We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“You are better off spending a few more dollars” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Super 8 San Francisco/Union Square Area

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Super 8 San Francisco/Union Square Area
Ranked #153 of 227 Hotels in San Francisco
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
804 reviews
131 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1,020 helpful votes
“You are better off spending a few more dollars”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 January 2014

If this is a three star hotel I will kiss your rear end.

I have stayed at 3 to 5 star hotels in San Francisco over the years.

This was sold as a three star but to me it was a clear 2 star place.

Old and run down. Neutral to nice desk service.

Clean room but horrible stairway and hallway.

I would not return at any price.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank arizonaac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PatelVik16, Manager at Super 8 San Francisco/Union Square Area, responded to this review, 3 March 2014
Dear guest, I apologize for your below average stay with us. Most hotel buildings are quite old and consider historic, however we do try to furnish these rooms with modern comforts as best as we can.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

507 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    40
    151
    197
    69
    50
See reviews for
86
168
50
90
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2014

Parking is NOT something there is alot of in San Francisco! So be prepared to pay if you bring a car. Valet was available for $25 a night with access 24 hours. We stayed on the 3rd floor. In general compared to other super 8's I've experienced; the room, bed, tv and bathroom are all better quality and I was pleasantly suprised. Clean and tidy is all I ask for. Complimentary breakfast was complimentary but we never attended so I can't vouch for that. There is a night club next door to the hotel; you will hear thudding from music but should'nt be too bothersome. The cab to the wharf was around $20-$30 and dowtown was approx 10 min walk.

Room Tip: Try to avoid staying too close to the right side of the building; there is a night club next door an...
See more room tips
Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank TraveLeezy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PatelVik16, Public Relations Manager at Super 8 San Francisco/Union Square Area, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
Thank you for staying with us and hopefully we see you soon. We try to provide the best for our guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peyton
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2014

when we checked in the bathroom light and air conditioner would not work. room was so small two people could not walk at the same time.
tried several rooms, all the bathroom lights and Air conditioners were not working.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Super 8

Helpful?
Thank Laura H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PatelVik16, Owner at Super 8 San Francisco/Union Square Area, responded to this review, 24 February 2014
I apologize for the non-functional A/C I will look into that. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these San Francisco hotels

Hornsea, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 December 2013

Hi I have just returned from San Francisco spending 9 nights in this hotel and I will give a very honest review it's a great location very helpful staff nice little breakfast room and a good selection the people that complain should realise the hotels are not obliged to provide breakfast and not all of them do, the room was very nice very clean I did not consider it to be small and the bathroom huge I stayed in room 502 I have stayed in lots of hotels in San Fran over the years and some of the more expensive hotels you get good deals on you end up in small rooms at the back of the hotel I would very much recommend this hotel and I will be staying no where else.

Room Tip: I think all rooms are standard I requested a room looking onto the Main Street which I got I did not...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kelly B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PatelVik16, Manager at Super 8 San Francisco/Union Square Area, responded to this review, 24 February 2014
Thank you so much for you 5-star review! I am glad you enjoyed your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 December 2013

This hotel is located within walking distance from bart station, a lot of shops and big shopping mall (macy and westfield). Room is clean with big bathroom. Their staff are helpful and friendly. The only negative thing i can think of is that they have a really weird lift that refused to close on several occasion. And the pan handlers situation are not as bad as some have said (maybe it's cold outside when i checked in on late november)

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ethankam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PatelVik16, Owner at Super 8 San Francisco/Union Square Area, responded to this review, 24 February 2014
Thank you for your great review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 December 2013

This hotel was in a great location! Walking distance to all the shops in Union square and Bart. The hotel was clean and the staff are very friendly and helpful. Such a great price for all the perks of being in the heart of downtown. I definitely recommend staying here!

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Amy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PatelVik16, Owner at Super 8 San Francisco/Union Square Area, responded to this review, 3 March 2014
Thank you for your great review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Union Square
Hotel Bijou
Hotel Bijou
#123 of 227 in San Francisco
3.5 of 5 bubbles 737 reviews
Union Square
Touchstone Hotel - City Center
Touchstone Hotel - City Center
#138 of 227 in San Francisco
3.5 of 5 bubbles 375 reviews
Hayes Valley
Days Inn San Francisco Downtown/Civic Center Area
Days Inn San Francisco Downtown/...
#99 of 227 in San Francisco
3.5 of 5 bubbles 650 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Union Square
Union Square Plaza Hotel
Union Square Plaza Hotel
#176 of 227 in San Francisco
3.0 of 5 bubbles 506 reviews
Union Square
The Grant Hotel
The Grant Hotel
#128 of 227 in San Francisco
3.5 of 5 bubbles 971 reviews
Union Square
The Herbert Hotel
The Herbert Hotel
#81 of 227 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,263 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Super 8 San Francisco/Union Square Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 San Francisco/Union Square Area

Property: Super 8 San Francisco/Union Square Area
Address: 415 Ofarrell St, San Francisco, CA 94102-2009
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Francisco
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #153 of 227 Hotels in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Super 8 San Francisco/Union Square Area 2*
Number of rooms: 53
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Super 8 San Francisco/Union Square Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super 8 San Francisco/Union Square Area Hotel San Francisco
Alexander Hotel San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing