-positioned in San Francisco we could walk to most places- just as well as the Trolley (Tram) service was on strike while I was there. The breakfast offered was a la carte and fairly basic - and the service slower than necessary, especially considering there were only 5 other people in the dining room. All told, I will probably stay there the next time I visit San Francisco.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CraigvE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jenny K, Guest Relations Manager at Serrano Hotel, responded to this review, 18 June 2014
Craig,
Your description of our décor as old-fashioned charm is perfect, thank you! We’re very happy you were comfortable in your room and that our location proved convenient. We apologize for the slow service you experienced during breakfast. We want all our guests to feel well cared for, and we appreciate your feedback that helps us know what we need to focus on. We hope to see you again when you next visit our amazing city; we plan to wow you with our ongoing improvements.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2014 via mobile

Upon arrival we had a free room upgrade because they had none of our booked rooms left so not going to complain about that. We ended up in a suite, it was very nice if a bit dated.
My only complaints are that there is no dressing table with a mirror and the hair dryers need upgrading I couldn't get through doing half my hair before it overheated.
It's in a great location to get to Union Sq and loads if great restaurants, tram stops etc. we would stay again.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Emilou83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jenny K, Guest Relations Manager at Serrano Hotel, responded to this review, 14 June 2014
Emilou,
A free room upgrade is always a great start to a vacation; we’re happy you appreciated it. It sounds like you fully enjoyed the conveniences our location offers. We apologize for any inconveniences you encountered due to the blow dryer. We’re always striving to improve, and we’ll take your thoughts regarding our room into careful consideration, thank you. We can’t wait to see you again when you next visit San Francisco.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
austin, tx
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2014

we got a great deal on this cool little hotel, but were a bit surprised by the $20/day extra amenity charge. our room was on the small side, but well maintained. they kept a giant urn of fruit-infused ice water in the lobby during the day, and had a coffee service in the morning (since there was none available in the room). they did empty out occasionally, so we had to frequently ask them to refill - we were there for a full week. the staff was marvelous & location excellent ... we would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank fangeldunc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jenny K, Guest Relations Manager at Serrano Hotel, responded to this review, 12 June 2014
We love our unique flair; it’s great to know you appreciated it too! Thank you for your praise of our great team; we’ll be sure to pass your compliments along to everyone. In our experience, guests appreciate one price for all that the fee includes, instead of separate charges for each item. Booking travel can often be a complicated endeavor as you try to compare and price a variety of hotels. It seems in this case you did not see details of the Urban Fee and we will address that with our booking partners. We can’t wait to see you again when you next visit San Francisco.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2014

Hotel is located about 3 blocks from BART and close to Chinatown, theater district and Union Square. The room was small but with character and beautiful lobby. Bathroom soaps are C.O. Bigelow which was a nice suprise. There is a large homeless population in San Franciso in general; there is a church down the street from the hotel that offers them assistance but we walked by it day and night and no one ever bothered us. The staff was friendly and it was a short walk to the cable car stop that takes you to the wharf area. I thought it was a good value, clean, friendly, convenient and comfortable

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Twisp27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jenny K, Guest Relations Manager at Serrano Hotel, responded to this review, 12 June 2014
It sounds like you enjoyed a great San Francisco vacation while seeing the cities many different personalities. We’re thrilled our location proved to be a convenient place to call home during your stay. It’s great to hear that our team offered you excellent service and that you found our hotel clean and comfy. We hope to see you again for your next San Francisco adventure.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Union Square
Villa Florence
Villa Florence
#99 of 229 in San Francisco
1,744 reviews
Nob Hill
Stanford Court San Francisco
Stanford Court San Francisco
#60 of 229 in San Francisco
4,643 reviews
Tilden Hotel
#104 of 229 in San Francisco
167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Union Square
Kimpton Sir Francis Drake Hotel
Kimpton Sir Francis Drake Hotel
#97 of 229 in San Francisco
3,229 reviews
Union Square
Handlery Union Square Hotel
Handlery Union Square Hotel
#69 of 229 in San Francisco
3,962 reviews
SoMa
Hotel Zelos San Francisco
Hotel Zelos San Francisco
#58 of 229 in San Francisco
704 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Serrano Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Serrano Hotel

Property: Serrano Hotel
Address: 405 Taylor St, San Francisco, CA 94102-1765
Region: United States > California > San Francisco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#45 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Serrano Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 236
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Serrano Hotel is steps away from Union Square, perfectly positioned in the Theater District of San Francisco. Our 236 rooms offer large picture windows, plush Frette bedding, mini bars, flat-panel TVs, and a variety of on-demand programming. Jasper's Corner Tap and Kitchen, located in the hotel, is open all day for a casual drink or bite to eat. Work off dinner at our fully equipped on-site fitness center featuring Precor equipment. Our hotel's focus on guest comfort and our outstanding location will ensure your stay in San Francisco will be exactly what you had in mind. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Southall Travel, Odigeo, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Serrano Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kimpton San Francisco
Serrano Hotel San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing