We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Warm and friendly service to match comfortable hotel!”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Serrano Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Serrano Hotel
Ranked #98 of 228 Hotels in San Francisco
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Warm and friendly service to match comfortable hotel!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2014

What a warm reception greeted us as we got off an airport shuttle bus at the Serrano Hotel. The Bell Man helped to melt away my earlier stress of discovering (just before checking out of my hotel in Boston) that I was overnighting in San Francisco instead of flying home to Auckland in one go (with a brief stop in S.F.). I had a scramble to find a place before I departed Boston that would not break the bank, would be central enough so that my son and I could explore on foot (as we had a whole day to wait before our 9pm flight) and safe enough that I could leave my 19 year old daughter (who happens to be blind) in the lobby for several hours as she needed to be connected to wifi (and a power outlet) to help catch up with University work and meetings that she was missing! As soon as our luggage was in the lobby, the Bell Man organized our shuttle for the next day so that we would be all set and assured us that we could leave our luggage there once we checked out and that of course my daughter could sit in the lobby. He took us and our luggage up to the rooms and set us up, answering many questions as we went. The beds were very comfortable and we were all happy to be in one rather than back on the 2nd plane. The next morning we had a good breakfast in their little restaurant. I can't say much for the ambience of the restaurant but the food was good and our waitress was lovely. Once we had checked out I spoke with the concierge about how best to use our time. He was very informative about the best route to take, to see the most (Chinatown, the waterfront etc) and avoid most of the hills. We then found a comfortable seat for my daughter with access to a plug, showed her where the toilets were and left. Much later in the day after we had all gone out to dinner I asked at the desk if there was anywhere, besides the toilets the restaurant used, that we could go to change into our travelling clothes and organize our carry ons. He was most helpful and showed us upstairs to a quiet area with seats and no one around with private toilets for us to change in. It was perfect. The original welcoming bell man then checked up on our shuttle that was a bit overdue. I would definitely go back to the Serrano.

Room Tip: Our room was small but modern and had everything you could need for a short stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Katherine1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jenny K, Guest Relations Manager at Serrano Hotel, responded to this review, 4 September 2014
Hello Katherine,
Thank you for the wonderful review! We’re thrilled our comfortable hotel, fantastic location, and reasonable rates were so well suited to your needs. We love knowing our dedicated team offered you personal, attentive service and made you feel truly welcomed. Our bellman will appreciate your kind words; they’re sure to generate smiles! We’re delighted you enjoyed our comfortable beds, beautiful lobby, and helpful recommendations. We are glad Jasper’s tasty breakfast selection and friendly service impressed you, but we apologize if the ambiance failed to. We appreciate the feedback and will pass your comments on to their team. The next time you’re in San Francisco, we look forward to seeing you again and offering you another exceptional experience!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,370 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    621
    1,033
    465
    147
    104
See reviews for
424
858
144
516
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (260)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
69 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2014

Good location close to Union Square and around the corner from three theatres..Staff are well-seasoned and very professional. Place is gaudily decorated and could really use a refresh. The mattress was too soft. The air conditioner and heater worked really fast, maybe because the room was on the small side. However, the basic room is cozy and has everything you need.
Stayed just one night because the Adagio (Marriott) around the corner messed up. I went to San Francisco to attend a conference and stayed over an extra day t because I wanted to see it. Serrano is less expensive and not as modern although they do have free WiFi in each room. Honestly if it weren't for the beat-up mattress I'd say I was pretty happy there.

Room Tip: Another reviewer recommended a high floor on the corner because of the views. I got a high floor (10...
See more room tips
Green Features: If you ask me, it's just an excuse for skimpy amenities.
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled solo
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jenny K, Guest Relations Manager at Serrano Hotel, responded to this review, 4 September 2014
Hello Marie,
Thank you for sharing your experience with us. We’re happy you appreciated our great location, dedicated team, and terrific price-quality. We are sorry you if our décor, beds, and room size failed to impress you, but we’re glad you enjoyed the climate of your room and our complimentary Wi-Fi. We appreciate all your feedback and will take it under careful consideration, as we strive to offer every guest a wonderful experience. The next time you’re in San Francisco, whether for business or pleasure, we hope you choose Serrano. We’d love a chance to impress you more!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
79 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2014

Love, love, love this hotel! My favorite place to stay in San Francisco. Located right off of Union Square so it is conveniently located to everything - shopping, great restaurants, etc.

Definitely request a corner room on a higher floor (10 or above); the views are spectular.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jenny K, Guest Relations Manager at Serrano Hotel, responded to this review, 29 August 2014
Hello Stephen,
Your wonderful review made our day! We love, love, love offering you such a memorable experience, with our fantastic location and beautiful views. We feel genuinely honored to be your San Francisco favorite! Thank you. We can’t wait to see you again, hopefully soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
237 reviews
111 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 148 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2014

The Serrano is a three-star-plus tourist hotel that is diagonally across the street from the big Hilton conference hotel near Union Square in San Francisco. The neighborhood is a bit sketchy ... it's not really family-friendly. The main reason to stay here would be if you're attending a conference at the Hilton or one of the other nearby conference hotels but you want to stay somewhere a little less huge and crowded.

I would rate the Serrano at five stars except that they charged me a $20 a night hidden fee (on check-out, not mentioned at check-in) for "hotel services" -- i.e., internet access. For $270 a night, you'd think they could afford to throw in internet access for free. This is after all the 21st century.

Otherwise the hotel is pleasant if a bit old. The lobby is a "grand" old lobby but the bathrooms are ever so slightly "shabby" old. The staff are friendly and helpful, and the front desk is staffed 24 hours. The Serrano is a perfectly nice place to stay.

That said, if you're not in San Francisco on business you probably won't want to stay one block away from a large concentration of aggressive homeless people and public street drug use. This isn't a problem of the Serrano; after all, the Hilton is right across the street. But it is a problem.

The hotel is four blocks up from the Powell St BART station, which is directly accessible from SFO airport.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sbabones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jenny K, Guest Relations Manager at Serrano Hotel, responded to this review, 29 August 2014
Hello sbabones,
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. We’re happy our beautiful, “grand old” lobby and friendly, dedicated team impressed you. We’re delighted you found our convenient proximity to conference centers and transportation pleasing, but we’re sorry to hear aspects of our location unsettled you. We assure you, guest security, satisfaction, and comfort are our top priorities. We strive to offer a wonderful experience for guests of all ages, whether they’re visiting our beautiful city for business or leisure. We also apologize for any confusion over our standard Urban Fee. For your future reference this fee includes; morning coffee and tea, all day flavored water in reception, morning newspaper, town car service Mon thru Fri mornings to the financial district, unlimited local calls and faxes, boarding pass printing, use of our bicycles, and very fast Wi-Fi. In our experience, guests appreciate one price for all that the fee includes, instead of separate charges for each item. Booking travel can often be a complicated endeavor as you try to compare and price a variety of hotels. It seems in this case you did not see details of the Urban Fee and we will address that with our booking partners. We truly enjoy hearing from you and hope you choose to visit us again soon. We would love to make your next experience even better!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
57 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2014

Stayed in Serrano for 5 nights in August with husband and daughter.
Prior to my 12hour flight to san fran I emailed the hotel twice asking for advise on transport from the airport and I got no response, I found this frustrating.
Got a taxi and arrived to hotel check in was fine---had requested a feather free room on booking we were so tired after arriving that I didn t check for feathers and only discovered the following morning that my request had been ignored.
The room size was small but I would expect that given its central location. There was dust along the skirting boards and I moved my daughters bed closer to the wall and when I moved it , it looked as if the area had not been dusted/vacuumed in weeks.
The bathroom was functional and shabby with a poor quality hairdryer needs updating!! The shampoo etc was limited as were the towels.
It would have been nice to have had coffee making facilities in the room
The closet was a great size great for storing suitcases and even had an iron which was a bonus.
Some staff were friendly/helpful others extremely unhelpful when I asked about restaurants in the area I was just told to look at the interactive screen in the lobby got no advise.
Many reviews comment on the homelessness in the area but this is the case throughout San Fran , not an issue that is isolated to this hotel and we certainly had no problems.
The restaurant was extremely disappointing more like a loud noisy bar with substandard food would definitely not recommend eating here.
Hotel was close to union square about 5mins walk and an easy walk to tram/market street certainly better to stay in this area rather than wharf area which seemed cheap and tasteless.
There were other hotels in the area that were a bit more expense and they are probably worth the extra few dollars as they appeared to offer a bit more luxury..
Overall we had a functional stay in hotel , it was a handy location it could do with some upgrading in the bathrooms, some dusting in the rooms and they should pay closer attention to their customer requests and look at their emails . Coffee making facilities etc would be great

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Dub0202
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jenny K, Guest Relations Manager at Serrano Hotel, responded to this review, 29 August 2014
Hello Dub0202,
Please accept our apologies for your poor experiences. We have shared your review with the appropriate department managers to ensure they are not repeated. We strive to provide excellent experiences, but in this case it seems we failed. For this we are truly sorry. We invite you to reach out to our General Manager, John Sevilla, to offer more details and to give us an opportunity to make it right. Please email him at john.sevilla@serranohotel.com. We hope for an opportunity to regain your trust. Thank you for your review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
58 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2014 via mobile

We were very impressed with the room, it was very good value for money. We were a bit concerned about the area but we had no problems. You just need to be careful about which direction you walk in. There are doormen at the door which help with any safety concerns

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Elle_holiday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jenny K, Guest Relations Manager at Serrano Hotel, responded to this review, 29 August 2014
Hello Elle,
Thank you for the great review! We’re thrilled our thoughtfully designed rooms and terrific value impressed you. We apologize if you weren’t fully comfortable with aspects of our centralized, urban location, but we’re happy to hear our dedicated team made you feel secure. Your satisfaction and comfort are so important to us! The next time you’re heading to San Francisco, please think of Serrano. We look forward to continuing to impress you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manalapan, New Jersey
Level Contributor
208 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for two nights coming in from Napa and was at first wowed me when I walked into the lobby. The fake painted marble, red and gold walls and trimming and the friendly staff. However the room was really small, not to mention how tiny and poorly laid out bathroom. No towel bar near the shower no within the long tub and wallpaper peel and black mold spots in areas. The bathrooms walls definitely need a makeover. Beds were comfy, be sure to close your window upon retiring, can hear all street noise. Night bellman did not know now to read luggage tickets in the store room and gave us someone else's luggage first till I corrected him. Internet was slow if at all connected, better access in lobby, poor gym. Location was far to the wharf. Be prepared to do lots of walking.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Akma4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jenny K, Guest Relations Manager at Serrano Hotel, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Hello Akma,
We appreciate you taking the time to leave us a review and share your experience. We are thrilled you were taken back by our beautiful lobby and by the hospitality of our fantastic team, but we are sorry to hear our fitness center, Wi-Fi speed, and the size and condition of our rooms failed to impress you. We sincerely apologize that your bathroom was not properly cleaned or maintained prior to your arrival. We also regret any disturbance you experienced due to outside noise and any inconvenience caused by our bellman’s oversight. Your feedback is invaluable to us, as it helps us identify areas we can improve. Your satisfaction is our top priority. We are sorry you weren’t impressed by our central location or value, but we do hope you enjoyed your overall experience at Serrano. The next time you visit San Francisco, we’d love a chance to win you over!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Nob Hill
Stanford Court San Francisco
Stanford Court San Francisco
#49 of 228 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,184 reviews
Union Square
Villa Florence
Villa Florence
#76 of 228 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,343 reviews
Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
#15 of 228 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,062 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Union Square
Handlery Union Square Hotel
Handlery Union Square Hotel
#71 of 228 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,788 reviews
Union Square
Hotel Zeppelin San Francisco
Hotel Zeppelin San Francisco
#63 of 228 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 328 reviews
Union Square
Warwick San Francisco
Warwick San Francisco
#37 of 228 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 535 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Serrano Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Serrano Hotel

Property: Serrano Hotel
Address: 405 Taylor St, San Francisco, CA 94102-1765
Region: United States > California > San Francisco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#48 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Serrano Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 236
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Serrano Hotel is steps away from Union Square, perfectly positioned in the Theater District of San Francisco. Our 236 rooms offer large picture windows, plush Frette bedding, mini bars, flat-panel TVs, and a variety of on-demand programming. Jasper's Corner Tap and Kitchen, located in the hotel, is open all day for a casual drink or bite to eat. Work off dinner at our fully equipped on-site fitness center featuring Precor equipment. Our hotel's focus on guest comfort and our outstanding location will ensure your stay in San Francisco will be exactly what you had in mind. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Hotelopia, Priceline, Southall Travel, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Serrano Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kimpton San Francisco
Serrano Hotel San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing