We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Union Square Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Union Square Plaza Hotel
Ranked #181 of 229 Hotels in San Francisco
Otaki, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
95 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Union Square Hotel”
Reviewed 2 October 2013

Lovely hotel,old but clean and friendly.Very close to everything around Powell Street and the cable car terminus.Neat breakfast too.Very nice for a three star hotel,should be four star I think.
My friend and I really enjoyed our stay and loved the helpfullness of the staff.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank poodlz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

519 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    32
    130
    177
    100
    80
See reviews for
66
192
72
52
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
USA
Level 6 Contributor
139 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2013

Spent 3 nights here and found it to be a great place to stay in San Francisco. Room was very clean, service was great. We felt very comfortable here. Was not a four star hotel, but it did not cost what a 4 star would. Hotel was old, but comfortable. Desk clerk Sid was extremely helpful. Only complaint we had was related to the noise outside at night. If you are out late at night, it would not matter. We were on the 6th floor and it kept us awake. Just ask for a room in the back.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mary19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nashville
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2013 via mobile

I purchased a Living Social deal to stay here during our trip to San Francisco earlier this year. The reviews I read were mixed. I have to say that I was thoroughly impressed with this hotel. First off, the location can't be beat! The cable car runs right in front of the hotel, with the turnaround right at the end of the street. Our king suite room was huge and surprisingly very quiet for being in such a busy location. The hotel offers coffee in the morning, wine in the evening, and water at night. It is a very neat, historic hotel right in the heart of union square. I highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amanda A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prague, Czech Republic
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2013

I was a bit affraid after readong all the reviews so I am happy to report I am alive and well after two nights at Union Aquare Plaza.

The place is ald and time has taken its toll. The windows are not airtight, they maybe be even a bit dirty but the bathroom and shower was ok, small, but ok, usable. The bed was ok too. the underlaying wet barrier made some noises but i had no problems sleeping well. I liked the old radiators heating in the evening and morning.

The staff was very nice, they even keep your luggage before your departure so you can squeeze some more time out of your stay. Overall for that money with private bathroom, I would go again. Not with my kids but with my wife.. sure, its a good value.

Room Tip: be aware of the door knobs, if you never used one, some funfiguring it out is guaranteed
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank oschon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eugene, OR
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2013

Location, location, location. You can get anywhere easily from there. Our room faced Geary, which is a loud street, but with earplugs it was fine. There was a heatwave in the City while we were there so thank goodness our windows did open. The room was very clean and larger than I expected. The sink is not in the bathroom, which didn't bother us. The bathtub had a little shelf at the back so you could lay items on that if you wanted to. The hotel is old so there are remnants of long gone years, but there was new tile in the bathroom, the carpets were clean and the beds were comfortable. I once stayed at the highly ranked Boston Park Plaza Hotel & Towers Plaza and it had some of the same issues due to age.

Room Tip: We stayed on the 5th Floor. The higher up the less noise. Of course, you could always ask for a ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lam77s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monaghan, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 September 2013

This hotel is reasonably priced for the location in San Francisco it is only a short walk from the main shops and streets with the trams. Yeah the hotel is old fashioned and may need decoration. But the bedroom and private bathroom were clean the room ok in size only two of us . Clean towels everyday. This is not a hotel to spend relaxing time in but if like us we were only spending 3 days in the city and wanted to see as much of it as we could it was fine. Found the staff to be helpful when we wanted anything . If you are on a budget and looking for a central hotel with private bathroom this hotel is fine.

Room Tip: this hotel has private bathrooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank deerut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
burnley
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 September 2013

Well this hotel is a bit of a dump, We had a room at the back , windows filthy( could not see out) terrrible noise from the bin men meant we were awake half the night.The room was in need of decoration. we arrived at midnight, door was locked but we were let in quite quickly and given our key.There were homeless people outside asking for money,However the bed was clean and so were the towels in the bathroom. The location itself is very good so we just put up with it. It is not a hotel to spend anytime in.. no lounge or reception area( just two chairs on a corrider) but served its purpose. There is a starbucks next door so at least you can get a cup of coffee!

Room Tip: maybe the rooms on the front would be better
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kaybeBurnley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these San Francisco hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Union Square
Post Hotel
Post Hotel
#177 of 229 in San Francisco
146 reviews
Union Square
The Herbert Hotel
The Herbert Hotel
#78 of 229 in San Francisco
1,340 reviews
Union Square
Hotel Bijou
Hotel Bijou
#130 of 229 in San Francisco
777 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Union Square
Hotel Metropolis
Hotel Metropolis
#185 of 229 in San Francisco
759 reviews
Union Square
Hotel Stratford
Hotel Stratford
#110 of 229 in San Francisco
1,379 reviews
Union Square
Touchstone Hotel - City Center
Touchstone Hotel - City Center
#139 of 229 in San Francisco
389 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Union Square Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Union Square Plaza Hotel

Property: Union Square Plaza Hotel
Address: 432 Geary St, San Francisco, CA 94102-1223
Region: United States > California > San Francisco > Union Square
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #181 of 229 Hotels in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Union Square Plaza Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 72
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Union Square Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Union Square Plaza
Union Square Plaza San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing