We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Imperfect but more affordable than others”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Super 8 San Francisco/Union Square Area
Ranked #165 of 230 Hotels in San Francisco
Reviewed 25 October 2013

I came for a conference next door at the Hilton and this room was almost half the price it would have cost to stay literally across the street! This is an old building and not everything is in great repair, but it is comfortable, reasonably clean and has everything you need for your home base if you need to be in the Union Square area.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank grinchers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PatelVik16, Public Relations Manager at Super 8 San Francisco/Union Square Area, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2014

Thank you for staying with us. We try to provide the best for our guests and we are in renovation but we are doing it step by step so the guests are not disturbed with everything going on all at once.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (556)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

248 - 254 of 556 reviews

Reviewed 21 October 2013

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Super 8
Thank Jill O
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
PatelVik16, Public Relations Manager at Super 8 San Francisco/Union Square Area, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 21 October 2013

the images for this motel are extremely deceiving. There was a dresser's width on the left, half a dresser's width on the right, and in front of the bed there was enough room to get to the other end if i walked sideways.

on top of the size the comforter was stained, the tiles in the bathroom were dirty, the air conditioner was so dusty i didn't want to touch it.

when you exit the hotel there are SWARMS of homeless and otherwise sketchy characters hanging out at all times of day.

the parking doesn't belong to suer 8 but is part of the city parking across the street.

save yourself. don't come here.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cpolo1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PatelVik16, Manager at Super 8 San Francisco/Union Square Area, responded to this reviewResponded 24 February 2014

I apologize for your inconvenience

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2013

This hotel is your basic hotel. Clean, close to everything you need or want and has a friendly staff. It is extremely affordable for the area. Terry (front desk) was a gem and made every attempt to make us feel at home. I will definitely stay here again. Please keep in mind this is SF. Some buildings are older and need to be appreciated as such.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Traysie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PatelVik16, Public Relations Manager at Super 8 San Francisco/Union Square Area, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2014

Thank you for staying with us and understanding our great city with its old buildings. We always try to make our guests feel like they are at home. Hope to see you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2013

The room was unsafe. The staff was unhelpful. The AC died. An electric outlet failed. After several calls to the front desk (never answered) my husband went down to speak directly with the front desk manager about the AC. The next afternoon, the AC was still out. The housekeeper notified a worker who came and plugged in the AC to a different outlet (one that had previously failed). I expected to have the room catch on fire. The place was cramped and dirty. It had bugs. I ate an apple each day for breakfast and one yogurt. The rest of the food was not edible. I would NEVER suggest this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Super 8
Thank John C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PatelVik16, Owner at Super 8 San Francisco/Union Square Area, responded to this reviewResponded 24 February 2014

I am sorry for your the inconvenience you've experienced.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2013

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Super 8
Thank Bruce E
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
PatelVik16, Public Relations Manager at Super 8 San Francisco/Union Square Area, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 8 October 2013

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Super 8
Thank Lior P
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
PatelVik16, Public Relations Manager at Super 8 San Francisco/Union Square Area, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Union Square
The Herbert Hotel
The Herbert Hotel
#82 of 230 in San Francisco
1,377 reviews
Union Square
Union Square Plaza Hotel
Union Square Plaza Hotel
#189 of 230 in San Francisco
529 reviews
Union Square
Hotel Bijou
Hotel Bijou
#131 of 230 in San Francisco
797 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Music City Hotel
#115 of 230 in San Francisco
413 reviews
Adante Hotel
#185 of 230 in San Francisco
736 reviews
SoMa
San Francisco Inn
San Francisco Inn
#143 of 230 in San Francisco
152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Super 8 San Francisco/Union Square Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 San Francisco/Union Square Area

Address: 415 Ofarrell St, San Francisco, CA 94102-2009
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Francisco
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #165 of 230 Hotels in San Francisco
Price Range: £114 - £203 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Super 8 San Francisco/Union Square Area 2*
Number of rooms: 53
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Super 8 San Francisco/Union Square Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super 8 San Francisco/Union Square Area Hotel San Francisco
Alexander Hotel San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing