We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel. Modernized room setup very romantic.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Mystic Hotel by Charlie Palmer
Ranked #99 of 230 Hotels in San Francisco
Reviewed 27 November 2013 via mobile

Me & my girlfriend stayed at the mystic hotel for out first time this week. I wasn't expecting the room to be so nice just because the lobby is so little and basic. But the rooms make you feel like your in a whole different hotel from the lobby. Our room was upgraded for our anniversary which we appreciated they were so generous , also complimentary cheese and fruit with honey. :) We enjoyed all aspects of this stay and would reccomend this hotel for any couple. Will be back soon thanks!

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank krisbaby29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,122)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

520 - 526 of 1,122 reviews

Reviewed 25 November 2013

We stayed at the Mystic Hotel in a Mystic Junior room for two nights, Nov. 22 and 23 to participate in Cosmic Run and to explore San Francisco by foot. We book this hotel specifically because of its value (via Booking) and because it has a restaurant and bar. The hotel itself is dated and this is apparent from all the creaking noises you hear as you climb or descend the stair or just simply use the ancient (and very slow elevator). However, the interior of the hotel, as dated as it look from the outside, is simply gorgeous and does not reflect its exterior. The Burritt Room + Tavern is just as elegant.

Our room was #702, facing Stockton Blvd. and overseeing the Stockton-Sutter garage. The room is small, but that is to be expected with boutique hotels in downtown San Francisco. The bathroom appears renovated, very clean and well equipped with a glass-door stand-in shower. Also, upon check-in, we received a coupon for a complementary cocktail of the month at the Burritt Room + Tavern. For our stay, the cocktail of the month was the Gin Mule (gin, lemon, Lillet and ginger beer).

The room also has a micro-fridge in the closet area, which were unaware of until we arrived. It's stocked with cold beverages that'll be added to your room if you consume any. A 32" flatscreen TV sits at the center of the wall facing the bed, which we did not use btw. The bed is nice and comfortable. The comforter is just as comfy, one of the best sleep we've had after a long drive from Los Angeles (and after sight seeing by foot and Cosmic Run).

We walked through Chinatown and into Pier 39 in a little under an hour. The location is simply just perfect. The last thing we want to do after driving up from L.A. is drive even more in traffic-laden Union Square or paying more for parking.

The Burritt Room + Tavern is a trendy little restaurant and bar joint located on the second floor of the hotel. We ordered the Tavern Steak, cooked medium rare and enjoyed every bit of it. The lobster mushroom that was served with the steak is meaty and delicious.

The Tavern is lively and filled with interesting folks and highly efficient bartenders. Many patrons are dressed up for a drink, but a few wearing just t-shirts, sneakers and jeans also slipped in, so there's no dress code per se. There's a few coat racks if you feel like dressing up. The drinks here are very pricey relative to other lounges and bars I've been to - BUT, and that's a big BUT! But the drinks are extremely delicious, you know they only use top shelf spirits from the sips. I've had the best gin martini in my life. Right ratio of gin to vermouth mixture and brands topped with great tasting olives. They use Luxardo maraschino cherries in their cocktails instead of those red ones you find on sundaes, which in itself is a testament of their attention to quality. Drinks here starts at $11.00, most averaging around $13.00. Even a Shirley Temple will cost you $4.00.

Parking is another story. We originally parked at the Stockton-Sutter Garage, directly across the street form the hotel. But after reading horror stories of car break-ins, we decided not to park there. The garage at 450 Sutter works with the Mystic Hotel along with others. It's valet only with 24-hr security. It costs $34.20 to park per 24-hour and is charged to your room. It also comes with in-and-out privileges. If you plan on staying with the Mystic Hotel, be sure to park at this garage.

Definitely returning to the Mystic Hotel on our next visit to San Francisco.

Room Tip: Get an upper floor room if you can, preferably floor 7 or higher. Also, park your car at the garage...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank oo63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2013

Stayed here for 3 nights, great location as its only 3 minute walk to Union Sq.. HOWEVER. There is a "Tavern" on the premises,
Nice enough reception, overpowering night shift staff on my arrive were way too loud and outspoken. We were aparantly given a "quiet" room...
If your anywhere close to the wooden stairwell forget it.. you wont get any sleep.. all we could hear was people going up and down the stairs all night as the "manual" lift was too slow and often out of action. Due to the tavern, the stairwell was blocked one evening with a lady being sick (could not get up or down) The tavern also carrys on well into the wee hours of if your looking for something quiet this is not the place for you.
Rooms are very warm, BUT if you want to open the windows be VERY careful.. the whole panel comes out and you find yourself holding a window.. Its only a matter of time before theres a horrid accident in this place.
Great location but there are many hotels in the same area within the same price braket, I think if the tavern was removed from the equation AND my room was far far away from the stair well, it may be bearable but on this occasion... Sorry but no can do.

Room Tip: If you must stay here, please make sure your room is as far away from the stairs and the tavern.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hakster76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2013

The hotel is old building but renovated partially. The rooms are renovated partially. The bathrooms are ok but the carpets on floor need to be changed. the beds are comfortable and clean. The location is perfect. The breakfast is good. the bar is popular and worth to see and have drink at happy hour.

Room Tip: pls ask big room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mehves M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2013

The hotel room itself was nice, clean, had a lot of character which we loved, the bus was also right outside which was perfect because we got the city pass. This place did let me down a few way though... the onsite bar/restaurant wasn't great for service, super loud, and the food quality was so-so... we also can reconfirm another reviewers issue with the elevator, it stopped working just after we went downstairs for breakfast; unfortunately we were on the 7th floor.

Room Tip: I would still recommend this hotel because for the price and location it was good; however I would a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vanessa J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2013

Upon check in I was given a complimentary upgrade, and was assigned to a room with great views of the city. The hotel is an older building, but has been renovated fantastically. The lobby, tavern and rooms feature inviting decor. Although the rooms are on the smaller side, they are comfortable. The staff was generally very welcoming and friendly. My only complaint would be the elevator being temperamental, which I'm sure is not an every day occurrence. If we weren't on the top floor it would not have been an issue at all.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Brittney R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2013

I recently put my team in at The Mystic Hotel by Charlie Palmer for their stay in San Francisco. The hotel is perfectly places in the heart of the city and they worked to my every need, whether that was changing bookings, seeking storage space or advising on places to stay, they moved heaven and earth for me.
Special mention must go to Eric Go; who was the focus of all my questions and demands and he worked effortlessly to tend to our needs. I can't recommend this hotel more, A+++

Room Tip: We were based on the 8th Floor and have no complaints
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BBprodTom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Union Square
Warwick San Francisco
Warwick San Francisco
#35 of 230 in San Francisco
608 reviews
Union Square
Hotel G San Francisco
Hotel G San Francisco
#54 of 230 in San Francisco
1,090 reviews
Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
#17 of 230 in San Francisco
5,338 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Union Square
Hotel Triton
Hotel Triton
#65 of 230 in San Francisco
1,908 reviews
Union Square
The Cartwright Hotel - Union Square, BW Premier Collection
The Cartwright Hotel - Union Squ...
#75 of 230 in San Francisco
718 reviews
Union Square
Hotel Zeppelin San Francisco
Hotel Zeppelin San Francisco
#53 of 230 in San Francisco
533 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mystic Hotel by Charlie Palmer? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mystic Hotel by Charlie Palmer

Address: 417 Stockton St, San Francisco, CA 94108-3608 (Formerly Crescent San Francisco)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Francisco > Union Square
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#82 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range: £118 - £937 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Mystic Hotel by Charlie Palmer 3.5*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mystic Hotel Union Square San Francisco by Charlie Palmer is a smart, sleek retreat situated in the heart of the city's busiest neighborhoods. Conveniently located just one block from the iconic cable car line in the middle of three key destinations – Union Square, Chinatown and the Financial District — Mystic Hotel offers a convenient, comfortable and unique modern boutique hotel experience in a historic location. With a contemporary look and feel, our accommodations are designed to reflect the changing need of today's traveler. Enjoy high-touch service and an ideal Union Square location, perfect for travelers looking to experience all the adventures of San Francisco. Like a private club, enjoy handcrafted cocktails in the Burritt Room, the intimate film noir-inspired bar named for Burritt Alley, where detective Sam Spade's partner Miles Archer was gunned down in The Maltese Falcon. Then, step into the speakeasy vibe of renowned Chef Charlie Palmer’s adjoining Burritt Tavern, where walled-in and curtained booths create dark corners for private conversations and the menu features Bay Area's tremendous green markets as well as the extraordinary offerings from local food artisans in menus built around prized regional specialties from Dungeness crab to West Coast oysters. That's what we like about San Francisco: it's up to the minute and still in the moment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Mystic Hotel by Charlie Palmer reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crescent San Francisco Hotel San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing