We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Central location, decent room”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Super 8 San Francisco/Union Square Area
Ranked #165 of 230 Hotels in San Francisco
Reviewed 25 February 2014

Conveniently near Union Sq and BART, just before the neighborhood gets sketchy to the west. Decent small room. New bed, desk, TV. Ancient chipped paint and old bathroom. Good desk service. Perfectly serviceable and decent for the price/location. Note it is next to a nightclub. But noise was faint and not bothersome in my room

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Super 8
Thank Bethany E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PatelVik16, Public Relations Manager at Super 8 San Francisco/Union Square Area, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2014

Thank you for staying with us. We apologize for the bathroom but we are happy you enjoyed your trip! hope to see you soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (556)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

232 - 238 of 556 reviews

Reviewed 25 February 2014

This is a typical Super-8 hotel so don't expect trendy rooms or sophisticated breakfast - however, this is a decent place to stay in - location is fine on O'Farrel street, whithin a walking distance from Union Square, Powel Street or Market Street and downtown shopping centers. You can walk to the Convention center too (something like 20-30 mins from the hotel). Service is basic, but professional - the whole hotel looks a little bit tired but clean and tidy (and if you don't like it, well you can go to the W instead... and pay 4-time the price for basically, sleeping the same). If you just need a decent bed and a place to take a shower and eat something in the morning while in S.F., this is an excellent value for money. Beware some rooms can be quite noisy - require rooms in the upper levels!

Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
Thank jo_cicco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PatelVik16, Manager at Super 8 San Francisco/Union Square Area, responded to this reviewResponded 3 March 2014

Dear Guest, thank you for your review! I appreciate you took that time to detail our location. We are in a great walking distance location to all major attractions.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2014

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Super 8
Thank Edith C
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
PatelVik16, Owner at Super 8 San Francisco/Union Square Area, responded to this reviewResponded 24 February 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 30 January 2014

stayed there for few nights on business trip, good enough for one person, old but well maintained, bathroom was just renovated i think could smell painting.
Convenient for business short stay and close to union square.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank slyBangkok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PatelVik16, Public Relations Manager at Super 8 San Francisco/Union Square Area, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2014

Thank you for staying with us. We apologize for the paint smell in the bathroom, we are just trying to renovate parts of the building.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2014

If this is a three star hotel I will kiss your rear end.

I have stayed at 3 to 5 star hotels in San Francisco over the years.

This was sold as a three star but to me it was a clear 2 star place.

Old and run down. Neutral to nice desk service.

Clean room but horrible stairway and hallway.

I would not return at any price.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank arizonaac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PatelVik16, Manager at Super 8 San Francisco/Union Square Area, responded to this reviewResponded 3 March 2014

Dear guest, I apologize for your below average stay with us. Most hotel buildings are quite old and consider historic, however we do try to furnish these rooms with modern comforts as best as we can.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2014

Parking is NOT something there is alot of in San Francisco! So be prepared to pay if you bring a car. Valet was available for $25 a night with access 24 hours. We stayed on the 3rd floor. In general compared to other super 8's I've experienced; the room, bed, tv and bathroom are all better quality and I was pleasantly suprised. Clean and tidy is all I ask for. Complimentary breakfast was complimentary but we never attended so I can't vouch for that. There is a night club next door to the hotel; you will hear thudding from music but should'nt be too bothersome. The cab to the wharf was around $20-$30 and dowtown was approx 10 min walk.

Room Tip: Try to avoid staying too close to the right side of the building; there is a night club next door an...
See more room tips
Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank TraveLeezy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PatelVik16, Public Relations Manager at Super 8 San Francisco/Union Square Area, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2014

Thank you for staying with us and hopefully we see you soon. We try to provide the best for our guests.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2014

when we checked in the bathroom light and air conditioner would not work. room was so small two people could not walk at the same time.
tried several rooms, all the bathroom lights and Air conditioners were not working.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Super 8
Thank Laura H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PatelVik16, Owner at Super 8 San Francisco/Union Square Area, responded to this reviewResponded 24 February 2014

I apologize for the non-functional A/C I will look into that. Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Union Square
The Herbert Hotel
The Herbert Hotel
#82 of 230 in San Francisco
1,377 reviews
Union Square
Union Square Plaza Hotel
Union Square Plaza Hotel
#189 of 230 in San Francisco
529 reviews
Union Square
Hotel Bijou
Hotel Bijou
#131 of 230 in San Francisco
797 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Music City Hotel
#115 of 230 in San Francisco
413 reviews
Adante Hotel
#185 of 230 in San Francisco
736 reviews
SoMa
San Francisco Inn
San Francisco Inn
#143 of 230 in San Francisco
152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Super 8 San Francisco/Union Square Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 San Francisco/Union Square Area

Address: 415 Ofarrell St, San Francisco, CA 94102-2009
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Francisco
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #165 of 230 Hotels in San Francisco
Price Range: £114 - £203 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Super 8 San Francisco/Union Square Area 2*
Number of rooms: 53
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, Cancelon, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Super 8 San Francisco/Union Square Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super 8 San Francisco/Union Square Area Hotel San Francisco
Alexander Hotel San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing