We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quirky hotel in a great location”
Review of Beresford Arms

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Beresford Arms
Ranked #84 of 231 Hotels in San Francisco
Reviewed 12 December 2013 via mobile

Stayed here with my husband in Oct 2013 and when we first arrived they had no record of our booking - a mistake by the agent. While they sorted it out quickly we were offered wine and the receptionist was efficient and courteous. The room was clean and spacious with a kitchen area which we did not use. Out stay was 5 nights and the location was ideal for seeing San Francisco, being on the corner of Post and Jones and a short walk from union square and cable car stops. I thought the price was reasonable compared with other hotels in the city and we loved the complimentary cheese and wine every late afternoon. Breakfast was a basic selection of pastries and fruit.
I would recommend this hotel for its helpful staff, location and quirkiness.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bodie76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,224)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

418 - 424 of 1,224 reviews

Reviewed 30 November 2013

Very disappointed we ended up in the basement of the building overlooking the dustbins an early morning call by the refused collectors every day thank goodness only had 4 nights, very very noisy at night did not get much sleep during our stay. Requested a change but told nothing available. Maybe nostalgic but really need to upgrade the bedding (seen better days), bathroom very dated, TV's well what can I say very dated, breakfast nothing to say except the coffe was ok. The only good thing about this hotel was the location.

Room Tip: Sorry would not like to recommend this hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DebbieLight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 November 2013

This hotel is nostalgic not necessarily in a bad way. It’s a 5 minute walk downhill to union station. Area is safe during the day and reasonable safe at night. The standard would be a low European 3 star standard but the hotel really does try.

The noise can be a tough one to deal with as due to the age of the building the windows are single pane and let in alot of noise. Try and request a room with a high floor. It seemed to help us slightly.

In room facilities are basic but present. A few old CRT tvs etc. The best part I found was that the in room wifi was free and great quality.

The cost for our stay here was high in my opinion considering the standard but that seems to be a common thing in San Francisco. Id definitely consider staying here again in the future.

The only downside I would say is that you need to valet your car and its can take 30 minutes ( if you lucky, we once waited 50) to get it back. Also just be mindful that the breakfast consists of fresh fruit, and some cakes, tea, and coffee on a communal table in the lobby.

Room Tip: Room with a high floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MyBigMistake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2013 via mobile

Lovely older style hotel, close to Union Square, staff very nice and helpful. Everyday they provide cheese and biscuits and wine at around 4pm also a Danish and coffee in the morning . Free wifi also included, so not too bad. Overall very good but rooms need renovating and air conditioning.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rob0203
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2013

A short walk from the station, this hotel is in a reasonable area, we walked round here after dark and felt safe.
Room was as one would hope - bed fine. Clean. We LOVED the wine and nibbles hour they provided for their guests every afternoon. Free of charge - but tips for the staff were appreciated. Lovely idea before going out to find somewhere to eat.
Our first evening when we were tired and didn't want to walk far, we used the takeaway pizza place over the road - Pick Me Up Pizza Kitchen. Excellent quality - good value.
Hotel location was on a couple of bus routes. Get the travel pass - available from the station - so you can travel all over the city.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maggi B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2013

good hotel right in centre of the action, loads restaurants and cafes all around the area,
a great location all round

unusually for a US hotel serves a breakfast !!, room comfortable and clean

Staff very helpful and polite, prices were reasonable I would recommend to anyone
Served wine and cheese in the afternoon a nice touch !

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jimandmags_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2013

Hotel prices in San Francisco seem to have doubled recently. In searching for a decent hotel rate
I came across The Beresford Arms. I had stayed here once before, years ago. I was delighted to get reacquainted with this hotel. The room are large, clean and comfortable. The location is great, just 4 blocks to Union Square. The hotel is quiet and the staff is friendly and very helpful. Continental breakfast is included (it is OK). Above all the price is very reasonable considering what is going on at the other hotels in The City. Only negative is that the room tended to get uncomfortably warm in the late afternoon and early evening even though it was in the low 60's outside. No air conditioning and centrally controlled heat. I will put this hotel on the top of my list for my visits to The City.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank traveler194
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Union Square
Hotel Beresford
Hotel Beresford
#144 of 231 in San Francisco
1,215 reviews
Union Square
Cornell Hotel de France
Cornell Hotel de France
#24 of 231 in San Francisco
1,829 reviews
Union Square
The Grant Hotel
The Grant Hotel
#129 of 231 in San Francisco
1,074 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Vertigo
#72 of 231 in San Francisco
1,444 reviews
Union Square
Warwick San Francisco
Warwick San Francisco
#37 of 231 in San Francisco
628 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beresford Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beresford Arms

Address: 701 Post St, San Francisco, CA 94109-6193
Region: United States > California > San Francisco
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #84 of 231 Hotels in San Francisco
Price Range: £121 - £228 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Beresford Arms 3*
Number of rooms: 96
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), HotelsClick, Agoda, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Beresford Arms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing