We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Holiday”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Mystic Hotel by Charlie Palmer
Ranked #88 of 228 Hotels in San Francisco
Istanbul, Istanbul, Turkey
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Holiday”
Reviewed 25 November 2013

The hotel is old building but renovated partially. The rooms are renovated partially. The bathrooms are ok but the carpets on floor need to be changed. the beds are comfortable and clean. The location is perfect. The breakfast is good. the bar is popular and worth to see and have drink at happy hour.

Room Tip: pls ask big room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mehves M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,046 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    284
    418
    195
    77
    72
See reviews for
90
535
82
182
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (216)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Port Coquitlam, Canada
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 November 2013

The hotel room itself was nice, clean, had a lot of character which we loved, the bus was also right outside which was perfect because we got the city pass. This place did let me down a few way though... the onsite bar/restaurant wasn't great for service, super loud, and the food quality was so-so... we also can reconfirm another reviewers issue with the elevator, it stopped working just after we went downstairs for breakfast; unfortunately we were on the 7th floor.

Room Tip: I would still recommend this hotel because for the price and location it was good; however I would a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vanessa J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Temecula, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 November 2013

Upon check in I was given a complimentary upgrade, and was assigned to a room with great views of the city. The hotel is an older building, but has been renovated fantastically. The lobby, tavern and rooms feature inviting decor. Although the rooms are on the smaller side, they are comfortable. The staff was generally very welcoming and friendly. My only complaint would be the elevator being temperamental, which I'm sure is not an every day occurrence. If we weren't on the top floor it would not have been an issue at all.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brittney R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 November 2013

I recently put my team in at The Mystic Hotel by Charlie Palmer for their stay in San Francisco. The hotel is perfectly places in the heart of the city and they worked to my every need, whether that was changing bookings, seeking storage space or advising on places to stay, they moved heaven and earth for me.
Special mention must go to Eric Go; who was the focus of all my questions and demands and he worked effortlessly to tend to our needs. I can't recommend this hotel more, A+++

Room Tip: We were based on the 8th Floor and have no complaints
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BBprodTom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palm Springs, California
Level Contributor
26 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 November 2013

The hotel is a bit older and the room was the smallest I had ever stayed in, the worst was when the San Francisco Police called to say that a whole group of customer had their information stolen, credit cards, address, phone numbers, and that we should cancel all credit cards, the hotel called A MONTH after the fact. Don't go there!

Room Tip: Don't choose one in this hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Le M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these San Francisco hotels

Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 November 2013 via mobile

First time staying at this hotel. Was a bit concerned before visiting about some of the other comments on trip advisor, particularly about noise levels, but we had no problems with noise at all. Very quiet room, well presented and very clean. Lovely beds and quality bed linen helped us to get great sleep during our stay. Continental breakfast was good (and saved us a lot of money!). Staff were very friendly and professional. Hotel location is absolutely superb, union square only 5 mins away. Really enjoyed our stay and will definately go back again. Had an unusual bonus too in that a big celeb was staying there during the time we were there and we ended up chatting to him over breakfast most mornings! Very memorable! The celebrity really liked the hotel too and said he would go back!

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Gordonashworth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beaulieu-sur-Mer
Level Contributor
44 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2013 via mobile

I found this tiny gem online and for an amazingly low price! It is in an ideally central location, has a warm and welcoming staff, a cool bistro and Internet in all the tastefully decorated rooms. This was a really comfortable and classy hotel. The hotel is over 100 years old however so when the wooden stairs are used you will hear the other guests.

Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank ldevere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Union Square
Cornell Hotel de France
Cornell Hotel de France
#23 of 228 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,632 reviews
Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
#15 of 228 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,112 reviews
Union Square
The Inn at Union Square
The Inn at Union Square
#5 of 228 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,583 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Union Square
Hotel Triton
Hotel Triton
#67 of 228 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,702 reviews
Union Square
The Kensington Park Hotel
The Kensington Park Hotel
#81 of 228 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,136 reviews
Union Square
Hotel Zeppelin San Francisco
Hotel Zeppelin San Francisco
#59 of 228 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 359 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mystic Hotel by Charlie Palmer? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mystic Hotel by Charlie Palmer

Property: Mystic Hotel by Charlie Palmer
Address: 417 Stockton St, San Francisco, CA 94108-3608 (Formerly Crescent San Francisco)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Francisco > Union Square
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#82 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Mystic Hotel by Charlie Palmer 3.5*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mystic Hotel Union Square San Francisco by Charlie Palmer is a smart, sleek retreat situated in the heart of the city's busiest neighborhoods. Conveniently located just one block from the iconic cable car line in the middle of three key destinations – Union Square, Chinatown and the Financial District — Mystic Hotel offers a convenient, comfortable and unique modern boutique hotel experience in a historic location. With a contemporary look and feel, our accommodations are designed to reflect the changing need of today's traveler. Enjoy high-touch service and an ideal Union Square location, perfect for travelers looking to experience all the adventures of San Francisco. Like a private club, enjoy handcrafted cocktails in the Burritt Room, the intimate film noir-inspired bar named for Burritt Alley, where detective Sam Spade's partner Miles Archer was gunned down in The Maltese Falcon. Then, step into the speakeasy vibe of renowned Chef Charlie Palmer’s adjoining Burritt Tavern, where walled-in and curtained booths create dark corners for private conversations and Executive Chef Luke Knox turns out classic food like steaks and chops done right. Knox also takes advantage of Bay area's tremendous green markets as well as the extraordinary offerings from local food artisans in menus built around prized regional specialties from Dungeness crab to West Coast oysters. That's what we like about San Francisco: it's up to the minute and still in the moment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mystic Hotel by Charlie Palmer reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crescent San Francisco Hotel San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing