We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hot, Noisy, but Cheap”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Union Square Plaza Hotel
Ranked #178 of 228 Hotels in San Francisco
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
89 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Hot, Noisy, but Cheap”
Reviewed 19 February 2008

Just came back from a stay at the Union Square Plaza Hotel. At first glance I thought it might be haunted with the blotchy paint job and mattresses in the hallway. We were scared to open the room door for what might await us. The beds are decents and the basics of sink, toilet, and shower is there which looked clean. We couldn't find the temperature control for the room if there was one so it was unbearably hot which meant we opened the windows. But then this meant amazingly loud street noise (and we were on the top floor). We actually heard people arguing, car alarms going off, and a possible gun shot at night. There was about half an hour of silence for some slumber.

Overall, it was clean and the location is not bad (but I would have chosen to stay at a different area if I was to go to San Fran again).

  • Liked — Price
  • Disliked — Noise
  • Stayed February 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jenmito
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

512 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    32
    128
    174
    99
    79
See reviews for
63
189
71
52
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
melisan626
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 31 January 2008

I decided to take a long weekend trip for my birthday to San Francisco since I had never been there before. I found a great deal for this hotel and read from other reviews that it was a nice clean hotel and great for the price. That was not the case. This place was extremely filthy, noisy and not so safe of an area. When I first walked into my room, I was greeted a roach!

The only good thing that I can say is that the front desk staff were amazing. They tried to help as best as they could by giving me a different room, the only problem was that the room faced a parking garage and a dumpster that had to be emptied every other day at about 5 am!

Next time I go I will spend the extra money to guarantee that I'm staying someplace that I know I'm going to be comfortable.

  • Liked — Front desk staff
  • Disliked — Cleanliness of the hotel
  • Stayed October 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank melisan626
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these San Francisco hotels

Belfast
Level Contributor
24 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2007

This hotel is in a great location near Union Square. Although the rooms are quite dated the place is clean and reasonably priced.
Well worth a visit if you need cheap accomodation right in the heart of San Francisco within walking distance of Trolley cars and MACYS.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — decor
  • Stayed September 2006, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank tMCL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
united kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 9 August 2007

We new we were booking a budget hotel but didn’t expect what we got. We have stayed in Hostels all over the world and this Hotel made the hostels seem like palaces.

I have read the other reviews and can let you know, the closeness to the Bart & Muni is exaggerated. But Union Square is right on your doorstep. So if all you want to do is shop, this is the right area to stay.

We were met by 3 different concierges, 2 off which were rude; the third a man was the only thing we liked about our Stay in San Francisco. He had afternoon shift and was there till 11pm at night. He was very helpful, upbeat and pleasant.

The room we were put in was filthy and the windows are black with dust and soot. The ceiling had a huge hole in it. Cause no doubt by the rusty looking damp patch that surrounded it. The carpets looked like they were moving they were so badly faded and they smelt rotten. The bath room was the same and in serious need of disinfection. The walls & roof are rotten and yellow & rusty with damp ant it smelled like an overfull men’s urinal, even after house keeping had been.

The Curran theatre is directly across the road and various Art Galleries in the same block as the hotel but directly next to the hotel is a pizza place a Chinese and A burger place and a Mexican Restaurant.

If you think this is a good thing your wrong as you are constantly harassed by the homeless sitting & sleeping in the doorways. We were even chased into the hotel lobby by a couple trying to pry the food from our hands.

The noise at night from the traffic makes the entire room vibrate the windows rattles like they might fall out. The late night parties with music and people singing on the streets were like having a mobile disco in bed with you all night long.

The restaurants throw there bottles & rubbish out at 2am every morning and the bin men empty the bins every morning at 5am. The noise from both of these is also deafening. So you are sure you will get no sleep. And since The homeless people are so plentiful in this area around the hotel you dare not stay out to late we never felt safe.

So in conclusion, we felt like this hotel was the same as a filthy, prison and we were Stupid enough to pay far to much for it.

  • Liked — Leaving it.
  • Disliked — Being stuck there for 10 days
  • Stayed July 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank ClareZiggy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
belfast, northern ireland
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2007

This hotel was booked on a budget but it was the best hotel we have ever stayed in. It was located right next to cable cars, MUNI & BART station, shopping, restaurants and nightlife. Staff were very welcoming and helpful, maid service every day, rooms big and spacious with hairdryer, iron, shower, telephone and queen size bed. Everything was fantastic and we would recommend this hotel and indeed San Francisco to everyone - a very unique experience.

  • Liked — clean, spacious, friendly staff, central location
  • Stayed July 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank susbar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 January 2007

The thing I remember most about this hotel is the lasting smell. Upon returning home and opening my case, the smell of the hotel room wafted out and up into my nostrils. Ugh! Having said that, if you are looking for a cheap no frills hotel, this place is okay. A large room with clean bathroom and a TV that worked, although furnishings a little shabby. The room was made up and cleaned every day. At night it was quiet in the halls, although I do recall the bins in the lane below being collected at one point. Fortunately, my mattress didn't have the plastic covering referred to elsewhere here, but a friend encountered that in their room. The location of the hotel is excellent, not far from Powell Street and Union Square. People on the desk were friendly and helpful.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Lingering smell in room
  • Stayed September 2006, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RJT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2006

This hotel has a great location, it's so easy to get to the Powell cable car line and Market street for the BART and Muni. We felt safe walking around at night not too many beggars, but if you go towards Japantown or the Civic centre that all changes. The room was old, hot & a little smelly but not unbearable considering we didn't spend much time in the room. Poor water pressure in the shower, small towels and the hair dryer was a waste of time. The first night we stayed on the Geary st side of the hotel, which was a bigger room with a wardrobe but the street noise was too much to get a good night rest so we moved to the other side of the building. This was much quieter, but a smaller room with only a view of the alley. The staff were OK, they didn't go out of their way, but did all that was required of them. We overheard a couple of the front desk staff rubishing the hotel one night and calling it a dive, so that doesn't give you a lot of confidence in the place. For a cheap place to crash in a great location this would be fine, but we will be spending the extra $$ next time for somewhere else.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — The Room
  • Stayed September 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dingo_Starbucks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Union Square
Post Hotel
Post Hotel
#170 of 228 in San Francisco
140 reviews
Union Square
Touchstone Hotel - City Center
Touchstone Hotel - City Center
#142 of 228 in San Francisco
378 reviews
Union Square
The Herbert Hotel
The Herbert Hotel
#78 of 228 in San Francisco
1,309 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Union Square
SF Plaza Hotel
SF Plaza Hotel
#200 of 228 in San Francisco
443 reviews
Union Square
Hotel Metropolis
Hotel Metropolis
#187 of 228 in San Francisco
741 reviews
Union Square
Hotel Bijou
Hotel Bijou
#131 of 228 in San Francisco
754 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Union Square Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Union Square Plaza Hotel

Property: Union Square Plaza Hotel
Address: 432 Geary St, San Francisco, CA 94102-1223
Region: United States > California > San Francisco > Union Square
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #178 of 228 Hotels in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Union Square Plaza Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 72
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Hotel.de, Ctrip TA, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, HRS, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Union Square Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Union Square Plaza
Union Square Plaza San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing