We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value for a large family”
Review of Beresford Arms

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Beresford Arms
Ranked #81 of 228 Hotels in San Francisco
Vancouver, B.C., Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great value for a large family”
Reviewed 17 March 2010

We stayed 3 nights and found this hotel to be top value for spacious accommodations in a great area (3 blocks from Union Square). It's not upscale, but it has been nicely kept up, and you get a sense of history from the heritage building. It's hard for us to find suitable accommodations for a family of 5 - we got a Parlour Suite at a good price, and it was perfect! There were t.v.s in both rooms, so different bedtimes weren't an issue. Didn't use the kitchen except to store snacks and juice, but it was nice to have the option. Afternoon wine and cheese (complimentary) was a great way to wind down from sightseeing. 2 computers in the lobby were very handy, allowing us to check email etc. without having to lug our machines around. I really didn't see anything affordable that would have suited our large family better - we plan to return!

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MLCinVancouver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,130 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    255
    559
    235
    54
    27
See reviews for
305
432
44
89
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (212)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
spain
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 March 2010

I stayed here for 3 nights with my spouse, our room (712), was clean and comfortable and most important - the bed and pillows were also very comfortable. The room faced the inside, so noise not a problem. The staff very very helpful. Complimentary breakfast of tea coffee fresh fruit and pastries available in the mornings, and in the afternoon, cheese and wine were also made available in the lounge, to all hotel guests. A nice touch and it got everybody talking to each other. Also 2 internet computer terminals in the lobby available free, 24/7.
The only thing I didn't like was the response from the clerk when we arrived. "Name?" he barked at us - "A good afternoon" might have made a better impression. Yes there are many homeless and vagrants, junkies and out and out nutters in SF, (Its famous for them), but they are everywhere not just confined to Post Street as the previous critic seems to think.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank salvalgal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brasília
Level Contributor
194 reviews
92 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2010

The location is excellent, but a little bit noisy early in the morning. The breakfast is the negative point. There's no a place for the breakfast which is very restricted and served at the lobby. During the high season I suppose that people have no enough place to sit. The rooms are good, but not roomy (this is the standard in San Francisco). But overall I would recommend it and would stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Averbuch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Central California
1 review
Reviewed 21 February 2010

A group of us girls, gathering from the Central Valley and Utah, went to San Francisco for our third annual trip. We have stayed each year at the Beresford Arms on Post and Jones Streets. We couldn’t be happier with our choice. The location is ideal—near restaurants, theaters, shopping and transportation. The rooms were spacious and clean. The kitchenette was a real plus.
The morning pastries and fruit were just right to get us off and running. And, what a delight to return in the afternoon to wine and cheese and/or tea and biscuits. The hotel staff--from desk staff to bell staff to housekeeping staff--were friendly, helpful, and accommodating. The desk staff assisted us with reservations and calling for information and arranging transportation. The computers in the lobby were a big help, as we searched for museum information and tickets.
We will return next year and are planning to once again stay at the Beresford Arms.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bunco25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, CA
1 review
Reviewed 6 February 2010

I recently took a trip to San Francisco with my boyfriend and we were so pleased with the Beresford Arms. Just a minute's walk from the excellent shopping and restaurants of Union Square, this hotel was super clean, comfortable, and offered at a great rate. As soon as we walked in we were greeted with a friendly staff who stayed interested in us throughout our whole trip and even offered some great suggestions for meals. Our mornings were met with a complimentary breakfast and each evening the staff puts out a lovely spread of wine and cheese. Oh, and the room was huge and included a big bathroom and kitchenette. All in all, very affordable, great staff, great location. A+.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mjdavis27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 February 2010

I did not know where to send a comment to, but i want to say we loved our stay. It was our first visit to San Francisco and we were recommended the Beresford Arms by friends.

I must say that this hotel is one of the main reason why we will come back to the Bay and of course stay in this hotel.

From the charming rooms, to the front desk to the meeting area. Everything was cozy and inviting. All of the staff we very warm and cordial and bent over backwards to help in any way possible.


We will definitely be staying here in the future and will tell all our friends!

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jkyleg1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Visalia, CA
1 review
Reviewed 3 February 2010

The Beresford Arms is a great place to stay. Everyone is very hospitable, the rooms are clean and spacious, and the location is just a short walk to Union Square. I've stayed here many times and have always had a very pleasant experience. The breakfast and coffee in the mornings are pleasant, and the wine and cheese hour in the evening is exquisite.

This is a great place to stay in the city! Great rooms, great rates!

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank joeanna93292
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Union Square
Hotel Beresford
Hotel Beresford
#136 of 228 in San Francisco
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,121 reviews
Union Square
The Herbert Hotel
The Herbert Hotel
#80 of 228 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,293 reviews
Serrano Hotel
#99 of 228 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,440 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Union Square
Cornell Hotel de France
Cornell Hotel de France
#23 of 228 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,632 reviews
Union Square
Handlery Union Square Hotel
Handlery Union Square Hotel
#71 of 228 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,834 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beresford Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beresford Arms

Property: Beresford Arms
Address: 701 Post St, San Francisco, CA 94109-6193
Region: United States > California > San Francisco
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #81 of 228 Hotels in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Beresford Arms 3*
Number of rooms: 96
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., TravelUp, Priceline, Agoda, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Beresford Arms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing