We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent value and location if you get a good price” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mystic Hotel by Charlie Palmer

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Mystic Hotel by Charlie Palmer
Ranked #90 of 227 Hotels in San Francisco
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
156 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“Excellent value and location if you get a good price”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 November 2013

We found a room here (Mystic queen) on bookit.com for less than 100/night (pre-tax). Yes, the rooms are small, but they they super clean, and very modern/sleek style. Bathroom was very nice and appeared to have been redone very recently. I was told that the even numbered rooms are quieter due to the side of the hotel they are on, so we did not have a problem with the noise since we requested such a room. The free breakfast was great (it's not anything fancy, but had good coffee, fruit, hard boiled eggs, bread/bagels/oj) and the staff very helpful and nice. I can see that it could get rather warm in the rooms in warmer weather, so if you can't stand a fan blowing on you (ceiling) and it's going to be very warm, this might not be the place for you.

The elevator is indeed very slow, but for a charming, boutique hotel with a great vibe that we got for an outstanding price, in a fantastic location, we had zero complaints. Also, wifi is free (I think when I stayed at the Westin in union sq we paid 15/day per person!) It is slower in the rooms, but again, considering it is free, I can live with that, and just went downstairs when I had a large file I needed to email to get a better connection.

Would I pay 200/night for a room here? Probably not, as I could upgrade most likely to a slightly more plush hotel using priceline, but if you need to be in the Union Square area, and can get a room for a good price here, I can't imagine staying anywhere else if you are on any sort of budget. Quite frankly, we could not figure out why our room was so inexpensive considering how charming we thought the hotel was.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank winnie1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,021 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    277
    413
    188
    74
    69
See reviews for
86
519
81
179
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (212)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ocean Reef, Western Australia
Level Contributor
45 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 November 2013

Recommended by a friend who stayed in December. Great location, within walking distance to city centre, Chinatown & a good walk to wharf area. The room was small but quaint had a good view to the main street. Not the usual type of place I would stay at but it grew on me and the atmosphere was great as was the helpfulness of he staff. The only criticism was the complementary breakfast it was pretty ordinary and the same every day.

Room Tip: Not all rooms come with a fridge you may have ask for one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AnitaRF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 November 2013 via mobile

I just got back from staying at the Mystic for 2 nights. The hotel was in a perfect location. Service was absolutely wonderful. The ambiance was incredible. I requested an upper level room based on recommendations from other reviewers and they gave me the top floor! Great views, but I would even stay again if I got a lower level room. The room itself was beautiful. I felt very safe. By the way, the bar was beautiful as well. I would highly recommend.

Stayed November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Arpel3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
76 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 November 2013

The best thing about this hotel is the location. I could walk everywhere I needed to during my 5 day stay in San Francisco. I was even able to drop my shopping off before going out for more!
My room was small but compact. I was out most of the time so the size wasn't an issue. It was clean and the bed was firm. The bathroom was adequate.
Continental breakfast consisted of juice, iced water, tea selection, coffee, bread, pastries, hard boiled eggs, cereals, fruit, yoghurts - as much as you can eat.
Staff are friendly and welcoming. Assistance with safe malfunction was prompt.
The lift is a little slow but I had been warned to expect this and usually used the stairs.
I didn't try the tavern or restaurant but I could never hear any noise from either, being on the 7th floor.
The noise from the street was to be expected (sirens in the main). My room looked onto the next building so may have been less noisy than others that overlooked the street. However, it's San Francisco and noise should be expected!

Room Tip: Ask for a room that you can walk up to so you don't have to rely on the lift every time.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AMHOz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
va
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 November 2013

Great location! Friendly staff, great tavern. Room very clean and very livable. Only complaint is the noise. I was on high floor; however noises from street as well as the alley were unbearable. I would like to return there again if not for the noise.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank zmo4me
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cham, Switzerland
Level Contributor
23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 November 2013

We stayed 4 nights and explored SFO and surroundings. The quality of the rooms is good, the location as well. It's quiet, and the breakfast is, compared to what you get elsewhere in US quite good. The Restaurant has good food. But it's overpriced in relation to what you get.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank solaroebi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Silver Spring, MD
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 October 2013 via mobile

Hotel (general):
*staff - friendly, professional, many where clueless on simple directions (just use your smart phone).
*lobby, main areas - clean, appropriately lit; elevator is very small and slow; our room was on the third floor so we just took the stairs.
*breakfast- included in stay, true to continental style meaning - pastries, bagels, toast, fruit, yogurt, oatmeal, coffee, tea, OJ. Very convenient, met our expectations.
Security: felt safe throughout stay; left luggage in secure, locked room both prior to check in and out; all of our items and valuables where untouched.

Room: very small (appropriate for a couple), but clean, modern decor, appropriately lit; no "views"

Overall: clean, excellent location, safe, not for families, good for couples or solo business travelers. Would stay again.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Martins0804
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Union Square
Cornell Hotel de France
Cornell Hotel de France
#22 of 227 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,574 reviews
Union Square
Hotel Triton
Hotel Triton
#67 of 227 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,619 reviews
Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
#13 of 227 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,015 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Union Square
The Kensington Park Hotel
The Kensington Park Hotel
#74 of 227 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,111 reviews
Union Square
The Inn at Union Square
The Inn at Union Square
#5 of 227 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,556 reviews
Union Square
The Cartwright Hotel - Union Square, BW Premier Collection
The Cartwright Hotel - Union Squ...
#87 of 227 in San Francisco
3.5 of 5 bubbles 544 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mystic Hotel by Charlie Palmer? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mystic Hotel by Charlie Palmer

Property: Mystic Hotel by Charlie Palmer
Address: 417 Stockton St, San Francisco, CA 94108-3608 (Formerly Crescent San Francisco)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Francisco > Union Square
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#82 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Mystic Hotel by Charlie Palmer 3.5*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mystic Hotel Union Square San Francisco by Charlie Palmer is a smart, sleek retreat situated in the heart of the city's busiest neighborhoods. Conveniently located just one block from the iconic cable car line in the middle of three key destinations – Union Square, Chinatown and the Financial District — Mystic Hotel offers a convenient, comfortable and unique modern boutique hotel experience in a historic location. With a contemporary look and feel, our accommodations are designed to reflect the changing need of today's traveler. Enjoy high-touch service and an ideal Union Square location, perfect for travelers looking to experience all the adventures of San Francisco. Like a private club, enjoy handcrafted cocktails in the Burritt Room, the intimate film noir-inspired bar named for Burritt Alley, where detective Sam Spade's partner Miles Archer was gunned down in The Maltese Falcon. Then, step into the speakeasy vibe of renowned Chef Charlie Palmer’s adjoining Burritt Tavern, where walled-in and curtained booths create dark corners for private conversations and Executive Chef Luke Knox turns out classic food like steaks and chops done right. Knox also takes advantage of Bay area's tremendous green markets as well as the extraordinary offerings from local food artisans in menus built around prized regional specialties from Dungeness crab to West Coast oysters. That's what we like about San Francisco: it's up to the minute and still in the moment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Mystic Hotel by Charlie Palmer reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crescent San Francisco Hotel San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing