We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Spero
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
Omni San Francisco Hotel(San Francisco)
US$436
US$215
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
US$592
US$222
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Mystic Hotel(San Francisco)
US$191
US$155
MysticHotel.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
InterContinental Mark Hopkins San Francisco(San Francisco)(Great Value!)
US$267
US$247
InterContinental
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Hilton Parc 55 San Francisco(San Francisco)(Great Value!)
US$244
US$209
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Club Quarters Hotel in San Francisco(San Francisco)(Great Value!)
US$219
US$214
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$317
US$307
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
San Francisco Marriott Marquis(San Francisco)(Great Value!)
US$298
US$272
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
US$456
US$307
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Courtyard by Marriott San Francisco Downtown(San Francisco)(Great Value!)
US$342
US$279
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Reviews (3,049)
Filter reviews
3,049 results
Traveller rating
827
1,270
585
211
156
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
827
1,270
585
211
156
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsunion squaretenderloinkimpton hotelswine receptionrooms are smallboutique hotelmini barcorner roomfew blocksconvenient locationking bedmarket streetvalet parkingpublic transportationcable carnob hillfisherman's wharf
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,728 - 1,733 of 3,049 reviews
Reviewed 25 June 2014

Cheap and cheerful is what you're hoping for here, and mostly you get that. The staff was very helpful and friendly. The carpets and walls are so bright you may not need coffee in the morning. The rooms are okay, but I found the beds to be quite uncomfortable. The bathroom was very small. There was a strange smell permeating the lobby for my whole visit. The ground-floor restaurant and bar is a bit sticky and the food is just okay, but its lively and open late. Great location to union square area and lots of cocktail places nearby. The area may be a bit challenging for some, Tenderloin is what it is. Overall, the rate was good and it got the job done, but if like me, you love going to nice hotels, this is a sub-par choice.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jonathan Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jenny K, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Spero, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2014

Hello Jonathan,
We’re glad you found our hotel cheerful and a good value. We’re sorry to hear that the bed, room size and lobby scent was not to your liking. We also apologize that our restaurant, Jasper’s, failed to impress. We appreciate all your honest feedback. We’re committed to making our hotel better than ever, and your feedback helps us know what we need to focus on. We have many great improvements in store, and we hope to see you again in the future for the opportunity to wow you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2014

This is a boutique hotel with a very historic feel to it. I loved my room -- very comfortable and quiet. Staff was extremely helpful and courteous. Central location was nice -- walkable to many stores and Union Square where the people watching is great!

Room Tip: I had a corner room that was very bright and quiet.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TunaCommuna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jenny K, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Spero, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2014

Hello,
It sounds like you really enjoyed your San Francisco visit and stay with us. Thank you for the excellent 5 star rating! We hope to see you again for some more city fun and entertaining people watching.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2014

The Serrano hotel is a nice hotel conveniently located and close to Union Square in San Fran. Rooms are nicely decorated although they can be a bit tight. The bathroom was small, but we could find space to put our toiletries/belongings.

Upon arriving we were told Wi-fi was complimentary. When we checked out we were told that we had to pay an extra $20 a night for "urban fees", which should have included internet connection, coffee in the lobby and other amenities that I never knew we had when we checked in. We were then told that these fees were clearly indicated when we booked online. We did not recall seeing this nor did we find it in the email confirmation from Hotwire. It is notable that while waiting to checkout another couple was already arguing with hotel staff for the "urban fees" they were being asked to pay. It seems we were not the only ones to miss this!

All in all it was a good stay but this last "surprise" left us with a bad taste since it was unexpected and significant. When I go back to San Fran I will definitely choose another hotel and be very cautious about fine print...which I am still looking for. I hope it was worth it Serrano!

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
9  Thank Giorgie09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jenny K, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Spero, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2014

Girogie,
We’re glad you loved our location and décor. In our experience, guests appreciate one price for all that the fee includes, instead of separate charges for each item. Booking travel can often be a complicated endeavor as you try to compare and price a variety of hotels. It seems in this case you did not see details of the Urban Fee and we will address that with our booking partners.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2014

Some may feel it's a little dated but stepping into the Serrano, as one of the staff permanently on-hand opens the door, transports you back to the charm and elegance of the past. The staff are very friendly and helpful, quick to respond to requests. The room I had was very comfortable with all the necessary amenities for someone on a business trip but I did miss not having a coffee-maker in the room. I did not try it but the fruity water in lobby looked enticing. Part of the charm was using the wooden-bannister staircase rather than the lift - not something one tends to do in more modern hotels. Well-positioned in San Francisco we could walk to most places- just as well as the Trolley (Tram) service was on strike while I was there. The breakfast offered was a la carte and fairly basic - and the service slower than necessary, especially considering there were only 5 other people in the dining room. All told, I will probably stay there the next time I visit San Francisco.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CraigvE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jenny K, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Spero, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2014

Craig,
Your description of our décor as old-fashioned charm is perfect, thank you! We’re very happy you were comfortable in your room and that our location proved convenient. We apologize for the slow service you experienced during breakfast. We want all our guests to feel well cared for, and we appreciate your feedback that helps us know what we need to focus on. We hope to see you again when you next visit our amazing city; we plan to wow you with our ongoing improvements.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2014 via mobile

Upon arrival we had a free room upgrade because they had none of our booked rooms left so not going to complain about that. We ended up in a suite, it was very nice if a bit dated.
My only complaints are that there is no dressing table with a mirror and the hair dryers need upgrading I couldn't get through doing half my hair before it overheated.
It's in a great location to get to Union Sq and loads if great restaurants, tram stops etc. we would stay again.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
3  Thank Emilou83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jenny K, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Spero, responded to this reviewResponded 14 June 2014

Emilou,
A free room upgrade is always a great start to a vacation; we’re happy you appreciated it. It sounds like you fully enjoyed the conveniences our location offers. We apologize for any inconveniences you encountered due to the blow dryer. We’re always striving to improve, and we’ll take your thoughts regarding our room into careful consideration, thank you. We can’t wait to see you again when you next visit San Francisco.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews